We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Hermosas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas Hermosas
Save
You added Villas Hermosas to your Saves list
400 mts sur de la escuela Hermosa Valley | San Martin de Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best vacation ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Our family stayed at villas hermosas to celebrate my dads 61st birthday. We booked 3 of the 4 villas. My dad stayed in the honeymoon villa overlooking the ocean. My sister and her husband stayed in a poolside villa and my family of 5 stayed in another poolside villa. The villas are comfortable and have air conditioning (yay!). We loved waking up every morning and enjoying the freshly prepared breakfast. The breakfast breads were warm from the oven- so good!

We took advantage of Brads ATV tour. If you love off road fun, then you have got to do his tour! Our family also made the 45 minute drive to hike the waterfall in montezuma. Very beautiful, but a bit strenuous for my dad.
The kids (ages 11, 10 and 7) loved adventuring in the shallow river on Villa Hermosas property that leads to the ocean. They also loved swimming in the communal pool. Jumping from the pool waterfall may be their favorite memory!

We enjoyed two delicious chef prepared dinners served in the pool cabana. We also grilled our own dinner poolside one night.

Santa Teresa is a relaxed surf village with a dirt road running through the center of town. Our family enjoyed some of the best sushi ever at Kojis, which is walking distance from the villas. We also loved hanging out watching the World Cup at the local bar Nativo- and yes we took the kids and they loved it!

We loved every minute of our vacation. Brad and Tara are the perfect hosts, they are always there if needed. They gave spot on honest advice about activities. We all loved going on long beach walks with the resident dogs and our kids loved playing with Brad and Tara's kids.

Villas Hermosas is perfect for large family gatherings and romantic getaways. We will go back with or without the kids. So fun!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
91
126
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Some friends and I took over this place for five days and had a blast. It's on the beach, close to town (several delicious restaurants nearby), and serves as a great base for nature excursions. The villas are big, beds are comfortable, showers are spacious, and the pool is open 24/7. Some suggestions: hire a private chef one night and eat under the palapa, rent ATVs another day to explore, and hang with the owners (Brad and Tara) for sunset drinks. Pura vida!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We just rented 2 villas for close to a week. Here's how I'd characterize Villas Hermosas: It's like going to your cool friend's awesome Costa Rica beach compound and getting pampered with friendly and genuine service by people who are "real" folks who genuinely love what they do.

Several observations:
- The pictures don't do justice to Villas Hermosas. The grounds and the beach are more beautiful than the website pictures
- Brad and Tara (and their entire staff) are the "real deal." You've heard a lot about the service in the other reviews and it's all true. They' re genuinely service oriented ... from the morning breakfast to helping to arrange various activities
- While it's not easy getting here, it's awesome once you do get here. The beach is beautiful. The little town is like an old-school-surf-town meets new-wave-foodie-town. Lots of surf shops. Lots of restaurants. Laid back atmosphere.
- Brad's ATV tour is a must-do
- Surfing (Tara arranged surfing through Shaka surf camp) is a blast ... and caters to both beginners and advanced surfers
- As far as the nearby restaurants, we found the restaurant at Pranamar to be average ... but the restaurant at Florblanca to be excellent. Some of the other nearby restaurants were closed due to seasonality

We'd highly recommend Villas Hermosas and look forward to going back soon.

Room Tip: The 3 poolside villas are all the same. They're big and easily accommodate a family of 4. We n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed a Villas Hermosas for a week for our Honeymoon and we can't wait to get back! Brad & Tara were amazing hosts and the location is perfectly situated just feed from the beach. Only several miles from Santa Teresa; there are amazing restaurants, cool shops and beautiful beaches. Brad and Tara were always available to call us a cab, help us organize surf lessons (which I would highly recommend); rent us a quad to take around Santa Teresa, or help with anything else we needed. There is also breakfast daily, located outside by the wet-bar, located next to their pool. There is always fresh fruit, juice, coffee and custom made omelettes

The summarize, this location is perfect for those who want to get a nice blend of an authentic Costa Rican experience, combined with beach living. Would highly recommend to honeymoon couples and families alike. There was a family staying the same week as us and seemed to be having as good of a time as we do. Brad and Tara also have a great collection of movies and books for late nights and reading on the beach. Take a trip to Villas Hermosas, you will not regret it!

Room Tip: One of the Honeymoon Villas is located literally on the beach (and its huge). The larger villas (lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Absolutely loved this place! If you're looking for a get-away from the bustle of tourism and everyday life...this is the place for you! The villas were spacious and clean with fans and AC in every room. The beach was expansive (nearly a mile) and nearly deserted with smooth sand, warm water and easy surf and swim. Brad and Tara were eager to make our stay as pleasant as possible and accommodated us in every way they could. We needed to leave by 8 am for our next destination. Breakfast is usually served between 8 and 10 am but they had our breakfast which was included in our stay ready by 7:30 am. Breakfast included tipico (rice and beans), made to order eggs, homemade sweet breads and fresh tropical fruit. The ATV rentals which Tara arranged for us was a hit with our teenage boys and girls. We were able to thoroughly explore the area and riding on the beach was an incredible experience. There were multiple dining choices within walking distance from the hotel. Go...discover and enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I took a chance picking Santa Teresa as no one I knew had been to this part of Costa Rica. I wanted something quiet, laid back, and off the beaten path. This is exactly what I got, and more. I was not prepared for how beautiful and modern the villas are and how attentive the staff would be. This is not a full service hotel...if you want someone to serve you a cocktail while laying by the pool, you won't find it. However, if you want a personal experience by a warm, friendly family, well versed in the area and Costa Rican lifestyle, this is your place. It also helps to be adventurous. We got around by ATV's which we rented for three days, so we were able to explore the area and go out for meals. This was a hit for our teenage kids. The beach front location is perfect for jogging, boogie boarding, etc.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Just finished a FANTASTIC 5 day Vacation for our son's 40th Birthday with his Friends. We LOVED Villas Hermosa. It's on a GORGEOUS Beach for walking, sunning, and/or surfing. Just a short walk down the Beach is an excellent Restaurant for lunch or dinner. Brad arranged ATV rentals also for everyone and INCLUDED a 5 passenger ATV for me and my husband for trips to town and excursions with Brad throughout the countryside. Tara hooked us up with Joy from the Savory Sweet Life to cook an excellent private 4 course dinner. KUDOS to Tara, Brad, and the Staff for their warm hospitality.

Charlotte and Lee

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Hermosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Hermosas

Address: 400 mts sur de la escuela Hermosa Valley | San Martin de Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinctive beachfront hotel, Villas Hermosas, is located in Playa Hermosa of Mal Pais on the Pacific Ocean in Costa Rica. Please come and share with them their playful surf, thriving jungle, empty beaches, tropical gardens, and inviting swimming pool, while enjoying all the comforts of home! With only four villas, they offer a uniquely intimate experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas Hermosas Hotel Santa Teresa
Hermosas Hotel Santa Teresa
Villas Hermosas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Hermosas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.