We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to serenity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disfrutalo Ranchos y Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Disfrutalo Ranchos y Villas to your Saves list
Disfrutalo Ranchos y Villas
150 Metri sur de la Plaza de Deporte, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Welcome to serenity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I spent a month in this resort, and I found exactly what I was expecting: serenity, and a beautiful lodge perfectly inserted in the natural environment of Santa Teresa. The bungalows are lovely, the swimming pool a divine "break-off" from high temperature times, and one of the best beaches in the world is just a few meters from there. The staff is well prepared to help, and will give you all the information needed. Everything was exquisite. When I'll go back to Santa Teresa, I'll surely choose again Disfrutalo.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    11
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
32
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My wife and I met the owner of DisFrutalo on the ferry heading to Santa Teresa and she mentioned that she owned a hotel and offered us a room for the night. We were skeptical but shared a taxi from the dock with her and were very happy we trusted our instincts.

The hotel is nothing fancy, we've stayed in much fancier places in all of our travels, but this place holds a very dear place in our hearts and we can not wait to return.

Our villa was simple but had a full kitchen, two bedrooms, A/C, wi-fi, hot water, an outdoor eating area and hammock. We couldn't have asked for anything more and loved every single minute of our stay.

I would highly recommend anyone visiting Santa Teresa to stay at DisFrutalo. If you are looking for a great place to stay, don't bother looking anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Overall, we did not enjoy our stay at Disfrutalo. Our one-bedroom bungalow was small, dark and uncomfortable. It was a lot smaller than what the pictures showed and what we expected. It is a little farther away from the main strip of town in Santa Teresa than what we thought, and not really walking distance (everyone drove quads or bikes). The pool was small, but nice. Beach was lovely. I wouldn't recommend or go back, sorry!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We arrived at Disfrutalo after a very long flight, shuttle, ferry, shuttle to a great welcome from everyone at the Villas! We were welcomed by several people who helped us with our luggage! Needless to say, we were so tired and so far from our homes, it was so nice to receive the welcome we did from all the "boys" at the villas!!! I am from Arkansas and my friend is from Florida, we were the only Americans at the resort which did not matter to anyone, in fact, we were treated so good, everyone was so friendly and made us slow down and change our attitudes to...."no worries"....relax and enjoy! Even though there was a language barrier, we communicated very well and felt safe and so happy and comfortable in our 2 BR villa!!! It was extremely hot during March when we traveled but the villa cooled down, Marco, Owner, got me a fan and everyone was accommodating! Marco and Simon helped us with a day trip to Montezuma to snorkel at Isle of Tortuga which was so beautiful! We had a great time and I would recommend this day trip to anyone who loves to snorkel and see the most beautiful coast lines with all the huge rocks jutting up from the ocean!
On one evening, the guys made empanadas ....all different kinds and they were so delicious! The service was superb but the people who ran Disfrutalo were the kind of people you do not forget!!! They made us feel so at home .....and were so helpful the entire 6 days we were there! I would highly recommend staying at this Villa if you are traveling to Santa Teresa!!!!!! The villas were beautiful with hammocks and swing chairs on the porch, clean and private. Thanks to everyone there who made our visit to Santa Teresa a great adventure...Paulette

Room Tip: I did not see any of the other Villas...ours was named the frog...I think runan....we loved the one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We've only been here for 2 days but we're loving our decision to stay here. Really comfortable, well equipped rooms. A/C, hot water, comfy/clean beds, and probably the best kitchen supplies and utensils of any place we've stayed at so far.
I hate to admit it, but we were here in Central America to work as well as play, so wi-fi was a must for us. Happy to have found a strong, reliable internet connection that works both on the pool deck and in our rooms.
We read some early reviews from 2008ish where some people were concerned about bugs, and from pictures it looked like there might have only been shutters covering the windows. However it looks like the owners have put new windows in all the rooms so there's definitely no problem with bugs and it helps the A/C cool down the place immediately. They've definitely put a lot of thought into the upkeep of the property and the rooms.
Marco runs this place and is a great guy to chat with around the property and get some good advice about the area. He made sure we were more than taken care of and also hooked up the best ATV price we've seen in Santa Teresa!
I came here with my girlfriend and both of us would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Amaizing experience!!
Santa Teresa was the best place in Costa Rica and our stay in disfrutalo was the perfect choice for that town.
Sarita, the owner, was super nice with us. Always with a smile and the best attitude. She show us the place, and join us for some lovely walks on santas beachs and sunsets.
The "ranchos" are really nice. Wood, bamboo and plants, all toghether in perfect harmony and in great location.
We really recomend this place.

Wass and Astrid

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

nice place, much worked on and maintained, most agreeable manager who could not ever say no however only advised after arrival we had to provide our own bottled water for the available dispenser or to choose alternate bottle sizes.
nice kitchen, strong running shower outside, and hot water inside could have flowed tad stronger. safe unit with most convenient private lock box which is a necessity in Santa Teresa.
beds super comfy although the couch cushions were a tad hard/used.
nice TV, coffee maker, blender for basic kitchen necessities, good size fridge, and nice table on the patio.
pool was well maintained with clean water
private unit with well maintained hedges/plants to ensure adequate privacy.
would stay there again.

Room Tip: all units appear to be back away from road behind manager's unit, and would check for that. min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Disfrutalo Ranchos y Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disfrutalo Ranchos y Villas

Address: 150 Metri sur de la Plaza de Deporte, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disfrutalo Resort is located 100 meters from the beach in Santa Teresa.We offer air-conditioned houses (villas) and homes without air conditioning (Ranchos) from 2013 also opened a hostel with 11 beds.All our units are safe, wifi, equipped kitchen and hot water.Since 2012 we offer poolWe work every day to provide a high level of attention to our guests so that you passing a perfect holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Disfrutalo Ranchos y Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disfrutalo Ranchos y Villas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disfrutalo Ranchos y Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.