We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa MarBella

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa MarBella
Save
You added Casa MarBella to your Saves list
125 meters east and 25 meters north of Super Ronny's, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

When we were looking for a place to stay during our recent trip to Costa Rica we were deciding between Montezuma and Santa Teresa. We quickly decided on Santa Teresa because of the proximity to so many awesome beaches, restaurants, and adventure activities. We then decided on staying at Casa Marbella because of it's location within Santa Teresa - it is walking distance to town and the beach. However it is secluded up on the hill slightly, so you feel like you are in your own little world.

We worked with Stephanie to set up a taxi from Tambor, which was about a 45 minute trip. Once we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by Jim and given a grand tour of the hotel. The hotel is relatively small (8 rooms), but it is beautiful! You can tell Jim and Stephanie made sure the layout and set up was done perfectly. I loved the honor fridge - you can grab water, powerade, soda, beer, or wine any time of the day and simply write down your name and room number to add it to the bill. Definitely check out Brisas del Mar for breakfast AND dinner - next door restaurant.

As soon as we got into our room, we were amazed. We did not expect the amount of space we had. The master room had ample space and a large closet area to unpack. The view from our bedroom was marvelous! The unit was clean, and beautiful. We loved sitting on the hammock enjoying our coffee every morning or reading a book in the afternoons. The front desk staff was very knowledgeable of all the things to do in the area - their favorite places to eat and activities to do. We set up everything through Casa Marbella.

If you love dogs, you will fall in love with Kona. He is Jim and Stephanie's dog that loves laying around the hotel. If he plops down at your feet rub his belly!

I HIGHLY recommend this hotel. We will definitely go back, and when we do we will stay at Casa Marbella again! Thank you to Jim and Stephanie for a great week in Santa Teresa!

Room Tip: It was just my wife and I traveling, but we heard the rooms around the pool area can get a little no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    18
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
164
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hannover
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We just loved the quiet atmosphere, the view and the spacious rooms. The waves at the nearby beach are awesome and so is the food in the restaurant right next to the hotel (baristas del mar). We will definitely come back....

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Brought our family to Santa Teresa , kids first trip . Been to costa on a budget before and wanted a better experience but still wanted the pura vida feel. Rustic costa town and the hotel is up the hill so we feel safe. The pool and deck over look the town and ocean. Quiet and clean. Pool is a life saver for us with the kids. Already trying to figure out how to come back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

If you are looking for a quiet place with a perfect view in Santa Teresa, stay here! We stayed in one of the suites with a deck that had an amazing view. I would definitely recommend one of those rooms! We loved sitting on the deck and laying in the hammock reading during mornings and sunsets.

The walk to the beach was quick, coming back it is all uphill just a heads up. The restaurant right next door we regretted not doing more than once had an amazing view and was very good!

The pool was perfect and a lot of the time we felt we were the only ones there. The rooms were clean, the kitchens were great if you want to have your own food, and there is a Super Market very close.

The owners were great and so nice! The beaches here are memorable and worth traveling to! I will be recommending this place to all of my friends and family. I hope to return and will definitely stay here!

Room Tip: Pick a Suite or Condo if you want a private deck. We had room 6 and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Everything is about perfect!!! We had a really warm welcome from a German lady. The owners were away for a family meeting 1 week.

The view is stunning, the bed is huge!

There is a really nice small boutique hotel atmosphere since there are only 8 units. So we had some nice contacts with the other guests!

Waking up, seeing the ocean, jumping in the infinity pool, hugging their cute dog, making you own breakfast in your perfectly equipped kitchen... It is just super!!!

The location is 3 min walk from
The main road with all the bars, shops, atms and restaurants. But because it is up in the hill, it is quiet and clean (dusty roads!)

The large conods thats sleep 6 are amazing!!! 3 good sized bedrooms and 2 bathroom, a huge living with open kitchen and the view from the private terrace....

Look no further, this is where you want to stay!!!!!

We hope to be back one day!!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I almost don't want to write a review, because we want to keep this place to ourselves - but the the owners are such wonderful people that I just want so much success for their dream business.

I don't even know if I have enough words to say how awesome this place is. I booked Casa Marbella for a group of 17 friends, which is quite a lot to handle for a hotel of any size, but Stephanie and Jim were absolutely wonderful and beyond accommodating to us and Casa Marbella truly felt like our own home. If only my every day life could be like our life at Casa MarBella -- We used the yoga room a few times for our own yoga sessions, the hammocks by our rooms were perfect for lazing around in the morning while the early birds went to surf, Jim is the most concise surf instructor ever, their daughter Naia is the raddest kid alive, and the beach is a short walk that even though the walk back was a steep hike, we went several times a day.

Brisas del Mar, the restaurant connected to the hotel serves the most amazing dinners around and is quite convenient for breakfast. We took a cab at night to downtown Santa Teresa to go dancing and had the best time ever. Sunsets from the hotel are absolutely magical. I truly did not want to leave this place.

Thank you Casa MarBella for the most magical time.

Room Tip: BOOK EARLY! Also if you book the condo - the very top room with the twin beds have the best view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

This small boutique hotel is in a perfect location. It's in town but nestled in the mountain to have an amazing view of the ocean and far enough away from the noise of the main road. The owners, Jim and Stephanie, are amazing hosts and will help you have a wonderful visit. The rooms are simple, comfortable, with amazing bathrooms and all have a view and easy access to the beautiful infinity pool and sun deck. There is a beautiful yoga deck with mats to borrow as well. This is a perfect place for couples! My boyfriend and I loved it and hope to return soon!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa MarBella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa MarBella

Address: 125 meters east and 25 meters north of Super Ronny's, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Marbella is a boutique style hotel centrally located in Santa Teresa, across the street from the beach on a hill overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Our guests can enjoy all that Santa Teresa/Mal Pais has to offer in comfort, style and security. It is a place where visitors can hear howler monkeys while watching the immense blue Pacific with a cool drink in his hand. After relaxing, it is just a short stroll to the beach, shopping, night life, restaurants, etc. We offer ocean view rooms, suites and condominiums with A/C, kitchen, in-room safe and more. Right in front of your door you will enjoy our refreshing pool with infinity edge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Santa Teresa
Casa Marbella Hotel Santa Teresa
Casa MarBella Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa MarBella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.