We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch place for holidays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sonnhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Sonnhof to your Saves list
Hotel Sonnhof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sonnblickweg 17, Rauris 5661, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Rauris
Krakow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top notch place for holidays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

I must say I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel.
It is located already at the borders of Rauris, so I had a very nice view on the mountains from my window (even though the room was located on the ground floor).
The building itself is not new, but everything is very nicely renovated. There's a small pool and sauna (available at guest's request), and also a place to play squash. Some evenings they have live music.
I particularly enjoyed the food, especially the Hungarian dishes. Everything was always fresh, tasty and in good quantities.
They speak several languages at the hotel and the staff is very friendly.
There's lot of interesting places around for hiking, climbing and skiing. We enjoyed hiking at this time of the year and climbed a couple of surrounding peaks.

I think hotel Sonnhof is a top notch choice for all pleople who like being close to the nature, but also enjoy the luxury of sleeping in a cozy bed and good food.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    9
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
15
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

Byli jsme tu na prodlouzeny vikend, prijeli jsme hlavne lezt po horach. Byli jsme moc spokojeni, v hotelu je mily a ochotny personal, vynikajici jidlo a nechybi moznost k odreagovani - bazen, squash, sauna, masaze....urcite sem pojedeme znovu...:) Samotny hotel je prostorny, ale utulny, ma velkou zahradu, kde se porada pro hosty pravidelne grilovani a super vyhled na okolni kopce.

English version:
We were here for a long weekend, our main goal being mountain climbing. We were really satisfied with the service - there´s very nice and attentive staff, excelent food and posibilities of relaxation - swimming pool, sauna, squash court....the hotel is spacious but cozy and it has a big garden where barbecue for the guests takes place...it also has a very nice view of the surrounding mountains. We'll definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

The hotel has a new enthusiastic management and staff. They would like to accomplish all the wishes of the guests. They can recommend alls sort of programs and they can organise hiking tours with professional guides.
The food is excellent, I ate large potions. They reserved a large portion for me if I anticipated that I won't return by the dinner time.
I was accommodated in the older part of the hotel, but the room was renewed (carpet, furniture and painting).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

This friendly hotel takes place in a beautiful and calm environment. Above the village and belong the snowy high mountains.
Not only outdoor but inside of this quiet cheep hotel you can also make a several things. Refreshing your body in the swimming pool, squash or just take a sit in the balcon and looking around, listening the moos of the cows :).

I was satisfied very much with food and also services.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagykanizsa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

We have only positive feelings about this hotel. They have friendly employees great foods (vegetarian too) good parking. Sonnhof could be found the middle of Rauris and the mountains are next side of the fence we could touch them from the window :). Amazing. If you like climbing, hiking or just take a short walk this is the best place.
Rooms are confortable and have great outlook.
If you want to feel the mountains or just take a break or eat delicious foods you will be the next traveler to Sonnhof Rauris.

thank you Sonnhof

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2008

We took a risk booking a ski holiday through a well known tour operator staying here, as we could find very little about this hotel in advance and it is not in the company's brochure for next year (or this as far as I could find out). We had a four bedded room and a cheap deal. The room was split level, with an Austrian twin bed on the lower level and a bunk and a single in a separate room, with curtain in between the two rooms) on the upper level. There was a small balcony with a beautiful view up the valley. The room was spacious. There was a television, which received many channels (CNN only English speaking channel). There were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room/no hairdryer/no shampoo (there was some body wash and soap). The room was very similar to the hotel rooms that you found in Austria 20 plus years ago. The hotel had a small pool, with very cold water (which children seemed to enjoy), a small sauna and a squash court (did not see this). We paid a bargain price and I think that we got the type of accommodation that I had anticipated. The food was not very good quality and there is a heavy reliance on pork. Some people complained to our rep about the food and it did improve (slightly) as the week went on. I would not want to stay here again.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSonnhof, owner at Hotel Sonnhof, responded to this review, June 14, 2009
Dear Guest,
thank you for your feedback!
Please let me inform you that Hotel Sonnhof Rauris has a new owner since 1st April, 2009.
We rebuilt some part of the hotel and has a completly new crew.
Hope you will be back once and see the difference.
Best regards,

Tibor Horvath
Hotel Sonnhof Rauris ***
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

Could'nt find any reviews about this hotel, so here is the first?
The Sonnhof is a typical Austrian style hotel, 3 star. Food was adequate, although we went for dinner at 7:15pm one night and there was nothing left!! They did rustle up a couple of pieces of chicken for us though. The rooms are a little tired, but there was plenty of hot water for a shower after your days skiing. Must mention Peter the waiter, worked very hard and had a distinct likeness to Manuel. Always enquired if we needed anything, be sure to tip him. Booked a Neilson Ski holiday through Thomas Cook. Spent the first morning wandering round trying to find the ski equipment shop as the rep failed to tell anybody where it was. for those of you that may need to find it. walk past the church (on your left) in the village centre and follow your nose to the bottom of the gondola, easy once you know. it was about 15min stroll from the hotel. Neilson use Adventure Rauris for the ski school and although this was quite good, we felt like the poor relation to the Karl Maier school. The snow could have been better for our trip, but cant control the weather eh. All in all had a good week, everybody friendly and would definitely go back to Rauris.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dated
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sonnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonnhof

Address: Sonnblickweg 17, Rauris 5661, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Rauris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Rauris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let me introduce ourselves. We are the new owner of Hotel Sonnhof *** since 1st April, 2009. We are a young family and we try to satisfy all the wishes of our guests. Big and delicious dishes, clean and new rooms, wellness, guided tours, children care.Ask for special offers! Be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sonnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnhof Hotel Rauris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sonnhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.