We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“INCREDIBLY SAD - these animals need saving” 1 of 5 stars
Review of El Nispero Zoo and Botanical Garden

El Nispero Zoo and Botanical Garden
El Valle de Anton, Panama
Website
Improve this listing
Visit El Nispero Zoo and Botanical Garden like an insider
$230*
and up
Attraction details
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLY SAD - these animals need saving”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I'm am absolutely shocked to read so many incredibly positive reviews of this place.

Not one single animal here has anything close to an compassionately designed enclosure. The positive reviewers seem to think animals are without the capacity to feel bored, frustrated, scared, and uncomfortable.

I felt literally sick and close to tears as I walked around the place trying to come to terms with the fact these animals were going to be existing in those cages 24 hours a day for 365 days a year.

A man who was working there even admitted he realised the enclosures were inadequate and put this down to a lack of money to make improvements. He said the zoo was acting as a rescue centre for animals but i truly wondered how this could possibly be the case when, for example, of the two jaguars they have spent their time pacing in the manner an animal does when they've had to live with boredom and frustration for long time. They're cage was a small rectangular shape (approx 30m x 10m) with no place to get respite from the visitors and a 3 metre wide strip for shade was provide above them. The man at the zoo also went on to say 'no cage is big enough for an animal' as if it were an all or (next to) nothing philosphy that justified the lack of effort made for these animals.

I feel so angry that so many people think this is a good - excellent, even - way to pass their time. That's a disgusting level of ignorance towards the creatures we share this planet with.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    100
    58
    20
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Nice experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We took a tour called Anton Valley Tour from the Royal Decameron resort. The tour included several destinations and this zoo was one of them. I quite enjoyed this zoo. Unlike our zoo in Toronto, Canada, where all the animals are far away and hard to see, here you can walk right directly up to the cages and see them up close (and even feed them, too).
My favourite parts were: the spider monkeys (I held their hands and patted their tails and fur), the capuchin monkeys (so cute and funny), the jaguars.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interesting zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We spent about two hours exploring the zoo and the grounds. The birds and animals seemed OK. The landscape was very interesting and enjoyable to explore.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Unexpected Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

What a gem of a zoo, unlike any that I have visited in the US or abroad and certainly much lager that I expected it to be. The grounds are unique, very lush, full of trees, some decorated benches, a small pond and beautiful exoctic flowers. The zoo is full of surprises from the type of animals to their housing , you can almost touch some and others have more significant barriers from vistors. The exhibits were interesting featuring exotic and endangered species as well as those animals more commonly seen at zoos in the US . The birds were beautiful, what a broad selection. The zoo is a bit relaxed a medium size animal with sharp look teeth was loose when I reported it to a grounds person they said it would return to the cage, I was a bit anxious as I came across it twice but it ignored me. The grounds were full of visotrs , many familes and did not thin out when it started raining , the thick trees in many areas actually protected us from the rain. Don't miss this if you are in the area

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great little zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

You can see it not started out as a zoo, as the layout is completely on a hill and not so practically laid out as some zoo's are. I loved walking under the trees and find my way in the park. Not all animals have great cages, but I don't really expect that in a zoo in central america. I loved the frogs and all exotic birds. Well worth the 5 dollar entrance fee!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Nispero Zoo and Botanical Garden also viewed

El Valle de Anton, Cocle Province
El Valle de Anton, Cocle Province
 
El Valle de Anton, Cocle Province
El Valle de Anton, Cocle Province
 

Been to El Nispero Zoo and Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Nispero Zoo and Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.