We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxed family vacation spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Hermosas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas Hermosas
Save
You added Villas Hermosas to your Saves list
400 mts sur de la escuela Hermosa Valley | San Martin de Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxed family vacation spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

Just got back from 5 nights at VH with my wife and two kids (5, 6). VH is perfect for families who want a private, fully-equipped house to live in, want a fun place for the family to play and hang out, want to be close to nature, but don't need all the frills (room service, bar, restaurant, fitness center, mainly) of a full-service hotel. The villas (there are 3 two-bedroom villas and 1 one-bedroom) are beautiful. Very modern with all the conveniences you need (except washer/dryer, but you can have laundry done for a small fee). They are large enough that a family of 6 could easily stay there.

The atmosphere is very relaxed, low-key, family-oriented. It starts with breakfast in the Rancho, where Brad, Tara, and their kids will usually join the other guests. A great time to plan your day, ask Brad and Tara questions, meet other guests, etc.

The pool is perfect for kids to play in. It's not huge, so don't plan to swim laps, but very nice, clean, refreshing. You can float in the pool and watch the monkeys and iguanas playing overhead.

The beach is about 100 yards away, and depending on what you want to do on the beach, you might have to walk 100 to 200 yards down the beach (for example, if you want to swim at high tide, you need to walk away from where the rocks are). The beach is beautiful, water warm, exactly what you'd expect.

What makes VH unique is Brad and Tara's involvement with their guests. It feels much more like a bed & breakfast than a hotel. Whatever you need, Brad and Tara will help you get it. The hotel doesn't have a spa, but if you want a massage, they will arrange for someone to come in for you. If you need surf lessons, they will arrange it. You get the idea. The night we arrived, it was pouring rain and my kids could not handle going back out for dinner. The restaurants wouldn't deliver in the rain, so Brad went out and picked up our food for us. Pretty amazing. Another day, we wanted to go horseback riding, but couldn't raise the place on the phone to book, so Brad drove over there (30 minutes) to find out if they had availability that afternoon. Brad and Tara go above and beyond.

If you are looking for a "resort", where you get waited on, can order room service, etc., then this probably isn't the place for you. But there is daily maid service, fresh towels, etc., so it's a lot better than renting a house where you have to keep it clean all week. There is no restaurant, so you are on your own for lunch and dinner. For us, that was great, because we wanted to try restaurants in the area, and we stocked our kitchen with snacks for the kids. The grocery store is about 5 minutes away. That said, there probably isn't a place for you anywhere in the Santa Teresa/Mal Pais area, so VH is the next best option.

The grounds are beautiful. Monkeys, iguanas, and other wildlife abound. We were very happy spending chunks of days just lounging by the pool. Most of the time, you will feel like you have the whole place to yourself.

You need your own set of wheels to properly experience this part of CR. That means either renting a car or a four-wheeler. The latter option would be ideal for adults, but not for kids. The roads in this part of CR can be challenging, but it made it all the more fun for us.

My family would go back in a minute.

For more information about this hotel or the area (or about The Springs hotel near Arenal), feel free to contact me.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
90
126
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

Ann and John from Canada...
We been visiting CR since the late 80's. We have stayed in all the best beach towns along the Pacific coast -- but as more of these towns have become built up (condos, big chain hotels) we have moved on to the less heavily developed locales.

Santa Teresa has been our getaway from the urban noise for the last 6 years. This time we switched our accommodation to Villas Hermosas and we loved it. The villas are spacious and clean. The property is peacefully perched on a beautiful sweep of unbroken beach.
Owners/operators Brad and Tara are terrific hosts. Friendly, informative and welcoming.
The morning breakfast is delicious and the staff very polite.
If you are visiting this region of CR, a car is always recommended. It is very easy and quick to get into 'town' and coming back to the Villas is like returning to your own personal retreat.
When you hear great things about Costa Rica, this small and lovely hotel represents the very best in in its price range. Whether you want to stick close to your villa, walk on the beach and read books, or go surfing, sight seeing and hang out in the local cafes, Villas Hermosas is the perfect location to do it from. It is a gem.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

Wow! What a delightful place for a vacation. Our family has diverse desires for vacation activities and this location was a perfect combination for the very active sport enthusiasts and those desiring the quiet relaxation. The food….well how can I say it was an exceptional choice of simple local choices and exotic flavor combinations from a local chef. Tara and Brad are always on top of obtaining reservations, providing suggestions and the most charming of hosts. Villas Hermosas will be on our list to return… Thanks for a fantastic taste of Costa Rica!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

My friends and I just returned from a 6 night vacation at Villas Hermosas and we were more than impressed. Brad and Tara were extremely helpful before we even arrived. Tara responded promptly to my numerous emails, answering all of my questions and sharing helpful advice. When we did arrive, It was obvious to me how enthusiastic Brad and Tara were about making sure every guest experienced their perfect vacation. They provided recommendations to the best restraunts, bars and spas, they took us on an exciting ATV tour through the beautiful Cosa Rican country side, they set up our zip line tour in Montezuma, they directed us to the wildlife refuge 'Rainsong', and they followed up with us after each activity to hear about how the day was.

The Resort itself is spectacular; It is tucked away between a quiet beach and a lush rainforest. The Villas are a short 10 min drive from the town Santa Teresa where you will find local grocery stores, surf shops, great restraunts, bars and coffee shops. The beautiful villas are spacious and comfortable; I was very impressed with the large glass and tile showers! Every morning the guests gather at the Rancho, next to the pool, and eat a home made breakfast. Thank you Kristie for the delicious breakfasts each morning, i miss those!

I would highly recommend Villas Hermosas for a wonderful Costa Rican vacation! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Rent a car to help you get around to the grocery stores, restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Villas Hermosas for 9 days for our honeymoon in July. We loved it! We really enjoyed spending time with the other guests during the breakfast in the rancho every morning, but still had lots of privacy. Brad and Tara (the owners) were awesome and did anything we asked to make our visit even better (ordered us pizza, checked into an odd charge on our credit card from a local business, took my husband on an ATV tour, recommended great restaurants, etc.) It was such a relaxing week! We'd definitely go back!

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

Our family ( two adults, two teen-agers) spent some 10 days at Villas Hermosa and loved it. The setting of the villas is beautiful with a nice pool and nearby beach. Tara arranged numerous activities for us, eg, surfing lessons, fishing, Zip-lining through the jungle, and a really interesting ATV trip to remote villages and beaches. The ATV trip was led by Brad who really knows the area and was a great guide. There were also nearby yoga classes that my wife attended and raved about ($10 per session!). All in all, unbeatable value in a unique location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Hermosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Hermosas

Address: 400 mts sur de la escuela Hermosa Valley | San Martin de Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinctive beachfront hotel, Villas Hermosas, is located in Playa Hermosa of Mal Pais on the Pacific Ocean in Costa Rica. Please come and share with them their playful surf, thriving jungle, empty beaches, tropical gardens, and inviting swimming pool, while enjoying all the comforts of home! With only four villas, they offer a uniquely intimate experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas Hermosas Hotel Santa Teresa
Hermosas Hotel Santa Teresa
Villas Hermosas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Hermosas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.