We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very cool getaway place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa MarBella

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa MarBella
Save Saved
You added Casa MarBella to your Saves list
125 meters east and 25 meters north of Super Ronny's, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
chicago,il
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“a very cool getaway place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

The owners Steph & Jim are on the property ,so if you have any questions or requests they can be taken care of on the spot. The hotels' description does not do it justice-- the place was all you could want in a small boutique hotel. I thought i would miss the simple things from home like television and cell phone but there was so much to do and explore that the time in the room was used to rest. The other guests at the hotel during our stay were just the coolest , nicest, and most helpful people you could want to meet. I would absolutely stay there again. Tthe pictures on the webb site don't do the hotel justice, especially in terms of the views.
There is a real cool family vibe about the place--you can partake of it as much (or as little) as you like. One morning we were one of three couples who went sport-fishing. Among us we caught about 20 fish. We gave most of it to the boat captain and took some back to the hotel. Jim was kind enough to grill it up for us--we had enough for a hotel cookout!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    289
    17
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
161
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

Simply amazing!!!

From the moment you arrive at Casa Marbella you are at total comfort and relaxation.

We arrived at Casa Marbella the first week of April for a ten-day getaway in Costa Rica; two couples extremely excited to have finally arrived in this beautiful country for the first time.

We had only booked three nights at Casa Marbella but once we realized that we had fallen upon a piece of paradise we quickly decided to extend our three nights to nine and what a great decision it was.

The property is perfectly designed, decorated and only steps away from the beach, restaurants, local shops and food markets.

The overall cleanliness of Casa Marbella was outstanding with many thanks to their incredible staff who were warm and welcoming.

Jim and Stephanie were awesome and recommended great restaurants and day trips taking care of all the details.

Cheers to you both and your wonderful staff for all the hard work and creating such a wonderful place for all to enjoy. We highly recommend Casa Marbella to all our friends and family and look forward to returning very soon.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

We were really fortunate to find this spot--what a gem! The location was gorgeous, as well as a great spot functionally...it was just close enough to the town and the ocean. Jim and Stephanie were great with recommendations, and helped to arrange a charter fishing trip, ziplining, and a massage :). We had a great trip! The only things that I would advise to anyone travelling here--it is quite a journey to the hotel, but it's definitely do-able (and worth it!). There are bugs here...it's Costa Rica. Lastly--book your stay directly through the hotel's website. We didn't realize that we had not been dealing directly with them--when we booked, we were contacted by a person named Umberto, who is a travel agent that is not affiliated with the hotel. He requires that you pay 100% in advance and doesn't provide a refund if you need to make changes (even if it is more than 30 days in advance!), which is not the same as the hotel's policy. He also provided us with an incorrect ferry schedule. Do yourself a favor and use the link that is on tripadvisor to work directly with the hotel :)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

I recently stayed at Casa Marbella with two of my girlfriends over Spring Break. Jim and Stephanie were very accommodating, and they made us feel very safe and comfortable during our stay in Costa Rica. This was our first time out of the country, and Stephanie helped answer many questions we had about the exchange rate, and attractions that would should check out. I couldn't have dreamt up a better experience. I cried when I had to leave!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

My wife and eighteen year old son visited Santa Teresa in the Nicoya Peninsula, Costa Rica in mid-March 2010. We were attracted to this remote area as my son is an avid surfer. From the moment we arrived Casa Marbella was everything we hoped. It is a beautiful hotel built completely from local materials. The owners, Stephanie and Jim, have a flair for design. For example, the bathrooms are crafted from local stone lending a high end flair to an otherwise ordinary room and the posts are clearly finished trees. We had a room, right off the pool, with a king and single bed. It was all we needed. The room was very clean and comfortable. The housekeeping staff are excellent and very professional. Jim and Stephanie and their staff were very helpful with regards to renting Four Wheelers, assisting us in booking our regional flight back to San Jose and making recommendations for restaurants and local attractions. The atmosphere was very relaxed. The pool is very attractive with an infinity edge giving way to the remarkable view of the tree canopy and the ocean beyond. The hotel is situated on a hill overlooking the sparking ocean, the walk up is good exercise but well worth it. The hotel also has a large yoga deck. There is a restaurant right next door which we visited for breakfast and a few dinners. It was excellent and well priced. The town itself was an experience, it is mainly made up of businesses run by surfers trying to make enough money to surf. We felt safe and very relaxed during the entire trip. Using four wheelers we explored the nearby towns such as Montezuma which is well worth the drive. Getting here was a bit of an adventure , we flew into San Jose then took Sansa Airlines to Tambour where we were met by a taxi arranged by Casa Marbella. On the return flight we flew from Tambour to San Jose with Nature Air. Their aircraft are a bit larger and have nice large windows for viewing. Both airlines were professional. It is possible to drive from San Jose but I believe it would be a long, hot and dusty drive. The ferry was not operating during our stay but is an option. We plan to return again and highly recommend Casa Marbella to fellow travelers.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeanniebean75
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

Let me start by saying that we did a lot of research on where to stay in Costa Rica and I don't think it gets any better then Casa Marbella.

What we were looking for:

1. Easy Access to Surf
2. Something not too touristy
3. Something clean and nice
4. Something affordable

What we found:

1. The Surf break is literally a five minute walk from Casa Marabella to the beach. We even found a surf shop right in front of the beach break that was willing to rent to us for the entire week. This was super awesome b/c we didn't have to lug boards around, and each day could choose a different board from the shop. And for less then $10 a day, it was a steal. The surf conditions were a little on the harder side; as it was one of the bigger swells of the year; but we managed to have a ton of fun out there. When we couldn't make it out pas the break, we caught the reforms which were just as fun. The water is like warm bath water, and unbelievably gorgeous. It was so good, and so easy, and so fun, that we never surfed anywhere else. We had originally planned on renting a car and checking out other surf spots in the area, but once we got there and learned you could walk everywhere, we became big fans, of just sitting back and relaxing. Like one local told us: I don't go chasing after waves, I just let the waves come to me.

2. We wanted to get a real feel for Costa Rica; and not get trapped in the tourist trap we heard Tamarindo was. And while Santa Teresa is of course a little touristy, it had a lot of natural charm that we loved. And we were in smoothie heaven, smoothies everyday, all day. Ever tried guanabanana juice? OMG. Ridiculously delicious and refreshing. We also found that Santa Teresa was centrally located enough to check out other near-by attractions. We rented ATVs for a couple days and scooted through the back-country to check out some amazing waterfalls, and another day to catch the boat for a day of snorkeling. And while we didn't participate too much in the night life; we did find innumerable great places to eat, and relax, and watch the sun set.

3. When we first walked into Casa Marbella; I couldn't believe that this would be my home for the next week. Super modern, with a very local feel. VERY clean. We rented the 2nd floor 3-Bedroom Condo; and had french doors that opened up unto our own patio with a and ocean view. The place was filled with candles so we could dine by candlelight which we did one night. And everything was very open-aired and breezy. Huge bay windows that opened up on all four sides. I found myself saying many times; "Wow!". The staff was super friendly and helpful and Jim took care of so much. The place had daily cleaning service, which we didn't expect but which was super nice.

4. We paid around $1200 for a week long stay. Between the 4 of us, that is an incredible deal. And after staying in Santa Teresa for a week, we checked out other places in town that we could have stayed at: and the overall consensus was that we had the best accommodations in town. By far. If I were ever to come back, which I hope I can (and probably will) I wouldn't even consider another spot.

Bonus Round:

This place has a pool! Not just any pool, but an infinity pool. And not just any infinity pool, but one that overlooks the ocean. While this was not on our list of things that we "must have"....holy guacamole was it ever taken advantage of. If you've never been to Costa Rica; it is HOT. From morning until night; and this pool was god-send. We would dip before going into town in the morning, and dip as soon as we got back from the beach, and again after dinner. We were constantly in the pool and it was glorious.

Overall: I can't say enough about this place. If you just want a relaxing vacation; and you're also looking to surf your heart out: stop looking. This is the place for you.

About Us: We were four females, between the ages of 23 and 35 who have been friends for a few years. One of us was on spring break, and the other three of us just taking a break from our jobs and our daily lives. We've been surfing for between 1-6 years and would recommend lessons for those who have never surfed before. You won't need a wetsuit, not even close, but a rashguard would be helpful, as would some waterproof sunscreen :)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

We really wanted to like Casa Marbella during our honeymoon, but our experience just was not the same as the other reviewers. While the value was good, and the location near the beach was fine, our room was dirty, with stains on the sheets and dead bugs (as well as live ones) on the floor. We had the sense that we were intruding in the owner's house - and Jim and his wife simply did not want to be bothered. An awkward moment came when their daughter was swimming in the pool and told us "no!" to go away. I do not mean to criticize, but rather highlight the feeling that this is someone else's home. Later, when we needed a wake up call to make an early flight, we were told that this would not be possible.

We have stayed in the area before, and have had better experiences at some of the other hotels.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa MarBella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa MarBella

Address: 125 meters east and 25 meters north of Super Ronny's, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Marbella is a boutique style hotel centrally located in Santa Teresa, across the street from the beach on a hill overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Our guests can enjoy all that Santa Teresa/Mal Pais has to offer in comfort, style and security. It is a place where visitors can hear howler monkeys while watching the immense blue Pacific with a cool drink in his hand. After relaxing, it is just a short stroll to the beach, shopping, night life, restaurants, etc. We offer ocean view rooms, suites and condominiums with A/C, kitchen, in-room safe and more. Right in front of your door you will enjoy our refreshing pool with infinity edge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Santa Teresa
Casa Marbella Hotel Santa Teresa
Casa MarBella Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa MarBella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.