We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Return to Paradise!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Hermosas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas Hermosas
Save Saved
You added Villas Hermosas to your Saves list
400 mts sur de la escuela Hermosa Valley | San Martin de Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Belleville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Our Return to Paradise!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My husband and I returned to Villas Hermosas for six nights in March of 2014 based on our superb experience there in November 2012; most specifically, returning to the beauty and serenity of a seemingly uninhabited coastline, the privacy of our own villa surrounded by meticulously-cared-for tropical gardens, the comfort of immaculate, well-appointed villas featuring the conveniences of home and, most importantly, owners who care genuinely about their guests and assist them in any way they can to fulfill their vacation dream.

This time around we stayed in the honeymoon suite on the beachfront, which provided the perfect vantage point, not only for the mesmerizing ocean but also for the variety of birds and wildlife that grace the grounds. It was interesting to see this time how some of the lush green foliage had given way to a colourful canopy of blooms as their summer season was drawing to a close. Dust is a huge problem around the Santa Teresa area because of the unpaved roads, particularly after the dry season, however, once we got off the main road and drove through the gates at Villas Hermosas, we were aware of no dust whatsoever. The beach remains pristine and amazingly private, perfect for early-morning walks, for watching the more adventuresome surfer-types and simply for soaking up the sun between swims in the ocean. We were so pleased to find the Villas Hermosas grounds and pool as well maintained as before and that Brad and Tara still had their dedicated and a gracious staff.

Although there are numerous wonderful restaurants in the Santa Teresa area, including three excellent ones within walking distance of Villas Hermosas, this time around we were delighted to find an amazing fish market, a divine bakery and an organic fruits-and-vegetables store which supplied incredible local produce for our evening meals which we prepared in our villa’s kitchen. Our complimentary breakfasts in the rancho were as delicious as before, with Kristy and Nidia serving fresh, ripe fruit, a cooked specialty of the morning, eggs to order, juices and coffee.

Brad’s ATV tour again was one of the highlights of our stay, providing us the opportunity to follow the paths less travelled, cross the rivers we wouldn't have the courage to cross on our own and to share a Costa Rican lunch at Restaurante Tanga on beautiful Playa Coyote.

Thank you, Tara and Brad, for another incredible stay in paradise!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
89
123
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We have stayed here twice over the past three years. We were here at Christmas in December of 2011 and in February in 2014. They were fully booked last year so we had to stay at a neighboring hotel. This hotel is not just our favorite location in Hermosa Beach, Costa Rica, but one of the best hotels we have ever visited. The villas are clean, comfortable, and beautiful. The staff was invisible and perfect. The two bedroom villa we stayed in both times had beautiful stained glass, well appointed kitchens, and comfortable dining (dominoes) space. The complimentary breakfast served each morning (family style)by the pool is consistently delicious and charming. The banana bread was so good that we had to walk an extra hour one morning to work off our 3 pieces and begged for the recipe. I have stayed here with my mother (67) and two children (ages 13 and 17) and they all agree that it is their favorite spot! We grabbed a second cup of coffee each morning and sat by the pool, dreaming of how we might move here permanently while staring up at the towering trees where the monkeys play for hours. The hotel is located on a great surfing beach and the family who owns and runs the 4 villa retreat is available at breakfast each day to book your daily adventure, chat about the local culture, and make you feel as if you are part of the family. Each night, everyone gathers under the trees on the beach to watch the sunset and drink in the beauty. We have travelled to 5 star hotels and bungalows in jungles all over the world and this is by far our favorite hotel of any we have visited, not just for the accommodations, but also for the way that we feel at home every time we step on site. We will definitely count this as a family favorite and a place to return for many years to come.

Room Tip: Honeymoon villa is on the beach/ We stayed poolside and loved our villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

My wife and I along with my sister and her husband just spent 8 days in paradise. The atmosphere from the moment you arrive is nothing short of outstanding. The accommodation is extremely well maintained and has all the emenities to make this a very relaxing and special complex. The pool area is another spot for total relaxation and the beach front is unbelievable at sunset. Brad and Tara are wonderful hosts and they go out of their way to ensure you get reservations, tours or other activities that you want to enjoy. The monkeys and lizards make this a very interesting setting and one we will not forget for a long time.

Room Tip: All the suites are very interesting and share a different garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

My wife, two kids (9 and 7) and I stayed at Villas Hermosas for a week in March, our second stay in the last year. It was as perfect and as memorable as the first stay. In fact, we have already booked another trip for next November. Villas Hermosas is perfect for families with younger children: a beautiful beach for surfing/boogie boarding, a pool to cool us off in the afternoons, plenty of wonderful places to have lunch or dinner nearby, easy to get to Santa Teresa to buy anything you might need, etc. Everything about staying at Villas Hermosas is made easy by Brad and Tara, by the arrangement of the property and by the proximity of the beach. The beach that is only steps away from the Villas is pristine and is almost always like having it all to ourselves. Every day is concluded with the guests of the Villas joining Brad and Tara and their friends on the beach to watch the spectacular sunsets. In summary, the whole experience at Villas Hermosas is memorable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winkler
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed here over a year ago and forgot to write a review. This place is the perfect place for those that want adventure or just want to relax. Villas Hermosas has the perfect location for family fun or romance. We stayed here at the end of our stay in Costa Rica and wanted to go to a place with a romantic setting. Quiet beaches (best sand in the area), a beautiful pool (one of the best pools), entertaining iguanas, beautiful and very clean large villas. Wonderful service, Brad and Tara provide above and beyond service! The breakfasts are amazing! I love the monkeys that come to visit. Santa Teresa is just a short taxi ride away for nice evening suppers. They also provide brochures with delivery service which was great for those days that you just could not pull yourself away from this hidden paradise. I am still dreaming of this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is the second time I've been to Villas Hermosas, and I plan on going back many more! We rented out the resort with a group of 16 friends and had the most amazing trip. The resort is perfectly located on the best beach in Santa Teresa - you walk right out of the villas on to a gorgeous beach, perfect for watching the unbelievable sunset every night! The villas are so clean and comfortable and spacious, too, and all are located around a fantastic pool.
The best part about Villas Hermosas are the owners Tara and Brad - they made the trip easy from start to finish! They take such good care of their guests and help schedule activities, travel, anything at all!
No one wanted to leave after our week there, and I'm positive that we will all be back again!

Note: I've stayed at other resorts in the Santa Teresa area, and none even come closer to comparison with Villas Hermosas!!

Room Tip: All the villas are great! There's a honeymoon suite with great views of the ocean, but the rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

My husband and I first stayed at Villas Hermosas in January 2011 for our honeymoon. We have been back every year since for a week of sun, surf, fun and good people! In February 2014 we took 11 of our friends with us to celebrate my birthday which meant that we were able to rent the entire place out which was AMAZING! I think that the trip was a success considering that everyone has confirmed for the same trip next year! If you are looking for a great beach vacation, it truly is one of the best places that you can visit. We like to fly into San Jose and drive over (via the ferry) as it always sets the tone for a fun adventure.
The Villas: Our favorite villa to stay in is the Honeymoon Suite, but we have stayed in the other villas as well. They are all extremely clean, comfortable and have everything that you need. You can choose to cook and stay in as they have full kitchens which is a nice option. The staff at Villas Hermosas are extremely friendly and helpful and truly make your stay that much more amazing.
Food: One of the things I look forward to is the breakfast served every morning at Villas. Kristi makes absolutely delicious food to start your morning. She even baked a loaf of coconut bread for us for our last day to take with us since we were leaving super early and would miss the regularly scheduled breakfast (great service!). For lunch and dinner, the towns of Malpais and Santa Teresa offer some truly fine dining experiences. The fanciest dinner that we do every trip is at Brisas del Mar which is still extremely affordable for a meal that includes drinks, appetizers, main course and dessert! This little town really has some amazing food options!
Activities: My husband and I focus mainly on surfing when we are visiting. The beginner break just steps from the property draws people from all other areas for it's friendly and fun waves. Since we went with a new group of friends this year, we also went on the zipline tour, Brad's quad tour (highly recommended for an AWESOME day!), horseback riding on the beach and a few of our group also went on a fishing adventure and brought back their catch and fired it up on the grill at the Villas. You can do as much or as little as you prefer. Most of our days were spent on the beach and around the pool soaking up as much sun as possible, but there is never a shortage of other fun activities to try if you want less relaxing and more adventure. One of the most important activities of the day is "sunset TV" every evening when it seems that everyone gathers at the edge of the almond grove to hang out and watch as the sun goes down on yet another perfect tropical day :)
Staff: Since we have returned 4 times to the same place to vacation, I have to admit that a big part of that reason is the people at Villas Hermosas. Brad and Tara have always taken such great care of us as guests and truly make the experience more special than if we stayed at just a random place. I'm certain there are several fantastic places to stay in Malpais, Santa Teresa and Hermosa Beach, but the vibe that they have provided at Villas Hermosas is the reason that we keep coming back. My husband and I really like to travel and this is the only place that we have ever returned as a repeat visit. It really says a lot about the place that we keep coming back to! It really is the absolute best beach/surf vacation spot that we have found!!
I highly recommend that if you are looking for an awesome beach vacation a little off the beaten path...Villas Hermosas is a fantastic option! It is one of my favorite places in the entire world!

Room Tip: choose the honeymoon villa as you are right next to the water and can hear the waves crashing from y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Hermosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Hermosas

Address: 400 mts sur de la escuela Hermosa Valley | San Martin de Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinctive beachfront hotel, Villas Hermosas, is located in Playa Hermosa of Mal Pais on the Pacific Ocean in Costa Rica. Please come and share with them their playful surf, thriving jungle, empty beaches, tropical gardens, and inviting swimming pool, while enjoying all the comforts of home! With only four villas, they offer a uniquely intimate experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas Hermosas Hotel Santa Teresa
Hermosas Hotel Santa Teresa
Villas Hermosas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Hermosas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.