We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our New Favorite Place in Costa Rica!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Hermosas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas Hermosas
Save Saved
You added Villas Hermosas to your Saves list
400 mts sur de la escuela Hermosa Valley | San Martin de Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
long beach,ny
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our New Favorite Place in Costa Rica!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

Villas Hermosas is our new favorite place in Costa Rica and we have been traveling to Costa Rica for ten years. We have been home for a month and we still miss Villa Hermosas!! We just recently stayed at the Villas Hermosa in March for 8 nights with another couple ( the "Paradise Found" couple) and we had the most amazing vacation!!!! Brad and Tara are the most wonderful owners and from the moment that we met them, we felt like we were staying with friends and we knew that we were in for an awesome vacation!! Tara was truly the hostess with the mostess!! She sat down with us every morning and we would plan our upcoming activities and she would book them for us and she would also make reservations for us for dinner
Tara knows everyone and she was able to reserve Torsten, the 5 star private chef for us and he created the most delicious 4 course dinner for us and we highly recommend it!!, And, she also made us a reservation for the Lobster night with Damien which was also a treat and please try the oysters too!! They were so fresh!. Our favorite day trip was to the Curu Wild life refuge and Isla Tortuga (snorkeling) and we didn't get a chance to go on the ATV tour along the beach but we heard that it was a blast!! We also loved snorkeling at the tide pool in front of the hotel and you can borrow snorkel gear from Brad and Tara.
The family villa that we stayed in was just beautiful, immaculate, cozy, modern, safe, and well air conditioned. There was a great hammock on one of the two porches and there were humming birds,iguanas, parrots, howler monkeys and white faced monkeys in the beautiful trees just steps from our porch. I love anlmals so I was just delighted to see them everyday!! There was also a very cool surfboard rack in our living room and when my husband saw that he was stoked!! He went surfing everyday on the beautiful beach right in front of the hotel ( which was never crowded!! ) and Brad who is an expert surfer, has the all the beaches wired. Just ask Brad where and when to go surfing. He knows everything and next time we will not bring our own surfboards. We will just call Brad and ask him to rent us some boards and we know that he will hook us up.
Mal Pais/Saint Theresa is a very cool town. The roads getting there are a little bumpy and narrow but that is all part of the fun of being in Costa Rica!! Villas Hermosas is just outside of town which is great because the town is very busy, and it looks like Tamarindo 10 years ago. We would go into town almost every night for dinner, except when we caught fresh fish and in that case we would grill our fish in the Rancho and hang out with the other very friendly guests. The food in town was great ( the green awning restaurant across from the Hostel had the best Casado ) and Brad and Tara's restaurant guide was very helpful and accurate and I'm still trying to figure out the recipe for that delicious chimichurri sauce at Las Piedras. We also felt very safe at night because they have a security gaurd that carefully protects the hotel all night and more importantly, Samsona ( their beautiful, friendly and mellow Rotti) also protects the guests all night. Furthermore, Villas Hermosas was always so quiet and peaceful at night and we would sit in the lounge chairs and gaze at the beautiful stars and constellations. We would also enjoy some ice cold beers, chips and Ticos from the "Honor System" Fridge in the Rancho and the last night we just didn't want to leave our new found Paradise.
Thank you very much Brad, Tara and Samsona!! We had a wonderful time and we are looking forward to more bonfires on the beach at sunset!!! Pura Vida!!
Sincerely,
Brian and Jenny
Long Beach,NY

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
89
123
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

Wow, this is a true gem! Brad and Tara (and Aunt Judi if you’re lucky enough to have her there) will make you feel like long lost family.
We were greeted by Brad’s huge smile when we arrived as he helped carry our luggage to our villa. We were perfectly prepared by Tara’s thoughtful advice on what to bring, activities suited for us, vehicle choices (take the ATV!), and perhaps most important: take the puddle jumper from San Jose (save the 4-5 drive which will most likely be in the dark on unpaved roads – the drive was the only complaint we ever heard from guests). Brad and Tara work with first rate individuals and all the activities we participated in were of an outstanding nature due to the character of the owners. We participated in a zipline tour, local fishing, surfing and many random adventure rides on the ATV. Some great rides were recommended by the activity folks but we have to tell you: if Brad offers to take you on an ATV tour – jump on it!! Brad will escort you on an epic adventure to some incredible out of the way places. We were treated to a beachfront café where the owner swam out to get fresh shrimp off the closest fishing boat while we relaxed in hammocks with cold cervezas. Say no more!
Brad and Tara didn’t just take care of us; they take great care of their staff and the environment. And what an environment they live in! We were there at the end of dry season and it was breathtaking; even though the wet season is supposedly better (and not so much dust!). The beach at their place will leave you pining, especially at low tide. Wide swaths of undulating white velvety sand with perfectly cascading waves. And everyone makes the pilgrimage to the beach at sunset for “sunset TV” – family, guests, locals and animals. These images will be tattooed to the inside of your eyelids at the end of your day. We have not had a vacation like this in either of our lifetimes. We miss you Brad, Tara, Monica, Jeremy, staff, and of course Aunt Judi; thanks for making Villas Hermosas our home away from home. We hope to see you again soon.
Mi casa es su casa

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

My now fiance (who proposed to me at sunset on the endless, pristine beach feet away from the resort) and I traveled with friends of ours to Villas Hermosas where we relaxed and played for 7 days. After a long and bumpy road, we arrived, at night so we were not able to see the beautiful surrondings that awaited us. Brad, who is the second half of the owners, was waiting for us and with a gregarious and open smile, grabbed our luggage and carried it to our villa. We were exhausted.
What a comfort to have our friends greet us at the door with a glass of wine in hand coupled with the warm surroundings of our villa.
When we awoke to the sounds of birds chirping and howler monkeys calling we poured a cup of coffe and relaxed outside on our porch and soaked up the beautiful surrondings of Villas Hermosas. It was simultaneous, the humming birds flitted from flower to flower, the bright green parrots tawnted each other from tree to tree as we walked the serene path towards the beach. We shared the beach with no one else but a few pelicans surfing the waves, we felt like we were beginning the journey of our own Robinson Coruso Tale.
Shortly after we received the first of our complimentary breakfasts which was served every morning with fresh fruits, gallo pinto, eggs and baked goods of the day. We were always served with a smile. Our days were filled with surfing, fishing, snorkeling and jungle adventures all arranged by Tara, the second half of the owners. Tara, greeted us every morning with positive energy and informative ideas on how to spend our day. On a number of evenings we were able to take advantage of the "rancho" and barbeque that was available for use by all the guests. We cooked the fish we caught for dinner and got to know the friendly guests who shared the resort with us. On the hot afternoons we lounged in the pool, and listened to the peaceful sounds of the wild jungle surrounding us with a babbeling waterfall behind us.
If you're looking for a friendly, laid back, family oriented atmosphere, that's also great for couples, this is a wonderful place to experience amidst Costa Rica's wildnerness-paradise. The next review you read will be after our wedding at Villas Hermosas. We love you Brad and Tara!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

Villa Hermosas is an outstanding place. Brad and Tara are helpful and energetic hosts. The staff is excellent. The beaches for surfing, snorkeling, body surfing, or boogie boarding are a short, pleasant walk from the villa. It was truly a relaxing and enjoyable experience.
Dave & MK - Alaska

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TENNESSEE
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

Villas Hermosas is a wonderful resort to visit. From the time i got there i felt that i was visiting old friends.Everyone there just made you feel at home.The staff was professional, courteous and was always smiling.The villa we relaxed in was spacious,clean and very secure.The kitchen had everything you needed and the hammocks on the porches were nice to nap in.The rancho was a great place to read or surf the web on my laptop and take a break from the sun and the breakfast that was served every morning was very tasty and so convenient.
The sunsets were the best part of my trip. When the sun was almost down, we all would gather on the beach and discuss the day of activities we enjoyed and Brad and Tara would give us advice on witch restaurants to try for that evening.
Overall i had a fabulous vacation at Villas Hermosas. While i was there we surfed,went on a canopy tour(ziplines),rented ATV's,had a yoga class and snorkled and had some great food at the local restaurants. I am looking forward to my next visit there.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

I have been home for less than a week, & I already miss Tara & Brad & the kids. You know you had a good vacation when the people are as memorable as the place you went. The entire staff is terrific!

Villas Hermosas is beautiful. We did not stay in it, but the Honeymoon Suite is gorgeous! Next time, we must do that. Instead, we stayed in one of the 2 bedroom villas, as we were traveling with friends. The villas are so well designed that you will feel at home right away. The bathrooms are beautiful & spacious, the beds are comfortable, & the kitchen is ready for cooking. The "rancho" is the common area out by the pool where breakfast is served each morning, but you quickly realize that it is much more than that. It is the heart of Villas Hermosas. It is where people eat, socialize, read, sunbathe, & generally have a good time.

One last thing I must mention is the beach, Playa Hermosa. Every night of our week long stay (& I do mean EVERY night!) we would go out to the beach with Tara & Brad to watch "Sunset TV." I have never enjoyed a sunset more than on Playa Hermosa.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

My wife and I visited Villas Hermosas close to this time last year - staying in the Honeymoon Suite. We loved our experience there so much that once we came back and raved about our trip to our friends. The obvious happened...we all had to come back together.

This year we booked two villas and once again our expectations where not only met, but exceeded. We filled our time with many more excursions and experiences than last time and we all had the time of our lives. It really went to show my wife and I how versatile not only the hotel but the area can be. We surfed, Ziplined and had an amazing ATV tour (my favourite).

Additionally, Brad and Tara were once again fantastic. They booked the above mentioned activities, were fantastic hosts and once again recommend new restaurants (which were outstanding). To that point, the Costa Rican guide books talk about not expecting much with regards to good food - i disagree. Talk to the locals.

This trip has now become a yearly event with my family and friends. Obviously, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Hermosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Hermosas

Address: 400 mts sur de la escuela Hermosa Valley | San Martin de Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinctive beachfront hotel, Villas Hermosas, is located in Playa Hermosa of Mal Pais on the Pacific Ocean in Costa Rica. Please come and share with them their playful surf, thriving jungle, empty beaches, tropical gardens, and inviting swimming pool, while enjoying all the comforts of home! With only four villas, they offer a uniquely intimate experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas Hermosas Hotel Santa Teresa
Hermosas Hotel Santa Teresa
Villas Hermosas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Hermosas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.