We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food with friendly atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Truffieres

Les Truffieres
Bosredon, 24510 Tremolat, France
05-53-27-30-44
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Tremolat
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Haarlem, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food with friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

If you are passing through Dordogne, you definetively need to visit this place!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    12
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a find ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We were slightly anxious going here with young children for a fixed menu.

However, the food was excellent, and the mixed plate of meats and melon that they provided for the kids in place of the fois gras was great.

Fois gras to die for ... And plenty of it.

All of the food was really fantastic and for a fixed price menu including wine represented exceptional value.

Book before you go as there are only 7 or so tables inside.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“My favorite meal while in France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

While in the Dordogne region, a friend of ours suggested that we eat at Les Truffieres in Tremolat. We were a bit hesitant at first since we have a picky 11 -year-old, but decided to take her advice. The "aubergine/grille" is very unassuming, located next door to the owner's home. Once inside, we enjoyed the laid-back, family style interior with all kinds of interesting and funny collectibles organized throughout. Our friend had arranged with the owner (who speaks no english) to serve us the day's specials...I thought I had died and gone to heaven! Every single bite of each of the 4 courses was better than the last and it wasn't uptight or fancy. It was what I'd call "french country" style food -- big platters of freshly cooked roasted vegetables, incredible potatoes, and the best grilled duck breast. After 3 weeks eating in France, this lunch was my favorite meal--one I'll remember forever!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“C'est authentique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

This lovely little ferme auberge serves delightful, authentic French country cuisine at very reasonable fixed prices (including a childrens' rate) with wine included. Fabulous pate and soups, bucolic surroundings, Yannick, the owner, and his supporting cast are fabulous, friendly and gracious. We ate there three times in two weeks as we were staying in the area and he was quite flexible about changing the menu for us. Very child-friendly -- the children can roam the farm between courses. Expect to spend the entire evening there and to leave in an incredibly happy mood.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tw
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Real Cooking, Real Value and Real France”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

We liked it so much we went there three times in the two weeks we were in Tremolat!

Some of the best Foie Gras we've ever had, really friendly service and terriffic VFM, the children's menu is particulary good value and although there is no choice, on our third visit I popped in and they were happy to change something for us.

This is a must visit if you're in the region, it's well signed as you leave Tremolat.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Truffieres also viewed

 
Saint-Avit-Senieur, Dordogne
 

Been to Les Truffieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Truffieres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.