We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs work” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anton Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Anton Valley Hotel to your Saves list
Anton Valley Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Principal | Frente a la Iglesia de San Jos, El Valle de Anton, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Menifee
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Needs work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

El Valle is a great little town. The Anton Valley Hotel is a nice place to stay, but it definitely could be better. We stayed there for two nights and enjoyed going to Nispero Zoo and El Chorro Macho closeby. The room we stayed in was a decent size and the air conditioning worked well. It was definitely needed as El Valle is very humid. There was a wet bar in the room and the prices were reasonable. But there were no glasses or cups available. Really, a cup to rinse after brushing your teeth is not an unreasonable assumption when staying in a hotel. And we were told by the manager's brother that breakfast started at 7am, yet when we went to ask at 7:15 am, we were told that there was no breakfast and we would have to go to the Mercado. So we went to Don Pepe's for breakfast. When we got back from the zoo later that morning, around 10am, we saw two people having breakfast on the patio. I'm not sure what was going on there. El Valle is a really nice place to visit, but the Anton Valley Hotel would not be my first choice for a place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    42
    20
    9
    8
See reviews for
43
128
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This is a nice little hotel. Rooms are simple, but both rooms and hallways are decorated with gorgeous molas. Air conditioning was very effective, but not really needed so much in El Valle. The gate to the parking area was locked at night which made me feel safe. Scenery is amazing.
The restaurant is excellent and we ate delicious dinner and breakfast that were priced reasonably. And the cost of lodging there is quite reasonable, as well. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again if we return to El Valle.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I'm giving this a 5 star as I think for the price of this hotel, you get a wonderful space that is clean and very centrally located. We paid $60 and that compared to the other options in the area was a very great deal.
Highlights included a clean but cozy room with a wet bar (when we the last time you saw that!) The owner Mario saw us pulling our bags out of our car and raced over to help us which was thoughtful. He studied University in Florida and speaks perfect English. There is a small pool to swim with a shallow end for kids and you can play Corn Hole for all those looking to spend a little more time at on the hotel grounds and get a little piece of Americana. Staff was very friendly and helpful. They gave us a map of the area at check in and gave us instructions on how to get to other sites. It's right on the main road which made it very easy to walk everywhere... location was perfect. Parking was free and in it's own lot. And the restaurant was AMAZING!!!
Lowlights included the slow receipt of hot water, you have to wait a minute to get it to the room. Thank goodness for the air-conditioning system in the room as it drowned out the noise from the front of the hotel echoes down the hall... it's the same issues that you have in any hotel that is made with cement and tile... which includes almost all in Panama.

All in all I would stay here again especially for the great price!

Room Tip: Chose a room that is away from the restaurant and turn on the air conditioner even if you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Clean and comfortable room with a very unique bathroom. The beds were very acceptable, the AC was cold and the food at the on-site restaurant was good. Within easy walking distance of the local farmers market and several local places to get good food at very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The good bits...the service from the hotel concierge was prompt and helpful. The view of the church and mountains outside is fantastic and the location is good. The bad bits ... the hotel is charmless and motel-like and the service was hit and miss. The room was fine and clean. I loved El Valle!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Hotel has seen better days. First room the shower water faucet broke so they moved us to another room. Second room the water was cold only. Room was adequate but sparse. During low season with few guests the service is so slow. Overall the town folds up during low season. Not interested in keeping tourists happy.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montréal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed for one night. The room was very clean. Hot shower, air conditioning and satellite tv. The location is great, central street but quiet enough. You have a nice view of the mountains from some room. The bed was very comfortable. The quality is excellent for the price (60$ taxes included).

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anton Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anton Valley Hotel

Address: Avenida Principal | Frente a la Iglesia de San Jos, El Valle de Anton, Panama
Location: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in El Valle de Anton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anton Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than a 5 minute walk to Panama's best indigenous market place on the main street in El Valle de Anton, is the Anton Valley Hotel. Each guest room features designer furnishings, queen or twin beds, private bathrooms with hot water, refrigerators, Direct TV, ceiling fans, tiled floors, lounging robes and massage showerheads. Other amenities include Wi-Fi throughout, Orchid Room Restaurant, Gift Shop, Outdoor BBQ/Bar and a spa treatment room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Anton Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Anton Valley
Anton Valley Hotel Panama/El Valle De Anton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anton Valley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.