We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Sweet Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Hermosas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas Hermosas
Save Saved
You added Villas Hermosas to your Saves list
400 mts sur de la escuela Hermosa Valley | San Martin de Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
Westfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Home Sweet Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We just returned from our 10th trip to Costa Rica and our 4th stay with Villas Hermosas. There simply isn't another place in Costa Rica that offers a more ideal family experience. We've stayed at a variety of rental homes and resort properties throughout the country and have had good experiences everywhere, but this place has our hearts. Brad, Tara, Kristy, Pete, Flor, Nidia... every single person I encounter at Villas Hermosas finds a way to make my experience richer. Friendly, good-natured, knowledgable people who will offer you rides to the grocery or drop what they're doing to help you with a reservation. Always with a smile. You'll look forward to opportunities to chat with them by the pool - they have some great stories and know everything about this area.

See my older reviews for all the things that make this place perfect for families - convenient, safe and comfortable - but don't spend too much time deliberating; the secret is out and those of us who know about this place tend to secure our spots for next year early!

Room Tip: They're all good. Three 2BR villas and one beachfront "honeymoon" bungalow. One or t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    254
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
89
123
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My husband and I returned to Villas Hermosas for six nights in March of 2014 based on our superb experience there in November 2012; most specifically, returning to the beauty and serenity of a seemingly uninhabited coastline, the privacy of our own villa surrounded by meticulously-cared-for tropical gardens, the comfort of immaculate, well-appointed villas featuring the conveniences of home and, most importantly, owners who care genuinely about their guests and assist them in any way they can to fulfill their vacation dream.

This time around we stayed in the honeymoon suite on the beachfront, which provided the perfect vantage point, not only for the mesmerizing ocean but also for the variety of birds and wildlife that grace the grounds. It was interesting to see this time how some of the lush green foliage had given way to a colourful canopy of blooms as their summer season was drawing to a close. Dust is a huge problem around the Santa Teresa area because of the unpaved roads, particularly after the dry season, however, once we got off the main road and drove through the gates at Villas Hermosas, we were aware of no dust whatsoever. The beach remains pristine and amazingly private, perfect for early-morning walks, for watching the more adventuresome surfer-types and simply for soaking up the sun between swims in the ocean. We were so pleased to find the Villas Hermosas grounds and pool as well maintained as before and that Brad and Tara still had their dedicated and a gracious staff.

Although there are numerous wonderful restaurants in the Santa Teresa area, including three excellent ones within walking distance of Villas Hermosas, this time around we were delighted to find an amazing fish market, a divine bakery and an organic fruits-and-vegetables store which supplied incredible local produce for our evening meals which we prepared in our villa’s kitchen. Our complimentary breakfasts in the rancho were as delicious as before, with Kristy and Nidia serving fresh, ripe fruit, a cooked specialty of the morning, eggs to order, juices and coffee.

Brad’s ATV tour again was one of the highlights of our stay, providing us the opportunity to follow the paths less travelled, cross the rivers we wouldn't have the courage to cross on our own and to share a Costa Rican lunch at Restaurante Tanga on beautiful Playa Coyote.

Thank you, Tara and Brad, for another incredible stay in paradise!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We have stayed here twice over the past three years. We were here at Christmas in December of 2011 and in February in 2014. They were fully booked last year so we had to stay at a neighboring hotel. This hotel is not just our favorite location in Hermosa Beach, Costa Rica, but one of the best hotels we have ever visited. The villas are clean, comfortable, and beautiful. The staff was invisible and perfect. The two bedroom villa we stayed in both times had beautiful stained glass, well appointed kitchens, and comfortable dining (dominoes) space. The complimentary breakfast served each morning (family style)by the pool is consistently delicious and charming. The banana bread was so good that we had to walk an extra hour one morning to work off our 3 pieces and begged for the recipe. I have stayed here with my mother (67) and two children (ages 13 and 17) and they all agree that it is their favorite spot! We grabbed a second cup of coffee each morning and sat by the pool, dreaming of how we might move here permanently while staring up at the towering trees where the monkeys play for hours. The hotel is located on a great surfing beach and the family who owns and runs the 4 villa retreat is available at breakfast each day to book your daily adventure, chat about the local culture, and make you feel as if you are part of the family. Each night, everyone gathers under the trees on the beach to watch the sunset and drink in the beauty. We have travelled to 5 star hotels and bungalows in jungles all over the world and this is by far our favorite hotel of any we have visited, not just for the accommodations, but also for the way that we feel at home every time we step on site. We will definitely count this as a family favorite and a place to return for many years to come.

Room Tip: Honeymoon villa is on the beach/ We stayed poolside and loved our villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

My wife and I along with my sister and her husband just spent 8 days in paradise. The atmosphere from the moment you arrive is nothing short of outstanding. The accommodation is extremely well maintained and has all the emenities to make this a very relaxing and special complex. The pool area is another spot for total relaxation and the beach front is unbelievable at sunset. Brad and Tara are wonderful hosts and they go out of their way to ensure you get reservations, tours or other activities that you want to enjoy. The monkeys and lizards make this a very interesting setting and one we will not forget for a long time.

Room Tip: All the suites are very interesting and share a different garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

My wife, two kids (9 and 7) and I stayed at Villas Hermosas for a week in March, our second stay in the last year. It was as perfect and as memorable as the first stay. In fact, we have already booked another trip for next November. Villas Hermosas is perfect for families with younger children: a beautiful beach for surfing/boogie boarding, a pool to cool us off in the afternoons, plenty of wonderful places to have lunch or dinner nearby, easy to get to Santa Teresa to buy anything you might need, etc. Everything about staying at Villas Hermosas is made easy by Brad and Tara, by the arrangement of the property and by the proximity of the beach. The beach that is only steps away from the Villas is pristine and is almost always like having it all to ourselves. Every day is concluded with the guests of the Villas joining Brad and Tara and their friends on the beach to watch the spectacular sunsets. In summary, the whole experience at Villas Hermosas is memorable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winkler
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed here over a year ago and forgot to write a review. This place is the perfect place for those that want adventure or just want to relax. Villas Hermosas has the perfect location for family fun or romance. We stayed here at the end of our stay in Costa Rica and wanted to go to a place with a romantic setting. Quiet beaches (best sand in the area), a beautiful pool (one of the best pools), entertaining iguanas, beautiful and very clean large villas. Wonderful service, Brad and Tara provide above and beyond service! The breakfasts are amazing! I love the monkeys that come to visit. Santa Teresa is just a short taxi ride away for nice evening suppers. They also provide brochures with delivery service which was great for those days that you just could not pull yourself away from this hidden paradise. I am still dreaming of this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is the second time I've been to Villas Hermosas, and I plan on going back many more! We rented out the resort with a group of 16 friends and had the most amazing trip. The resort is perfectly located on the best beach in Santa Teresa - you walk right out of the villas on to a gorgeous beach, perfect for watching the unbelievable sunset every night! The villas are so clean and comfortable and spacious, too, and all are located around a fantastic pool.
The best part about Villas Hermosas are the owners Tara and Brad - they made the trip easy from start to finish! They take such good care of their guests and help schedule activities, travel, anything at all!
No one wanted to leave after our week there, and I'm positive that we will all be back again!

Note: I've stayed at other resorts in the Santa Teresa area, and none even come closer to comparison with Villas Hermosas!!

Room Tip: All the villas are great! There's a honeymoon suite with great views of the ocean, but the rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Hermosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Hermosas

Address: 400 mts sur de la escuela Hermosa Valley | San Martin de Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinctive beachfront hotel, Villas Hermosas, is located in Playa Hermosa of Mal Pais on the Pacific Ocean in Costa Rica. Please come and share with them their playful surf, thriving jungle, empty beaches, tropical gardens, and inviting swimming pool, while enjoying all the comforts of home! With only four villas, they offer a uniquely intimate experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas Hermosas Hotel Santa Teresa
Hermosas Hotel Santa Teresa
Villas Hermosas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Hermosas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.