We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for nature lovers and families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabanas Potosi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Valle de Anton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabanas Potosi
Casa #84, El Valle de Anton, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Willemstad, Curacao
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great place for nature lovers and families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great place for nature lovers and families. Big neath yard with a special BBQ spot and ping pong table. Cabanas are neath and have everything. Warm shower. The owners are very nice treat you like family. It is also normal to walk into their house to grab a coffee.. (I am serious). Mireya also gives spanish lessons and her brother is like mr nature and birdman who is also a guide.. It is a little bit out of town like 20 minute walk or 5 minutes by car. Close by the waterfalls. Its very quiet and attacts quite some birds. Price is a bargain. This is not the place for young backpackers who wanna party. This is for sure the place I go back to when I will stay in Anton again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
30
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We were two adults and two children (11 and 13) who ended up staying just one night after our passports for the kids took longer to arrive than we'd planned--causing us a delay in our arrival.

We tried to pay for the days we'd reserved and missed, but Dennis and Mireya refused to accept our money, even though it was the high season (March). They said they'd been able to rent our rooms after we'd notified them of our delay, though we will never know for sure if this was actually the case.

Because we were now on a compressed schedule, we went ahead and paid for Dennis to pick us up from the airport instead of taking the bus, and this was a great idea. Dennis loaded us in his truck, stopped along the way for us to have a meal, and provided us with loads of interesting information on Panama during the long trip up to El Valle de Anton.

We liked Cabanas Potosi because it's quiet, beautiful, and removed from the village center. I was worried it would be too far from town, but it wasn't. The walk takes about 20 minutes, and since Cabanas Potosi is still in a residential area (other reviews didn't make that clear) the walk is filled with other people walking and biking and going about their daily business--making it an interesting little glimpse into everyday life for locals.

The accommodations are clean, simple and comfortable. Soon after arrival a staff person drops off a tray with glasses and a big karafe of iced water. Each room has a bathroom with shower, bed/s, a small fridge, a notebook with information on the area, a fan, and hammocks on the porch outside the room.

In the morning, Dennis drove us to town and had breakfast with us at a small restaurant he enjoys. He then took us to a place where we asked to be dropped off (we wanted to see the "square trees" growing on a hiking trail on the far side of the town), and spent the entire day meandering and exploring our way back to our lodging.

The one thing for which I will forever be grateful to Dennis is his SAVING us from misery when we were leaving. Our plan was to take the bus back to Panama City. Dennis dropped us off in the town center at the shuttle/bus stop with instructions for which shuttle to catch to the main highway. Once we got to the main highway, we were to simply hop on any bus headed toward Panama City for just a few dollars.

Well, since the town had just celebrated a festival weekend, the shuttle stop ended up being a little busier than usual with people waiting for rides to various destinations (all the locals ride these shuttles from town to town). After Dennis drove off, as if on cue people began streaming to the shuttle stop until it was absolutely crammed. As shuttles ranging from decrepit minivan to small bus arrived, people packed and smashed themselves into them in jaw dropping ways. If I were young and on my own, I might be up for the adventure of traveling the winding roads crushed in a dangerously overloaded vehicle with limbs hanging out, but we had our two children plus packs with us, and there was NO WAY we were going to attempt boarding one of those shuttles.

We decided to stand back, watch the spectacle, and wait--though we were very worried because the crowds were not abating. It was starting to get dark. We had no cell phone. We were hot and uncomfortable. We had a 6 a.m. flight from Panama City to Bocas del Toro in the morning.

After some time we saw Dennis drive by and slow as he noticed us. He pulled up and said, "Get in." I could have cried. Dennis generously drove us the half hour (?) to the main highway. Just as we arrived at the highway, a big bus (large, like a Greyhound bus) pulled into the stop and we clambered aboard. We were home free! Dennis saved us hours of misery and probably tons of money and lost sleep. Thank you, Dennis!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed a week at Cabanas Potosi. We will be back! If you are a fan of good value, the wonders of nature, good conversation and comfortable beds, visit Dennis and Mireya. We felt at home the minute we arrived and settled into our cabin. We enjoyed the other guests, many of them birders, and the owner's immense knowledge of the area and its offerings. We have traveled to Panama many times over the last 10 years and find El Valle and Cabana's Potosi both on our list of favorite places. Jan and Walter Eisner

Room Tip: Get your reservations early. There are 4 cabins. This place is VERY popular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Dennis and Mireya made our stay in El Valle really special. They are genuine people who emit a sense of love for El Valle and their life there. The room was immaculately clean. They made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. It is in a great location: within 30 mins you can walk to Las Mozas, La Piedra Pintada, or Town. We are not "birders" by any means, but it WAS neat to see so many! This couple is so lovely and they were so helpful to us in terms or restaurant suggestions, directions to hikes, and general info on Panama. I am missing them as I write this - sounds odd I know but they are such gentle, cute and knowledgeable people :) Mini fridges in the room. Hammock to relax in outside each of the rooms. They said they are always open to suggestions by their visitors because that's what helps them get better! Dennis has made a map of El Valle to help you navigate the important spots! One thing I will say - bring ear plugs if noises of the rain forest might bother you during the night: they are at their best here!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

My daughter and I had such a good experience here. Lovely cabins but the owner, Meriya, was so helpful from picking us up to finding us another place to stay when we wanted to spend more time in El Valle and she was booked out. Very helpful and fun. Stay here if you can. Mariya's brother Mario is a very famous naturalist who leads groups for birdwatching in the area. The family is very knowledgable about the whole area and very environmentally conscious in their running of the cabanas.

Room Tip: All are quiet and surrounded by bush.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

overall: great place to stay. away from it all, but still close.

pros
-very peaceful and quiet
-very friendly owners, great service provided
-nice rooms with fridge and hammocks on the porch. very clean.
-beds VERY comfortable
-good value ($49 for a double) compared to other options in El Valle

cons
-you need a car (or walk/bike everywhere)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

My wife and I had a quiet and comfortable time at Cabanas Potosi. As stated elsewhere, Cabanas Potosi is just off the main street of El Valle, which makes it more secluded and possible to enjoy the beautiful grounds more.

Although we arrived early, we received a good welcome and our room was prepared for us. With a spacious room and comfortable beds, we got a good night's sleep, ready for an early walk along a rainforest trail.

Really good value; we'd stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cabanas Potosi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Potosi

Address: Casa #84, El Valle de Anton, Panama
Location: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty lodging in El Valle de Anton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabanas Potosi is located in the second largest shield volcanic crater in the world. The cabins are family owned and offers bird guided tours with one of Panama's best bird guides, Mario Bernal. The valley sits at 3,000 (1,000 Meters) above sea level and is the home of over 300 species of birds plus migratory birds during October and March. Many family owned restaurants are located with walking distance of the cabins. You can get to El Valle by traveling by bus on the Pan-American Highway from Panama City, Panama. The trip takes about two hours of which the last 18 miles (30 Kilometers) offers beautiful view of the mountains and the Pacific Ocean. Come and visit us soon and wake up to a symphony of birds every morning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabanas Potosi Hotel El Valle De Anton
Cabanas Potosi Panama/El Valle De Anton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabanas Potosi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cabanas Potosi to your Saves list