We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for a budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sonnhof

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sonnhof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sonnhof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sonnblickweg 17, Rauris 5661, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Rauris
TORBAY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good value for a budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

We arrived on the 29th January to be greeted by a very friendly reception staff, we went through the booking in formalities very quickly and were allocated our room all within the first 5 minutes. The room which was in the 'new 'wing was adequate not in the luxury class -- but hey, we didn't pay a lot, the big plus was it had a bath! The room was clean and everything worked. Now if you are expecting a traditional Austrian Hotel with bar / stube and roaring fire, you will be disappointed, this is an older Hotel with a peculiar layout.The swimming pool is next to the dining room - which had a little problem with the heating when we were there. The bar is in the dining room, fine for drinks with your meal, but the big problem is that there is nowhere to sit in the evenings at all except a drafty corridor. So you normally end up back in your room after your evening meal. The hotel is run by an enthusiastic Hungarian team, the majority of guests are eastern European so the food is biased towards them. The food is well cooked and with a choice. The food could be hotter and it would have been good if the plates were warmed.
All in all a good budget hotel. The skiing and the snow were great and as another contributor says seek out Vilmos for good instruction in good English.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    8
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
14
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
BRISTOL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Good value hotel, food is more than adequate, location is good also, but try and get a locker for all ski equipment, it is a bit of a distance to the main gondola.
The only downside for me is the fact that some staff could neither speak German nor English.
As far as skiing goes, the resort is fantastic, with a great ski school in Adventure Rauris, I suppose we were just lucky to get one of their best instructors in Vilmos, whose English is spot on and his instructions even better, seek him out!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

stayed in sonnhof hotel on skiing holiday found staff excellent and polite food very good white bread was available only 2 slice toaster was present beds a bit hard kids loved swimming pool overall was very pleased with our holiday

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

This hotel is in a lovely location behind the church in Rauris. We were checked in very swiftly and our rooms were ready early which was helpful after an early start.
The room was very spacious for 2 adults and consisted of 2 singles pushed together and 2 chair beds if required. There are no tea/coffee making facilties and the tv only had German channels. I think we must have had a disabled room as we had no bath but the shower was good and had a seat in it!
The food in the hotel was perfectly l fine - not a wide choice but usually a pasta dish, meat dish, potatoes and veg. Pudding was mostly a bread based dessert.
The staff in the reastuarant were top notch particualrly Josef and Marie. They were very helpful and can't be faulted, Drinks were reasonably priced although they did tend to shut the bar around 10pm.
The sauna was a surprise and avaialable unitl 10pm.
Our only complaints about the hotel was that the beds were very firm and the hot water sometimes dropped out in the evening, probalby due to demand! However, the walls were very thick as we didn't hear a peep from the families either side of us - unfortunatley the church bells do ring about 6am though!
Overall though the staff were helpful and the food perfectly fine after a day on the slopes. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llandeilo,wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

warm welcome from reception staff, rooms were ready for us even though we arrived 3 hours before check in. Rooms basic and not much room with all 4 beds. A few times had no hot water for a shower but this was put right quickly when we complained. There was plenty of food (buffet style) which was on the whole nice but usually luke warm. Could not fault the restaurant/bar staff who were always helpful and worked like trojans. Our kids (12 and 10 years old) enjoyed the swimming pool however when they had finished with swimming didn't have anywhere to hang out. they liked going to chat to other children in the hotel,sitting on the stairs or down by ski room. A man who I believe was the manager was not at all child friendly and didn't like them hanging out around the hotel. On two occassions during our week there he man handled the children which freaked them out. I could understand him getting angry if they were unruley or making alot of noise late at night but these incidents happened around 8.30pm. He certainly could of handled the situation a whole lot better. maybe providing a chill out room for the kids and discussing any problems he has with the parents. For this reason I cannot recommend this hotel for families with children.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Hello,We are a family of 4, two adults and two children aged 2 & 1 years, before we booked our stay at this hotel, we did look at the reviews online and there were a few negatives, however we have been so many times o Austria and the people and quality of hotels and services ahave always been fantastic "Really 100%" so we thought maybe this hotel would not be so bad.... heres our experience as on the 5/01/2011. We arrived at the hotel at 15:20h and the welcome at reception was good, but that is where it all ended. beyond reception we found the Hotel Maintenance very poor and the room "Smelly" and the covers on the beds were child size! when we informed the staff about the size of linen they did not understand a WORD of English. We got no resolve from them at all and the only English speaking member of staff was off duty so we left the matter! OK so now we moved on to the next problem: It stated that the hotel had bottle warming service for babies milk, so we asked for the bottle warmer and the reply we got was "NO" we then asked some other member showing them the bottle to warm and they said "MICROWAVE" in the chefs kitchen. we declined the offer. the struggle had begun! Every single member of staff was Hungarian, not an Austrian in sight. Let me give you the low-down: the hotel clients were 60% Hungarian / 20% German 10 Eastern Europeans and 5% English. The food was Diabolical junk not fit fora dog.
No White bread for toast/ No black Tea with milk / Cold Coffee / No Childrens Menu / A none fuctional pool / Rude staff / We were never asked if we would like drinks at meal-time while they asked all other clients! We spoke to the locals about the dreadfull service at the hotel and they all told us the same story: This hotel is now owned by the bank due to debts and the Hungarian owner must operate the business on a tight budget to payback the debts. This made sense to us, now we knew why the staff just did not care for us 5% English. I could go on and on about the problems but in a nutshell its not for the ENGLISH its a complete HELL HOTEL. I will be producing a video report about this hotel on youtube.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

To put it shortly: if it was renewed, if it did not have so many paintings by the same on the walls, if it had parking space for all the guests, if the water in the swimming pool was more transparent, if there was a shower at the pool, if the room for 4 was just a little bigger, if there was shampoo in the bathroom, if the food was (much) better, if the staff could speak better English - I would say: yes, three stars, of course, why not. But because of all the "ifs" I think it should be two stars. As simple as that.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sonnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonnhof

Address: Sonnblickweg 17, Rauris 5661, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Rauris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Rauris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonnhof 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let me introduce ourselves. We are the new owner of Hotel Sonnhof *** since 1st April, 2009. We are a young family and we try to satisfy all the wishes of our guests. Big and delicious dishes, clean and new rooms, wellness, guided tours, children care.Ask for special offers! Be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Sonnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnhof Hotel Rauris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sonnhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.