We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant but heads up” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Hermosas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Villas Hermosas
Save Saved
You added Villas Hermosas to your Saves list
400 mts sur de la escuela Hermosa Valley | San Martin de Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
Mill Valley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant but heads up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My family had a nice stay at Villas Hermosas but I am not sure I would totally agree with all of the raving comments about the facility. Family are very nice hosts, the beach is a fantastic place to learn to surf and Brad hooked us up with a great instructor. What was less impressive were the accomodations - nothing special and for security reasons they encouraged having all doors and windows locked at night. We prefer the open air breezes. Also breakfast was simply adequate and by no means anything special. One has to have a car to drive to town for food as there really is nothing that proximate to the hotel for either lunch or dinner. This is a great town and we had fun but there are certainly nicer accommodations in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasHermosas, Owner at Villas Hermosas, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Tim W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We are sorry we did not live up to your expectations, but as we always say, no place can be right for everyone! We are glad you enjoyed the area nonetheless.

We wanted to clarify a couple of points: right before you came there had been several thefts in a short time in our area, so we were instructing our guests, especially at that time, to be sure their doors were locked. It is not necessary to lock our windows, as we have bars on those, so you could easily sleep with the large bedroom windows open, as many guests do. But many of our guests feel so comfortable staying with us that they do leave the doors unlocked at night and we would always rather be honest with them than have them be victims of theft.

Our vision for our Two-Bedroom Villas has always been to provide affordable mid-range comfortable houses, on the beach, in addition to offering great customer service. We agree, there are many more expensive fancy accommodations in our area if that is what you are seeking.

Yes, as we state several times on our website, as well in our email correspondence before you made the reservation, we are proud to be located in the remote and quieter Playa Hermosa, but that does mean less options for dining within walking distance. There are, however, 3-5 different restaurants a short walk from the hotel, depending on the time of year, maybe you didn't discover those? Since there are, at last count, over 100 restaurants in our small town there is something for everyone. Our town being very spread out we do always recommend renting some kind of wheels for at least part of your stay to explore and take advantage of the many amenities now available. (Actually we recommend that no matter where you stay in our town, as it is spread out over 12+ kms between Mal Pais and Playa Hermosa and you would miss out on a lot of great spots if you were only on foot).

Safe and happy travels,
Brad & Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    254
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
89
123
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We just had our wedding at Villas Hermosas last weekend and could not have been more pleased with the entire experience. We picked the venue based on good TripAdviser reviews and are happy to add our glowing review to the list. Picking a wedding venue site unseen was a little scary, but VH went beyond all of our expectations in terms of aesthetics, service, and experience. The owners, Brad and Tara, were very welcoming and were helpful from the moment we first contacted them. They helped in the planning process with vendor, restaurant, and excursion recommendations and reservations. They helped arrange a zip-lining experience for all of our guests, including my 87-year old grandfather! Everyone was beyond satisfied with this special place.

We didn't arrive the first night until after dark (it can be a long trip from San Jose), but our first impressions were fantastic - we sat by the beautifully lit pool and waterfall, and took a night swim with the bullfrogs and crabs. We also had our first introductions to Oz and Reef, the super friendly hotel canines, as well as Butterball Brown, the house cat. What a great way to feel welcome. By day, the property is even more beautiful, with ancient towering trees and countless flowering shrubs. Of all the places we visited in Costa Rica, Villas Hermosas' grounds were the most lush and inviting. It's like a well-maintained little forest right on the beach. Hotel staff even kept the grounds raked daily. The pictures online don't do justice to how perfectly the whole place just comes together.

We stayed in the honeymoon suite, which is the only villa with a beach view and is clearly made for a couple. The bungalow has a nice kitchen with the necessary utensils and living area with a nice leather couch and large TV. There is also a wide front porch complete with hammock, chairs, and a table. The bed and bath were immaculate. And there were also two large closets (excellent for hanging a wedding dress!) and a safe in the room. The AC worked very well. One thing that surprised us, that didn't really show up in the photos, was just how new and spotless everything is.

Although we didn't stay in the other villas, we did go in all of them and would be remiss if we did not mention something about them here. They were incredible. When you walk in, the first thing you notice looking up in the living room is a unique large brick dome. You find so many elements throughout the villas that show an attention to detail that make the place feel so special. The kitchens are also fully loaded and there is ample indoor and outdoor space.

Overall, we could not have been happier and would not hesitate to recommend Villas Hermosas to anyone planning an intimate wedding or just looking for a special place to spend a few days. We look forward to going back someday to celebrate our anniversary.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I've stayed at Villas Hermosa @ 6 times with my family and enjoyed every visit. From our first stay 3 years ago Brad and Tara make us feel right at home. For me they have all the right ingredients for a great family vacation: good surf, tropical location, killer pool, awesome restaurants, and attentive hosts.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chehalis, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We have traveled far and wide. The majority of our travels have amounted to "been there, done that". This is one place that we will return to, and as a matter of fact, during out stay, we were the only non-repeat guests. It is not the easiest place to get to; however, every travel inconvenience is more than made up for by the quality of the host environment. We had, at the recommendation of Brad (owner), hired Robert Essa of Bliss Weddings, as it turned out, a superior chef, to provide us our evening repasts. Now, how cool is that!! Honestly, there are not many real 10's in this world, but this is one. I hope that I haven't just cut myself out of our next visit by this review. Dr. Wayne Fuiten

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was our 4th trip to Costa Rica and our second trip to Villas Hermosas. We would never consider staying anywhere else. Brad and Tara are the most amazing hosts, and they have created the closest thing to paradise on earth in their little section of the world. The villas are spacious and well-appointed, but life in Santa Teresa/Mal Pais is amazingly simple. I'm not going to write a long review here, because I wrote a very long review last year about how amazing this place is...and it just keeps getting better. Don't come here is you want a scene...or a 5 star all inclusive...or a pool butler...or glitz...you're not going to find it here. What you will find is a beautiful property, on a gorgeous stretch of beach, with the most laid back, zen, amazing owners, and a lovely, spacious, well-appointed beach house in a place where time forgot, BUT, somehow, has amazing restaurants. What I also love about Villas Hermosa are the "repeaters" like ourselves. Upon our return, there was one family who also stayed last year at the same time, and another, who was there for part of our visit. It feels like a reunion when you meet up again, and see all of the kids playing and having fun. Jeremy and Monica...Brad and Tara's kids, are just so sweet, well-mannered and ridiculously cute. Oh...and one last note...my husband and daughter did Brad's quad tour...AGAIN...and they're still talking about how much fun it was...AGAIN! If you're still sitting on the fence about booking this place...we'll....I'm glad, because I don't want other people to know about our little secret, but you'll be missing out on one of the best vacations on the planet if you pass this one by!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We just returned from our 10th trip to Costa Rica and our 4th stay with Villas Hermosas. There simply isn't another place in Costa Rica that offers a more ideal family experience. We've stayed at a variety of rental homes and resort properties throughout the country and have had good experiences everywhere, but this place has our hearts. Brad, Tara, Kristy, Pete, Flor, Nidia... every single person I encounter at Villas Hermosas finds a way to make my experience richer. Friendly, good-natured, knowledgable people who will offer you rides to the grocery or drop what they're doing to help you with a reservation. Always with a smile. You'll look forward to opportunities to chat with them by the pool - they have some great stories and know everything about this area.

See my older reviews for all the things that make this place perfect for families - convenient, safe and comfortable - but don't spend too much time deliberating; the secret is out and those of us who know about this place tend to secure our spots for next year early!

Room Tip: They're all good. Three 2BR villas and one beachfront "honeymoon" bungalow. One or t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My husband and I returned to Villas Hermosas for six nights in March of 2014 based on our superb experience there in November 2012; most specifically, returning to the beauty and serenity of a seemingly uninhabited coastline, the privacy of our own villa surrounded by meticulously-cared-for tropical gardens, the comfort of immaculate, well-appointed villas featuring the conveniences of home and, most importantly, owners who care genuinely about their guests and assist them in any way they can to fulfill their vacation dream.

This time around we stayed in the honeymoon suite on the beachfront, which provided the perfect vantage point, not only for the mesmerizing ocean but also for the variety of birds and wildlife that grace the grounds. It was interesting to see this time how some of the lush green foliage had given way to a colourful canopy of blooms as their summer season was drawing to a close. Dust is a huge problem around the Santa Teresa area because of the unpaved roads, particularly after the dry season, however, once we got off the main road and drove through the gates at Villas Hermosas, we were aware of no dust whatsoever. The beach remains pristine and amazingly private, perfect for early-morning walks, for watching the more adventuresome surfer-types and simply for soaking up the sun between swims in the ocean. We were so pleased to find the Villas Hermosas grounds and pool as well maintained as before and that Brad and Tara still had their dedicated and a gracious staff.

Although there are numerous wonderful restaurants in the Santa Teresa area, including three excellent ones within walking distance of Villas Hermosas, this time around we were delighted to find an amazing fish market, a divine bakery and an organic fruits-and-vegetables store which supplied incredible local produce for our evening meals which we prepared in our villa’s kitchen. Our complimentary breakfasts in the rancho were as delicious as before, with Kristy and Nidia serving fresh, ripe fruit, a cooked specialty of the morning, eggs to order, juices and coffee.

Brad’s ATV tour again was one of the highlights of our stay, providing us the opportunity to follow the paths less travelled, cross the rivers we wouldn't have the courage to cross on our own and to share a Costa Rican lunch at Restaurante Tanga on beautiful Playa Coyote.

Thank you, Tara and Brad, for another incredible stay in paradise!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Hermosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Hermosas

Address: 400 mts sur de la escuela Hermosa Valley | San Martin de Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinctive beachfront hotel, Villas Hermosas, is located in Playa Hermosa of Mal Pais on the Pacific Ocean in Costa Rica. Please come and share with them their playful surf, thriving jungle, empty beaches, tropical gardens, and inviting swimming pool, while enjoying all the comforts of home! With only four villas, they offer a uniquely intimate experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas Hermosas Hotel Santa Teresa
Hermosas Hotel Santa Teresa
Villas Hermosas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Hermosas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;