We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location for Birders” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canopy Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Valle de Anton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canopy Lodge
Save
You added Canopy Lodge to your Saves list
Cerro Gaital Natural Monument, El Valle de Anton 0832-2701 WTC, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location for Birders”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We spent four nights at the beautiful Canopy Lodge in El Valle. The bubbling stream offered "sleeping music" just outside our room windows. The large rooms are attractively decorated with very comfortable beds. The meals were delicious and served with elegance. There are many excellent birding opportunities watching the lodge bird feeders and exploring the gorgeous grounds and in the nearby rainforest and cloud-forest areas. Our guide Carlos was outstanding and all the staff helpful.
Bob and Georgene

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
42
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We are not birders but stayed at Canopy Lodge upon the recommendation of family and friends. Our only regret? That we did not come sooner! From the moment we arrived, the peace and tranquility of the Lodge, the beautiful surroundings, and the attentive service made us forget the hustle and bustle of our everyday lives. Zip lining, swimming in fresh water pools, mud bathes, lively Sunday market in the small town, wonderfully prepared meals, spacious rooms, no detail was spared for a truly relaxing vacation. The upside! Falling in love with birding.
We have decided to make this little piece of heaven our destination for our annual family vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This past February 2013 my wife and I signed up for the 7-day birding package at Canopy Lodge and had an amazing experience. We have both been active, enthusiastic birders for many years (although we do not list). This was our first full-blown birding trip and we wondered what we were getting into. It was everything we hoped for and more.

The transfer from Panama City to the Lodge was excellent and well timed. We were given a welcome orientation, shown our rooms and served a nice lunch. I assumed we would be on our own this first day and planned to sit at the feeders. To our surprise we were told to be back at 3:00 PM to meet our guide for the week Danilo for a few hours of birding. We saw many great birds that first afternoon including a Sun Bittern, Black Crowned Ant Pita, and Tody Motmot.

The grounds at Canopy Lodge are beautiful, with very active bird feeders. I cannot say enough how wonderful the entire staff was. The food was local, plentiful and very well prepared. The inclusive wine was great and the group dinners much fun. Our room was spacious and very clean. Amazingly the evenings were cool, so the lack of air conditioning was not a factor. Plus, we didn’t see a single mosquito the entire week!

Each guide is limited to 8 or less guests, but we never went out with more than 5 total and usually 3-4. We never repeated the same areas and by the end of our week we logged (yes we kept a list for this trip) 227 species, most of which we had never seen before.

Danilo was a wonderful guide with a true passion for birding and an amazing ability to call out and spot birds. He was tireless and made our week of birding at Canopy Lodge the perfect experience in every way. He was the best!

Both my wife and I agree, Canopy Lodge was wonderful in every way. We loved Panama and will return to stay at Canopy Tower and the newest location Canopy Camp Darien when it is completed.

Greg & Danette Vassilopoulos
Minneapolis

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Canopy Lodge nestles in a lovely pocket of privately owned Rain Forest , within short walking distance of Caida De Agua, a local nature preserve with trails, waterfalls and natural swimming pools..and within longer walking distance of the small town El Valle de Anton, worth a visit for the Sunday Market. The lodge property sports a river and a swimming hole with swinging ropes which is charming and of which I made use, even in rainy weather..There is a tree house..There is an observation deck, but without much vista as the facility is closely surrounded by mountains.. However it is a good place to spot the odd bird or flower..The Lodge is a bird watchers paradise.

if you are not an obsessed life-lister, or are interested in photographic opportunities, you do not need to leave your front porch, or the communal viewing area. If you are more active then there are excellent guides and daily excursions. Meals and wine with dinner, along with one "field-trip" are included with your stay. The food is quite good, with the odd exception of the rolls, which every night were as hard as rocks..it became a running joke. All dinning is communal. This can become tedious..or not, depending on your need for privacy. Vegetarian/vegan is not a problem..There is wifi in the communal area only..

All that being said, here are some caveats..My husband and I were not pleased with the management of this facility.. To begin with it is very expensive..$242 a night per person...and $75 per person for any additional guided tours.(A la Carte plan)..this implies some level of luxury, and indeed, the guides are outstanding. But what we found was a facility being run on the cheap. They are understaffed. Two folks in the kitchen..one woman occasionally in the office..workmen on what seems a part-time basis and the guides do everything else..The owner shows up for dinner occasionally and noblesse oblige. You may not notice this if you intend to sign up for package deals and be gone all day every day. We opted for a more relaxed experience and spent more time at the facility.

We had to repeatedly ask for the banana feeders to be refilled..and finally just did it ourselves..Sometimes they were out of bananas and the guides had to run into town.The brochure says they will disguise feeders for photographers..I asked and nothing was ever done. I did it myself. Not that I really minded, but I didn't want to be questioned about cutting leaves and etc. These are minor details, but there is more. We happened to be there during a rather severe storm, and the power went out. On one of those days I went for a walk and my husband stayed in the lodge..power was never restored..it was cold on the porch and too dark to read inside..and no electronics could be charged..well OK, stuff happens..but later we learn there was a generator and it was only turned on when we asked. Again, this would be acceptable at a bargain facility...In addition the hot water took forever to come up. One guest had none at all..Then we learn that the heater is under our sinks and needs to be turned up..this should have been done automatically.. There is a sign on the gift shop, giving hours of business. It was not opened the entire time we were there,,

Finally, don't have an emergency in the evenings.. You are told that someone is always there..maybe..but do they speak English? I needed to talk to someone in charge the last evening..only the two cooks were on the property and their English was non-existent. I have some Spanish but could not make myself understood..every guest there spoke English..some with more Spanish than I, but still, no luck. A facility like this, with mostly English speaking guests, should not be so poorly staffed..there should be someone multi-lingual there at all times.

The guest quarters are attractive. The rooms are large, the beds comfortable with reading lights and the porches are lovely..but be careful of the beds..the platforms just out beyond the matress and we both had bruised shins from running into them on night trips (!) to the bathroom.Flashlights are provided, a nice touch. There is no in-room safe.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are at feeder level. Second floor rooms, look into tree tops..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Canopy Lodge is owned by Canopy Towers. They also have opened a Canopy B & B in Gamboa and a safari type lodge in Darien called "Canopy Camp Darien". The people were very accommodating and friendly. The rooms were large and very comfortable although there was no AC, it was cool during the nights and I wore a light sweater after dark. I liked the food, served buffet style and the cooks would accommodate guests with special diets. The grounds are beautiful and full of wildlife. .With many bird feeders and hummingbird feeders about! A lovely stream ran through the property and a large swimming pool with a tree house and swinging ropes!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utila, Honduras
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Canopy Lodge is a great, comfortable lodge in the magical Valle de Anton. Comfortable rooms, great staff, large grounds with a natural pool, tree house and pond. Avid birders can take trips with great guides or wander the grounds and see lots of birds. If you enjoy a little comfort and relaxation after a day of birding, this is an excellent choice. Food is great, staff is friendly and helpful and knowledgeable. The town is small but charming. I would recommend this lodge for anyone who enjoys birding and a little luxury as well!

Room Tip: Each room I saw was special with good views, birds and easily accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Hidden on the slopes of an extinct volcano, difficult to find without a guide !(they will organise your transport from Tower to Lodge or the Airport )it is obtusely hidden away amid the cloud forest of El Valle. The town is small, but has it's 'famous' Sunday market, several places to dine and lots of local 'colour', pleasant after any big city or even the journey to here.
Absolute top are the guides and their tour for birdwatchers, an enormous number of birds to be found, but you have to be keen and patient ( as always?!) maybe not as good as at the Tower I have heard (maybe there the choice is wider) but the accommodation much, much better and quieter , so you sleep better and are ready for the morning tour!
Food is NOT the best aspect here, adequate, but nothing to get excited about, breakfast same as a 3* Hotel, obvious room for improvement and definitely not a selling point. Buffet style meals, pre-prepared, but the location and birds make up for it....
Rates are also a little top-heavy, I suppose they think if you have come this far, you can afford it...maybe so, but value isn't their game, it's a captive audience for bird watchers...!
Just a few minutes walk uphill is their Canopy Adventure where you can either walk past the waterfall on a rope bridge or two, or above it on a Zipline if you're brave (and young enough)!
Careful if wet, could be slippy,you do get a stick to assist walking (or fight of the odd monkey or two....!!)
All in all very sedate and pleasant, but if you are not a bird watcher, it has less appeal

Room Tip: All are all with a view of the pretty stream and jungle surroundings 15 min walk to 'town'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canopy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canopy Lodge

Address: Cerro Gaital Natural Monument, El Valle de Anton 0832-2701 WTC, Panama
Location: Panama > Cocle Province > El Valle de Anton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in El Valle de Anton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service lodge specializing in nature activities, particularly bird watching. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Canopy Hotel El Valle De Anton
Canopy Lodge Panama/El Valle De Anton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canopy Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.