We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, fabulous evening meals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge de La Salvetat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Auberge de La Salvetat to your Saves list
Auberge de La Salvetat
Route de Belves, 24480 Cadouin, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cadouin
Boscastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, fabulous evening meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

What a find! Sitting a 4 minute drive just outside the gorgeous village of Cadouin, you will find La Salvetat. My husband and I recently stayed here for 5 nights on a halfboard (demi-pension) basis. The hotel is near to other villages but we decided since we were staying at this hotel for the whole of our trip, and the reviews for the evening meals were so good, we would commit to eating at La Salvetat every night to save us driving in the evening. We were not disappointed!
The owners, Steven and Ann, carefully plan your 3 course evening meals so that they can offer their half board diners a nice spread of food options and the restaurant staff are incredibly kind (especially Wendy - hello!). Upon our second night, other reasons for this approach to half board also became apparent as most people appeared to only stay for 2 days as part of walking/hiking/cycling tours. Had they not done organised our meals for us - I think we would have ended up re-eating certain dishes (although this would not have been an arduous task!).
The facilities at the hotel include a very picturesque infinity pool and sun bathing area, which was one of the big reasons why we also chose Salvetat. Unfortunately our aim of lying in the sun and having full advantage of this became a dream since during the time we were there (late August) the preceding 2 months of blissful 30 degree heat and sun took a rest and rain and cloudy skys prevailed. Great for the locals and plants, a shame for us. Nevertheless we had a hire car and explored lots of the lovely surrounding areas and markets. We did have 2 afternoons of a couple of hours by the pool though - which was bliss. Drinks (beers etc) are encouraged to be drunk on the terrace rather than by the pool, which in some ways is a shame - but in many other ways keeps the pool a quiet and well organised area.
Despite being impeccably clean and clutter free, the rooms and particularly bathrooms are dated and incredibly basic. There is a chasm of difference between the dining experience and the staying experience so far as refinement - but in many respects that is the way round it I would rather it be if I have to choose! In perspective, the cost for my husband and I to have 'half board' was just shy of 80€, our standard room per night was (peak) 104€ - so a reasonable room only cost where one perhaps should not expect plush bathrooms and thick fluffy towels!
We will most certainly be back to visit the Perigord again - it is beautiful. And after visiting some villages and realizing that we will never go back to them (usually because they are over-run with British second home owners! e.g. Eymet!), we will most certainly re-visit Cadouin and La Salvetat for the amazing location and food. Thanks so much xx

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden room. Most garden rooms are round to the side of the property and are quite da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auberge d, Owner at Auberge de La Salvetat, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Emma and Jason

Delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

When you were here we did happen to have a group of walkers but the majority of our clients do not fall into the ‘outdoor pursuits’ category, are very satisfied returning clients (remember we offer a 5% returning clients’ discount to be claimed at the time of reservation) and most stay for between 7 and 14 nights!

Ann tailors the dinner suggestions individually each night for all our clients on half-board – glad that you appreciated the opportunity to sample the menu.

We do serve drinks near the pool but only in plastic for obvious safety reasons and to avoid having to drain it to fish out broken glass – not popular with a hotel full! Look forward to seeing you again when you are in the area and Wendy says hello!

Steven & Ann Jordan and the La Salvetat team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    21
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
42
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed for a week in this hotel and used it as a base to explore the area. The location is somewhat remote from larger places like Sarlat and is clearly deep in the countryside, but in a nice old typically French stone building with a good view over the surrounding area.
The room was basic, as was the bed; the bathroom was very basic, clearly done rather cheaply with very basic materials. No tiling on the floor, no shower-holder, no shower-curtain, etc, etc.
The hotel has nice pool from which you can overlook the area, but it is not heated, so too cold for usage in June.
The restaurant however served great food of a very good quality, both breakfast and diner were excellent. It still was rather cold in June, so the restaurant would have benefit from lighting the fire in the open fireplace, but unfortunately that didn't happen.
The staff are professionally friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auberge d, Owner at Auberge de La Salvetat, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Torassa

Thank you for your comments relating to your 7 day stay with us in June. We are delighted you appreciated the 14th Century stone buildings around which our rural Auberge is built, together with our cuisine which you sampled every night.

On our website we do say that we are situated in ‘tranquil open countryside between Bergerac and Sarlat’ the latter being an easy 30 minute drive away taking in some of the most breath-taking chateaux in the region on the way, ie Beynac, Castelnaud, etc. We are centrally placed for many of the touristic sites. A map gives our exact location.

We do take your point about the pool but due to the exceptionally wet June throughout Europe it wasn’t very conducive to swimming unless you were a duck! Normally in June the pool averages 25 ºC making heating unnecessary.

The restaurant’s main background heating source is an eco wood burning stove and the open fire is used to boost the temperature on really cold days. You were able to dine on the terrace a couple of nights though and enjoy the views but we do appreciate that if you live in Kuala Lumpur an unseasonably cool 20ºC in the Périgord in June is cold by comparison!

We were really surprised, however, to read your comments relating to your accommodation. We have many returning clients who choose that room in particular due to it’s charm and comfort.

The room in question is shown in full detail on the video on our website. It is furnished ‘country style’ in keeping with the Auberge, is fully carpeted, has air conditioning, free Wifi access and tea and coffee making facilities. As advertised the room has an ensuite bathroom with a bath but is fitted with a hand set for hair washing so requires neither a shower holder nor shower curtain, etc, etc. The bathroom has a non-slip floor covering designed for wet areas. There is a large mirror lit with down lighters, a hair drier and socket for electrical appliances (which our female clients appreciate in particular) all within easy reach. A complimentary welcome pack of toiletries is refreshed every day.

Our classification of 3* was confirmed by the prefecture last year and we make no pretention to be 4* or indeed anything other than a welcoming, small, independent, family-run hotel/restaurant offering great food in the Dordogne countryside.

Finally, we do have a quality control sheet in all rooms and also very much appreciate the opportunity to address any issues during the stay.

Ann & Steven Jordan & the La Salvetat team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here in July 2013 and enjoyed a very pleasant meal on the terrace outside. The food was nicely presented and delicious. The house wine was a disappointment, however.
We were offered a 'garden room' with its own terrace and a view of the garden. This sounds much grander than it really is. I would have preferred a room in the main hotel.
The pool although small is idyllically situated. The owners are very hospitable.
As we were staying on a half-board basis we had no choice about what we ate, which (I think) is unusual.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room within the main part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auberge d, Owner at Auberge de La Salvetat, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment regarding your recent stay.

We are glad that you appreciated our idyllic 6m x 12m infinity swimming pool - with high summer temperatures in the Dordogne a pool is essential!

We have passed on your positive comments to our kitchen team. We do not have a ‘fixed’ demi-pension menu but instead prefer to offer a more personalised ‘suggestion du chef’ which changes daily and is individually tailored to each set of guests (also taking into account any special dietary requirements). The suggestion is always based on our ‘a la carte’ menu often with the addition of some ‘specials’ which Ann and our chef prepare. This gives our clients something different every night for a starter, main course and dessert – even on a 17 day stay!! However if there is something that our clients don’t like/are allergic to we will always make another suggestion. Our ‘pichet’ wine is a good quality Bergerac but Steve is always more than happy to suggest an alternative from our extensive list if the house wine is not to your taste.

In June, July, August and September our rooms are booked months in advance with many returning clients on long stays so we do not often have a choice of rooms available at the last minute in the height of the season. However, all of our rooms are comfortable, immaculately clean and meet all the necessary standards and criteria (both for safety and hotel facilities) to obtain our 3* ‘Prefecture’ and the Logis 3 Chimney status. Our Garden rooms are accurately described on our website as having direct access onto our 3 acre garden and park with a video and photos of the Auberge and different rooms which show the rustic style and setting to help with your choice of room. With individual access our clients like that they can come and go as they please and not have to be back for a certain 'lock up' time when reception closes.

So, with reservation well in advance you can reserve a specific room of your choice to suit your budget and for a few euros more eat ‘a la carte’ and have the choice of the full menu.

Hope to see you again soon in this beautiful area of France.

Ann & Steven Jordan and the La Salvetat team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

To say this hotel is in a rural location is an understatement - it is deep in the countryside! But that gets you away from the hustle & bustle of the more well-known Dordogne towns & villages, & provides the perfect base from which to explore some of the less well-known delights of the Dordogne, and enjoy a relaxing holiday as well.

The hotel comprises converted old buildings, so is full of character. It sits in extensive grounds, with trees, shrubs, flowers, grassland. There is a beautiful large swimming pool & a large terrace alongside, from which the views are stunning. Plenty of wild-life to be seen too - birds, lizards, hedgehogs, whilst we were there.

Our bedroom was furnished in a pretty "country cottage" style and was comfortable, with everything you might need (including much appreciated tea-making facilities, thanks to the English owners!). The 1st-floor bedroom opened on to a small covered terrace, shared by the adjoining bedrooms; there were tables & chairs & it was lovely to sit there, with some shade, looking out over the surrounding countryside.

Weather permitting, both breakfast & evening meal are eaten outside on a large shaded terrace area. If the weather doesn't allow this, then it's the dining room, which is a charming room - spacious & attractively decorated.

Cuisine is French, using many of the products of the Dordogne. If on demi-pension, as we were, then it is a daily-changing set menu for dinner, but if there is something you don't like on the menu then the kitchen will of course offer an alternative - it is never a problem. The food was excellent - subtle flavours, nicely presented, delicious!

Steve (owner with wife Ann) is on hand to advise on activities in the area, places to go to, etc, should you wish. All the front-of-house staff are friendly & helpful.

Finally, the hidden gems of the Dordogne: nearby are the beautiful old villages of Cadouin, Monpazier and Limeuil (& more); steeped in history & well worth a visit. And not too far away are The Hanging Gardens Of Marqueyssac, also worth a visit. Explore these lovely places & then return to the peace & tranquility of La Salvetat, where you can enjoy the pool, sit & read, go for a walk in the grounds, whatever you wish.

So, comfortable hotel, in lovely grounds, excellent food, friendly/helpful owners & staff, lots to see & do in the area, all providing a relaxing & most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auberge d, Owner at Auberge de La Salvetat, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear J and J, We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us at La Salvetat here in the sunny Dordogne - it was good to see you both again and Ann is really happy that her 'divine' lemon dessert recipe is still being shared amongst your friends! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review which we have shared with all our staff. We hope you will come back to this beautiful part of France very soon. Best Regards from Ann & Steve and the La Salvetat team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a fantastic little hotel and restaurant in the most beautiful Dordogne surroundings, close to the rustic village of Cadouin. We had a really relaxing stay helped by the fine local food and super friendly staff, we'll be back as soon as we can! Thank you so much.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auberge d, Owner at Auberge de La Salvetat, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments about our hotel, friendly staff and restaurant food. Everything is made in our kitchen by our Chef Christian, myself or our aides. We do pride ourselves on using fresh local produce wherever possible and our menus change with the seasons. We look forward to welcoming you back next time your are in this beautiful area. Steve and Ann Jordan and all the staff at La Salvetat - Hotel Dordogne Perigord
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

La Salvetat was just a fantastic place to stay. The surroundings were beautiful, the food in the restaurant was wonderful and the hospitality was excellent. Would definitely stay here again - was sad to leave!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auberge d, Owner at Auberge de La Salvetat, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Jess, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review following your recent stay at La Salvetat. We are really pleased you appreciated the hospitality and enjoyed the home-made food served in our restaurant. We hope you are able to come back to see us again soon. Kind regards Ann & Steven Jordan and the La Salvetat team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Very calm in the middle of nature lays the "La Salveta".

We stayed there, my spouse and me from may 26th to May 30th 2013 and had a room on the first floor (an attic) which was very pleasant.

We had a half board plan; Every dish was good.

I recommend this hotel and advise travelers to order the half board option which is very good and cost effective.

The owner is a charming person and the whole staff of the hotel are helpful and ready to advise in any question.

We had wonderful time in La Salveta in Perigord.

Room Tip: We had room # 8 on the first floor with a shared balcony. I know that other rooms facing the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auberge d, Owner at Auberge de La Salvetat, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
A very big 'thank you' from us all at La Salvetat. It is very gratifying when guests take the time to write such a lovely review following their stay. Our demi-pension half-board option is very popular and great value for money as it includes breakfast and a gourmet 3 course dinner which changes every evening of your stay. We do hope you will return to this beautiful area of the Dordogne in the near future. Kind regards, Ann, Steven and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge de La Salvetat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de La Salvetat

Address: Route de Belves, 24480 Cadouin, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Cadouin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cadouin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hosts Ann and Steven Jordan and their bi-lingual team look forward to welcoming you to Auberge de La Salvetat, our small 3* family run Logis Hotel Restaurant in the Dordogne Perigord Noir between Bergerac and Sarlat. Relax by the infinity swimming pool, stroll through the garden and park, and enjoy local cuisine with an international flavour served on the terrasse in the quiet of the countryside. The hotel is situated just outside the pretty village of Cadouin which is famous for its Cistercian abbey. Within 30 minutes of La Salvetat you will find 7 of the most beautiful villages in France, including Monpazier and Limeuil, the castles of Monbazillac, Biron and Lanquais, the pre-historic site of Les Eyzies, the stunning mediaeval town of Sarlat and the wine centre and old port of Bergerac. So, whether you want to see the sights, get in some golf, walking, cycling or canoeing, or simply just get away from the hustle and bustle then why not experience the charm of a traditional family run hotel La Salvetat style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Auberge de La Salvetat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge de La Salvetat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.