We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find trail” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Sleeping Indian Girl

The Sleeping Indian Girl
Calle La India, El Valle de Anton, Panama
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Mountains
Attraction Details
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Hard to find trail”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

It is difficult to find trail without a guide. The government hasn't put any effort into providing proper signs. No decent maps are available either. Disappointing.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    18
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Even if you don't get to the top and we didn't, its a wonderful hike. If you go during the rainny season, careful to wear hiking boots so you don't slip and fall.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, MS
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A rough climb but the rewards at the top were well worth the effort.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

At the entrance to the park ( $1 each entry fee) we were greeted by a little old lady that could not speak a word of english and we spoke very little spanish. Somehow this 70 something year old lady became our guide to the top of La India Dormida (Sleeping Indian). We had on our hiking shorts and shoes. She wore a pair of flats and a dress. About half way up the trail we were gasping for air and she was just getting started. The darnist thing I've ever seen. When we get to the top and the views are wonderful, we are ready to take a break. Oh, but not the little lady. Heck I've never seen anything like it. She guided us back down and we gave her $30 and she seemed pleased. Good trip.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great View of the Valle de Anton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

This hike lasts about 3-4 hours. You will pass some ancient petroglyphs at the begining and then begin a rapid ascent. At one point you will pass a old house that was used for refining sugar (I think), as well as some farms. The view at the top is spectacular! The entire valley of Anton spreads out before you. Hold on to your hat though, it is windy up there. And on the way back there is a special treat for your hard labor: A refresing waterfall, known as the lovers falls. Most likely you will be very hot and tired after the hike, and the cool falls are a gift from heaven. Adventure seekers, take note!

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sleeping Indian Girl also viewed

El Valle de Anton, Cocle Province
El Valle de Anton, Cocle Province
 
El Valle de Anton, Cocle Province
El Valle de Anton, Cocle Province
 

Been to The Sleeping Indian Girl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sleeping Indian Girl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Sleeping Indian Girl to your Saves list