We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most probably the best place around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa MarBella

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa MarBella
125 meters east and 25 meters north of Super Ronny's, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Most probably the best place around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed in a double room with a kitchenette for two weeks during Christmas & New Year's and had a wonderful time. The building itself is beautiful and the view from the pool and the sun deck is just amazing. I'm really glad we chose this place and none of the other options closer to the sometimes noisy and dusty main road through Santa Teresa. The hotel's location on top of a little hill is just perfect.

We spent most of our days surfing (renting equipment from the hotel - surf lessons with Jim can also be recommended), relaxing, reading books, eating great food and just enjoying the good life. Jim, Stephanie and the rest of the staff are really helpful and arranged everything we needed. A day trip to Curu National Wildlife Refuge with a guide is a great tip if you want to learn and see more of the flora and fauna of the area.

The hotel doesn't have a restaurant of its own, but with Santa Teresa's best food just next door (Brisas del Mar) you don't need to worry about that. There's also a lot of other great restaurants nearby and a few supermarkets where you can get what you need if you want to fix your own breakfast or other meals.

Definitely longing back to this place!

Room Tip: Brisas del Mar and some of the other restaurants get busy during high season so you might need to bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    273
    14
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
153
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband is from Costa Rica so we go at least once a year to visit his family. We always take a few days to go the beach, and by now we've seen MANY in Costa Rica. There's often a little bit of a trade-off: more developed areas have more comfortable accommodation but are overcrowded, and more remote/ less traveled beaches sometimes lack interesting accommodation options (or, the more interesting ones are very pricey). I'll be lobbying my husband so that now we always come back to Santa Teresa and Casa Marbella, whenever we have the time to drive out there from San José. Time to stop trying new beaches! Casa Marbella strikes the perfect balance: comfortable, pleasant and clean accommodation yet a little bit off the beaten path. The Inn is not too big, so it remains quiet but with enough open spaces to meet with people who might be staying in other rooms. We were there with friends last April, and we were occupying one suite and two regular rooms, so it was nice to be able to relax and hang out by the pool as a small group.

Stephanie and Jim were very nice and helpful, and had good recommendations for the area. All their staff was also extremely nice. The restaurant next door, Brisas del Mar, is definitely worth it. The breakfast deal they have with Casa Marbella is the way to go. The yoga deck is an incredible feature and for me that meant bonus points. The beautiful pool offers a very welcome break from the sun (which was scorching while were were there at the very end of the dry season). Wifi is a little spotty, but what do you want - you have to drive on dirt roads for two + hours to get to Santa Teresa so I don't think too much should be expected on that front. Also, no one should be spending time on the internet while in this beautiful location!

The beach is just a five minutes walk away, but if you have a car I would recommend that you use it to try other spots a bit outside of Santa Teresa. But no matter where you go, it's among the most beautiful beaches of Costa Rica.

In summary, I was reluctant to write this review only because part of me feels like I need to jealously protect the "secret" catch of a hotel that Casa Marbella is, so that it's there for us when we go in the future! Although judging by the other reviews, it's pretty clear now that the word is out!

Room Tip: The suites, which have two bedrooms, have the extra perk of having private balconies, complete with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Perfect place for a romantic surfing get-away!!! Awesome location, epic views, home atmosphere with fantastic and very helpful owners/stuff. Also, very clean rooms with well equipped kitchenette. We would recommend renting the suite over the regular rooms. The suites have balconies and more privacy. Rooms are a little dark. The hotel has also gorgeous yoga-deck and surfboard rental on site (pretty good board selection). If you're lucky you may spot a couple monkeys from the yoga deck. Breakfast can be purchased at a restaurant next door for 5$. The restaurant is beautiful. Beach is about 5 minutes walk. Playa del Carmen, about 10 minutes walk. If it gets rocky at Playa del Carmen check out the gorgeus beach break at Playa Hermosa (15 minutes drive). Thank you Stephanie & Jim for the fantastic vacation!!!!!!

Room Tip: We would recommend renting the suite over the regular rooms. The suites have balconies and more priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Casa Marbella was beautiful, and everything we were looking for in our stay at Santa Teresa. There are very few units and it is up off the road a little bit which makes it less dusty and has a great view. The place was full and we still felt like we were in at a private pool and deck when were had our coffee in the morning and drinks at night. The room was simple, but beautiful and had AC and a minifridge, as well as a safe. There is a guard at night and felt very safe. Jim rented us surfboards and we had the option of changing boards each day as the swell changed. It was very nice to be able to add little things like sunscreen and beers or pop to your final bill and pay at the end if you didn't feel like going to the store. You can just wander over the the fridge and sign out a beer or have some delicous free coffee. Excellent location, can't say enough good things.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was our last stop in Central America and we decided to splurge. So happy we did. The hotel is gorgeous, the owners are amazing and the view is spectacular. We spent the days swimming in the pool and lounging in the shade. The honour system for drinks was appreciated. The Hotel is on a hill and although the store is not far, it's a hike getting back up. Also loved that we cold rent surfboards right on site as well as atv's which you need in this town. Loved the list of restaurants that they had in he room. Noticed in our last night that there was no tv in the room, but we didn't miss it. We were in a queen/single room with just a fridge, but to complimentary coffee was a nice touch. This is one hotel that I would go back to any time. Loved the intimate feel with the guests hanging around drinking wine in the pool before dinner. The wifi is a little sketchy in the rooms, but that is because its a concrete building and they are in the process of trying to get it working better. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We recently stayed for 5 nights and had an amazing time. We originally had a regular room which was great. A comfortable king bed, fully equipped mini kitchen and beautiful bathroom. Loved the stone shower. We chose to upgrade to the two bedroom suite for our last two nights mainly to get a private balcony so we could have a place to hang out any time of morning or night. The suite was just as beautiful and perfect for one or two couples. The hotel is clean, always maintained and some nice touches. You can rent quads right from the doorstep which is nice. There is always coffee made and an onour bar when you're thirsty. We also got the honeymoon package and thanks to Jim, we both had a successful surf lesson and our massage therapists were amazing! Highly recommend staying here. One thing to note is that if you are in the regular rooms, the pool area is right outside of your room meaning you can't really keep your curtains open to enjoy the view when you want privacy.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I were travelling with friends and stayed in the condo suite at Casa Marbella. The space was gorgeous and perfect for 2-3 couples or a family. The balcony overlooking the ocean was our favorite place to sit and have coffee in the morning and cocktails at night and the infinity pool was a great place to cool off and look at the monkeys, iguanas, and exotic birds that hang out in the trees. The yoga deck was a great place for self practice or to just sit, relax, and take in the gorgeous view. Jim, Stephanie, and their staff were so helpful when we wanted to go on some adventures-they arranged for ATV's to be delivered to the hotel and even gave us a little driving lesson! They also helped our friends make plans for the rest of their trip-arranging travel and hotel accommodations in a completely different part of the country. Casa Marbella is a gem!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa MarBella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa MarBella

Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Santa Teresa
Casa Marbella Hotel Santa Teresa
Casa MarBella Costa Rica/Santa Teresa
Address: 125 meters east and 25 meters north of Super Ronny's, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Marbella is a boutique style hotel centrally located in Santa Teresa, across the street from the beach on a hill overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Our guests can enjoy all that Santa Teresa/Mal Pais has to offer in comfort, style and security. It is a place where visitors can hear howler monkeys while watching the immense blue Pacific with a cool drink in his hand. After relaxing, it is just a short stroll to the beach, shopping, night life, restaurants, etc. We offer ocean view rooms, suites and condominiums with A/C, kitchen, in-room safe and more. Right in front of your door you will enjoy our refreshing pool with infinity edge. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa MarBella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Casa MarBella to your Saves list