We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cozy little hotel. Wonderful stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa MarBella

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa MarBella
Save
You added Casa MarBella to your Saves list
125 meters east and 25 meters north of Super Ronny's, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A cozy little hotel. Wonderful stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

Very clean, fantastic views of the Pacific, owners on site and quite helpful. Altogether a great stay in Santa Teresa. Beware, of the treacherous little uphill gravel road to the hotel....it's steep and dusty. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the beach, so if you're looking for "toes in the sand" this isn't the place. Aside from that, this is a great place to stay. Santa Teresa is very much a surfer's town.....young and pretty hip. The "strip" area is dusty and funky, but the beach is one of the prettiest you'll ever see. Try Mary's or Buenos Aires for dinner.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    18
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
47
165
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Casa Marbella for four nights during our stay in Santa Teresa/Mal Pais, and it was perfect. We took surf lessons from Jim - he was a great instructor! We also rented their ATV to explore the area more. Both Jim and Stephanie were great hosts.

The view from the house is wonderful and the pool was exquisite in the hot sun of Santa Teresa in February. It does take effort to get up the hill to the house, which is important to know if you have trouble walking in any way. It's a short walk, just uphill. But it's worth it for the spectacular views from the house (and it gets you away from the dirt road of Santa Teresa).

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

My wife and I just got back from 2 weeks in C.R. and we spent 3 nights at Casa Marbella, which was one of the highlites of our trip. The hotel is beautiful, perched on top of a hill near all ammenities. Jim and Stephanie were great hosts, answering all of our questions, suggesting activities and making sure we were comfortable. We rented an ATV right at the hotel and had a great day cruising to Montezuma and then towards manzanillo. Saw a huge troop of Howler monkeys on the trip. I would highly recommend Casa Marbella to anyone who will be visiting Santa Teresa or Mal Pais

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

Our family of 8 adults spent a wonderful week at Casa Marbella. It was a beautiful location high above the main street, with ocean view, a lovely pool and hot tub, comfortable spotless rooms, plainly but tastefully furnished, with accommodations for only about 16 guests and the owners. The owners couldn';t have been more charming and helpful - e.g. when we reported we had difficulty finding a birthday cake for one of our members, the owner said she would have been glad to bake one for us! This was a perfect spot for the older family members who lounged in the shade at the beach and for the others who love to surf. Santa Teresa has innumerable tiny restaurants with delicious and interesting menus. We drank only bottled water but otherwise ate anything with no problems.
We did not mind the unpaved, bumpy, dusty roads because possibly that was part of the reason that there are no high rises or any development along the wide, uncrowded, beautiful beaches lined with tropical vegitation.

  • Liked — The helpful owners, the beautiful location, the lovely pool, clean accommodations
  • Disliked — the dusty, bumpy road to get there
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

I cannot say enough good things about Casa Marbella and the wonderful hosts Jim and Stephanie. They were extremely helpful in helping to arrange tours and atvs, and were readily available whenever we had questions. The property is gorgeous and convenient to everything you might need. We had the 3 bedroom condo for a week with friends and it was perfect for us. There is a full kitchen so you can cook, and the balcony was wonderful for food and drinks after you spend the day enjoying the beach. We loved it and would highly recommend that anyone take the time to travel to Santa Teresa and explore all it has to offer.
Don't be weirded out by the request to make a deposit for half your stay in cash before you go. The whole town is basically cash only so be prepared and definitely bring your ATM card- there is a cash machine in town.
Also, the food we ate in the restaurants in Santa Teresa was by far the best of our trip. I can't recall the names of all the places, but Cameleon was great.
Thank you Jim and Stephanie, we will definitely be back sometime soon!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allenhurst, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2008

The property is beautiful, well maintained, good location. The owners/managers are very warm, friendly and willing to make any arrangements/suggestions to make your stay more enjoyable. We felt very comfortable and decided it was one of our best vacations yet. Our family likes to surf and this was an ideal location. We would certainly return to this property and would highly recommend it for families.

  • Liked — setting, staff, proximity to surfing beach, pool
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Area
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Casa Marbella in November 2008 and can't wait to go back! The owners, Stephanie and Jim, were great hosts and gave us recommendations of fun things to do and places to eat. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms for 4 days. The atmosphere is very private, safe and relaxing. The pool and amazing sunset view were just what we needed after long days at the beach. The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to the grocery store, several bars/restaurants and the beach. My husband and I both tried surfing for the first time and appreciated Jim's tips-he gives lessons. Definately try surfing, the canopy zip line-tour and Mary's for mojitos and shrimp pizza. Thanks for the memorable stay!

  • Liked — beautiful ocean views, location to beach, adventurous things to do
  • Disliked — rough road conditions (SUV was great), steep rocky driveway to hotel
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa MarBella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa MarBella

Address: 125 meters east and 25 meters north of Super Ronny's, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Marbella is a boutique style hotel centrally located in Santa Teresa, across the street from the beach on a hill overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Our guests can enjoy all that Santa Teresa/Mal Pais has to offer in comfort, style and security. It is a place where visitors can hear howler monkeys while watching the immense blue Pacific with a cool drink in his hand. After relaxing, it is just a short stroll to the beach, shopping, night life, restaurants, etc. We offer ocean view rooms, suites and condominiums with A/C, kitchen, in-room safe and more. Right in front of your door you will enjoy our refreshing pool with infinity edge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Santa Teresa
Casa Marbella Hotel Santa Teresa
Casa MarBella Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa MarBella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.