We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property and great place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Hermosas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Villas Hermosas
Save Saved
You added Villas Hermosas to your Saves list
400 mts sur de la escuela Hermosa Valley | San Martin de Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
houston,tx
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful property and great place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We loved our stay in Villas Hermosas. Tara and Brad are excellent hosts and they take good care of you. We flew in and drove from San Jose and we found the drive quite pleasant. Specially the ferry ride (quite festive). There is a point where you arrive where the roads are unpaved and a bit bumpy, but it pays off when you get to the resort.

The villas are beautifully decorated and spacious. We had the luxury in staying in two villas during our stay. The main villas by the pool are quite spacious and can fit up to 6 people in the room. But if you are a couple, you can stay in the honeymoon suite by the beach and enjoy a beautiful sunset together.

The property is very well maintained and the landscape is gorgeous. To add to the value, there is a family of howler monkeys who visit the property daily along with tons of iguanas, squirrels and all kinds of birds.

The resort has a few dogs who are very sweet and well trained. They accompany you to the beach and you can see them play in the water. The beaches stretch for miles and we took a few good walks on them. The beaches are made mostly for surfing, but when the tide is low you can snorkel and relax in the lagoon pools.

The sunsets are gorgeous specially during low tide. Brad has a chart by the pool with the tide schedules so you can plan accordingly.

There are quite of things to do in the area too. You get Tara to schedule you some personal guided tours of the National Parks or you can get Brad to take you on a ATV tour around the area. I strongly suggest you take the ATV tour because it is a ride of a lifetime. You ride on the beach and thru rivers along some very remote areas. A fun adventure

You also can visit Curu National Refuge which I strongly recommend. Tara sets you up with a great tour company that takes excellent care of you. You can either relax on the beaches of isla tortuga, snorkel , scuba dive or take a personal tour of the Curu jungle.

The restaurants in the area are good and a bit pricey, but from my stay in Costa Rica, most tourist places will be.

Overall the stay was excellent. It is a bit of a drive from San Jose, but if your adventure is to be low key and off the beaten path, this place is the place for you.

Room Tip: honeymoon suite if you like to be secluded. (couples) Pool suites for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
89
123
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

I believe we read every review here before booking our reservation, and we were not disappointed. We were at Villas Hermosas for nine nights, and did not want to leave. My GF said that this was the most relaxing vacation she has ever taken, bar none. This is such a special place. All we can do is to echo all the positive reviews that have preceded ours!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We had such a great time in villas hermosas. The location is beyond perfect, beautiful beach, super comfortable accommodations, exotic gardens, great pool, lots of parking and security.
The breakfast is included & delicious!
It doesn't get any better!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Can't say enough good things about Villas Hermosas. My wife and I had a great honeymoon here just before they closed for the September season. We stayed in the honeymoon villa which is literally feet from the beach.

What can I say, awesome owners Brad and Tara are the coolest people ever and will go the extra mile to make sure everything is arranged and set up for you. Plus they are super friendly and down to earth, much like their neighbors Pete and Christy. The villa is cleaned every day and the sand is raked daily by a friendly staff. The place is safe with a security guard there from 6pm-6am, and there is a large safe in the room to keep your valuables.

The best part is being able to do lots of things right at the villa (horseback riding, strolling along the beach for miles, surfing).

Awesome time and tremendously happy that we chose this place :) Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go with the honeymoon villa if you're on your honeymoon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at Villas Hermosas for a week and I can't say enough about how wonderful this property is. My husband and I are somewhat older than the general summer population in Santa Teresa ( I don't think anyone was over 30!) so Villas Hermosas was our retreat back into luxury after a day of hiking or keeping up with our children on the beach. The villas are quite spacious, clean, and comfortable. The staff went above and beyond to make you feel welcome and were willing to help in any way.

I highly recommend the ATV trip that Brad (Tara and Brad own Villas Hermosas) leads. It offers a chance to see some of the breathtaking countryside that you probably would not know to look for without someone local to the area being your guide. My teenagers thought this was the best day of the trip!

If you are looking for a family friendly and beautiful place to stay while in Santa Teresa look no further than Villas Hermosas!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at Villas Hermosas for five nights; four in the honeymoon suite and one in the poolside family villa since the honeymoon suite was pre-booked our last night there. And we just loved our stay, every day of it. I have never been more sorry to have to end a vacation! Both the suite and villa were large and well appointed, and the grounds were lush and expertly maintained. Our hosts, Tara and Brad, made us feel both welcome and comfortable, hitting that delicate balance only great hosts do: providing the best information on the area whenever we needed it, while making sure we had enough space to ourselves for privacy and solitude. They were perfect! I was also impressed with the info-book that Tara put together for each of the villas, containing detailed suggestions for everything from eating out to acquiring lessons for riding Santa Teresa's great waves. (A special mention for Chris at the Shaka Beach Club-- he managed to get us up on a board our first try ever, and although I'm athletic, I am not, umm, the typical age of the young beach surfer scene.) We rode horses with local guide Casey and a cowboy from Ario Horse Tours, exploring hills with incredible views of the sea, heading down for a trot along a deserted beachfront (another excellent rec from our hosts). But most of our days were spent taking long walks along the quiet shoreline, reading on swinging hammocks, piecing together our shell collection, and watching the sun set over the Pacific Ocean. It was exactly what a break from our lives in Boston needed! I can't recommend Villas Hermosas enough!

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Suite is a winner for couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Villas Hermosas made my trip. The grounds are beautiful, the location is amazing (its situated right on what is arguably the best beach/surfing in Costa Rica), tand he villas are gorgeous. The owners, Tara and Brad, are beyond hospitable making you feel more like good friends coming to visit than hotel guests.

The villas are located about 10-15 minutes north of town (which is small and quaint) giving it an untouched and secluded feeling that was wonderful. There are 4 villas total with a beautiful pool and cabana in the center. Its the perfect size to take advantage of amenities like the pool, BBQ, etc but small enough so that its still quiet and peaceful.

The pictures honestly dont do it justice. Stop your research, just go to Villas Hermosas. Its amazing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Hermosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Hermosas

Address: 400 mts sur de la escuela Hermosa Valley | San Martin de Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinctive beachfront hotel, Villas Hermosas, is located in Playa Hermosa of Mal Pais on the Pacific Ocean in Costa Rica. Please come and share with them their playful surf, thriving jungle, empty beaches, tropical gardens, and inviting swimming pool, while enjoying all the comforts of home! With only four villas, they offer a uniquely intimate experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas Hermosas Hotel Santa Teresa
Hermosas Hotel Santa Teresa
Villas Hermosas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Hermosas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.