We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Di Pietra

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Valle de Anton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Di Pietra
El Gaital #46, El Valle de Anton 1000, Panama   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I had a delightful stay at Casa di Pietra. Luis and his staff were wonderfully hospitable and helpful throughout our stay. We enjoyed our cozy and clean accommodations and were even allowed to bring our small dog, a definite bonus. The garden was lovely and the Costa Rican style breakfast was delicious. We hope to return again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    11
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
11
82
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at Casa di Pietra in May. We had a lovely room on the second floor with windows all around and a small balcony overlooking the stunning gardens. It felt like being in our little tree house. However, what made our stay an unforgettable was the warm hospitality of Luiz. We were sad to leave and will definitely come back one day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I had a wonderful 2-night stay here in a third floor room. The property is gorgeous, with fruit trees, a small river, a pond, a coffee tree and at night there is a serenade of toads and cicadas. You can also see a number of birds and small lizards wandering through. It's very well located, on a quiet street off the central avenue. My room, which was more like a newly-built mountain cabin, had a double bed, private bathroom with hair dryer and shower, and a balcony with rocking chairs. The whole house is very clean and they also provide some soap and shampoo in the bathroom. The room does not have air conditioning, but the fan provided ample cooling. Luis was a most gracious host, very easy going, knowledgable and interesting. Breakfast was FILLING with fruit, bread, coffee, juice and whatever loveliness Luis cooks up, usually something with eggs from the his chickens, some form of meat and also a Panamanian tortilla (which is like a corn fritter). His chicken tamales are excellent. Also, Luis has a few bikes available, which was a perfect way to explore the town since I didn't have a car. Also of note is that Luis is very responsive on e-mail with regards to the reservations and he even includes a map to the house for ease. I would ABSOLUTELY recommend that all of my friends stay here. Thank you!!!

Room Tip: If you're sensative to roosters in the morning, ask for a room on the far side of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at Casa di Pietra. Luis is a very sweet man and an excellent host. The property is beautiful; just off the main street through town, so everything is within walking distance (or, even better, biking distance). We stayed in a third floor room with balcony and had fun sipping on beer while gazing out at the trees while it rained. Luis offered us a bottle of wine down in the dining area and provided delightful conversation. He recommended a wonderful location for dinner and booked a reservation for us. I clipped a guard rail in the rental car, popping off a piece of the back fender, and Luis provided the help to reattach it - good as new.

If you're staying in El Valle, look no further. We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We were traveling with family, including one small child and one older gentleman. Our host Luis considerately chose the placement of each room. Rooms were comfortable and like new. THe lounge/garden seating was great. Lovely atmosphere. Breakfast was amazing!! Would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We spent four nights at Casa Di Pietra, part of a 15-day trip we took around Panama. We stayed here on the tail-end of our trip before catching a plane in Panama City. We knew we wanted to stay in El Valle and chose Casa Di Pietra based on the reviews we read here. For the most part, the reviews are accurate, the bed and breakfast is in a very lush and colorful setting (not hard to findin El Valle, which is an enchanting little village). Host Luis is erudite, polite and thoughtful. We had a lovely stay. The accommodations are in a delightful Spanish motif architecture (that Luis, a former engineer, designed) with a winding staircase to the rooms. While my husband and I were fine with the stairs, they are narrow and triangular shaped so I would caution anyone with walking, stepping or climbing challenges. The rooms are comfortable with the requisite creature comforts; the rooms are small with little space to move around. Some of the rooms have balconies with sitting areas that overlook the El Valle beauty. The bed we slept in was comfortable. Note that Casa Di Pietra does not have any king-size beds.

A couple of other things that you might want to note: Luis is a smoker and while he's very discreet about it, second hand smoke is second hand smoke and it can waft into open spaces on the premises (i.e. the open area where guests eat breakfast). Also, while we were there, there were other smokers in one of the five other guest rooms. The smoke inevitably wafted into our room. We ran the fan, which is mounted on the wall, and this seemed to do the job. But if you do have a sensitivity to this sort of thing it's something to be mindful of.

The other consideration is that we had to pay cash. It was the only time during our trip that we had to do this. Personally, I do not like to carry large sums of cash around.

But all-in-all, our time spend at this delightful little B&B was awesome. The wildlife is spectacular and literally in your backyard. And the breakfasts that Luis makes are to die for. They are gourmet - the best and well above the others we had (and every place we stayed offered complimentary breakfasts - easy to find in this country). If you're not 'smell' sensitive and not of big or heavy stature, this place will serve you well!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with one of the balconies that you can sit out on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

The hotel is wonderful. It is one man's creative expression. A little bit ship, a little bit castle, a little bit tree-house, good breakfasts and a lovely and gracious host. Whenever I wish to smile, thinking about our stay in such a place will do the trick.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are splendid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Di Pietra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Di Pietra

Address: El Gaital #46, El Valle de Anton 1000, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in El Valle de Anton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Di Pietra has six comfortable suites with private balcony. Magnificent views from each room and direct contact with nature are only a few of our features. Our hotel offers accommodations for adults only because we want our guests to relax and enjoy the peace and silence that can only be found in this charming valley. Nature is all around you here. You will be able to appreciate different species of wildlife from the comfort of your room, or you can choose to go up close and see them for yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Di Pietra Hotel El Valle De Anton
Casa Di Pietra Panama/El Valle De Anton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Di Pietra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Casa Di Pietra to your Saves list