We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night not enough!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa MarBella

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa MarBella
Save Saved
You added Casa MarBella to your Saves list
125 meters east and 25 meters north of Super Ronny's, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
Newbury Park
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“One night not enough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Took a one day trip up to Santa Teresa & got lucky to stay in this beautiful hotel!! So clean & wonderful!! Beautiful views, away from the dust, safe, & a friendly awesome welcome by staff! I would totally only recommend staying at this hotel!!

Room Tip: stayed in 2 bedroom loft with 2 baths! perfect for 2 families or large family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    290
    17
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
161
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My friend and I stayed here 3/15-3/21. I will start by saying this- I don't like Santa Teresa as a whole (which is why this is 4-star vs. 5-star) - overrated as a travel destination in Costa Rica IMHO. However, this hotel is lovely and made even lovelier by their welcoming staff - Jim and Stephanie (owners) are beyond helpful and that alone is worth staying here - we found Santa Teresa in general to be full of rude people (with attitude) so we were glad for the staff here. Their hotel is well-kept, clean, reasonable and has a variety of rooms to cater to families, friends traveling together, and couples. We loved the infinity pool and energy from the other guests. The restaurant next door, Brisas del Mar, is by far one of the best in town (seafood and views are highlight). Note that this location is at Playa Carmen vs. Playa Santa Teresa, which is a 20 minute walk on a dustry/high-traffic road or on the beach (nicer walk obviously but by no means walkable at night), - luckily there are several great restaurants right by Casa Marbella. I would recommend taking a cab to Koji Sushi in Playa Hermosa- best sushi I've ever had.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed like they're great options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I are from the outskirts of New Orleans and we stayed here 6 or 7 nights in late Feb-early May. It was our first time to this part of Costa Rica and we loved it. This hotel is unique, well maintained, tastefully decorated and exceeded our expectations. The entire staff and owners are friendly people who make you feel welcome and comfortable. Everyone is eager to help if you happen to need anything. It has amazing views, is centrally located to the town, and offers access to a great restaurant(also nice people). If you are wondering if you should stay here....you should. I hope to return soon. Thanks for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: standard room was fine for us, but if you plan on staying in your room...upgrade to balcony for grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, ny
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My second effort to get a review posted! Come on tripadvisor!!

We enjoyed our five night stay in suite #1. The deck provides a lovely view of sunsets as does the pool. The pool itself is a cool respite from the heat with enough room to do some paddling around. The suite's kitchen is big and has all one would need to prepare meals.

Best of all is the hospitality offered by Jim. He is a top-notch manager with skills to take care of any problem.

One suggestion is to provide shampoo or at least to sell it.

Room Tip: If you go for a suite ask for #6. It is better located than #1 in that it is not next to the parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

It's beautiful, run by a very welcoming American couple and stunningly located on a hillside. The rooms are spacious and nicely designed. There is an infinity pool to cool down and the end of the day and one of the best restaurants in Santa Teresa right next door. What more do you want?
Unfortunately we did not book long enough in advance and could therefore only stay for one night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Three of my sisters, my young daughter and I stayed at Casa Marbella for 4 wonderful nights/days. Set on a hillside above Sta Teresa, it was an oasis from a town bustling with surfers and full of dust during the dry season.
The infinity pool was just what the doctor ordered after being out and about all day and was such a great spot to socialize with the others staying in this boutique hotel. With just 8 rooms (we had 2 of them), we quickly made friends with others at the pool swimming or watching the glorious sunset (or while marveling at the fact a howler monkey had taken up temporary residence in the trees on the property).

Jim and Stephanie were so helpful and their daughter Naia provided a great playmate for my daughter.

Drinks on the honor system and free, delicious Costa Rican coffee were some of the perks of this wonderful hotel.

Would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We loved the room with 2 bedrooms and a wee kitchen. Fridge was great to house cold beverages and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We are a New York family of five (three teenage kids), and we stayed at Casa Marbella from February 16-23, 2013. We arrived around lunchtime on a Saturday, and were greeted by Amaline (spelling?), our wonderful Austrian concierge, who walked us through the beautiful hotel property nestled in the hills less than 0.5 km above the main drag in Santa Theresa. The hotel was built by the New Smyrna, Florida-native husband and wife team, Jim and Stephanie, back around 2006, and every inch of it is a Zen-inspired gem of design, comfort and beauty. The ocean views from every window are breath-taking, and the blue-tiled infinity pool set in the center court-yard was absolutely blissful. We stayed in the front villa (#8), which is a duplex suite with a large balcony, full kitchen, a master bedroom and one guest room with a full-size bed with a shared bathroom on the first floor, and another bedroom with twin beds, and another full bathroom on the second floor. The balcony was equipped with adirondack chairs, a full dining table which sat 6 easily, and a hammock. We had three "pet" iguanas who came to visit the roof below our balcony every day for fruit scraps, which made our kids laugh. Much of the furniture and the fixtures were designed by the owners using local materials. Stephanie is a certified Vinyasa flow Yoga instructor, and you can see her goal to create a calm sense of oneness with the surrounding, natural environment is present in every detail. The hotel provides arrangements for every activity you could dream of participating in, and we took advantage of a wonderful private Yoga session with Stephanie right on the hotel's gorgeous yoga deck, and a private surf lesson with Jim (who's been surfing for almost 30 years, and was - gratefully - very patient with us newbies). Our friendly hosts also arranged excursions to nearby destinations for zip-lining, horseback riding, and deep sea fishing. They also set up our day-trip to snorkle near Tortuga Island. The hotel is right in the middle of town, so you really don't even need a car if you want to veg out by the pool, walk to restaurants and the Playa Santa Theresa or Carmen surf sites. However, many people rent ATVs (which we did for one day) to get around. Tip: if you go by ATV or motorcycle, expect to wear goggles and surgical masks - the unpaved roads are very dusty. I can't say enough great things about the hotel, it's owners, or the location in Santa Theresa. We had the trip of a lifetime, and having seen the other lodgings around the town, we absolutly know we picked the best place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa MarBella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa MarBella

Address: 125 meters east and 25 meters north of Super Ronny's, Santa Teresa 5361, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Marbella is a boutique style hotel centrally located in Santa Teresa, across the street from the beach on a hill overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Our guests can enjoy all that Santa Teresa/Mal Pais has to offer in comfort, style and security. It is a place where visitors can hear howler monkeys while watching the immense blue Pacific with a cool drink in his hand. After relaxing, it is just a short stroll to the beach, shopping, night life, restaurants, etc. We offer ocean view rooms, suites and condominiums with A/C, kitchen, in-room safe and more. Right in front of your door you will enjoy our refreshing pool with infinity edge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Marbella Santa Teresa
Casa Marbella Hotel Santa Teresa
Casa MarBella Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa MarBella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.