We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop reading and go!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Hermosas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas Hermosas
Save
You added Villas Hermosas to your Saves list
400 mts sur de la escuela Hermosa Valley | San Martin de Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Gloucester, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stop reading and go!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Can't say enough good things about Villas Hermosas. My wife and I had a great honeymoon here just before they closed for the September season. We stayed in the honeymoon villa which is literally feet from the beach.

What can I say, awesome owners Brad and Tara are the coolest people ever and will go the extra mile to make sure everything is arranged and set up for you. Plus they are super friendly and down to earth, much like their neighbors Pete and Christy. The villa is cleaned every day and the sand is raked daily by a friendly staff. The place is safe with a security guard there from 6pm-6am, and there is a large safe in the room to keep your valuables.

The best part is being able to do lots of things right at the villa (horseback riding, strolling along the beach for miles, surfing).

Awesome time and tremendously happy that we chose this place :) Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go with the honeymoon villa if you're on your honeymoon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
91
126
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at Villas Hermosas for a week and I can't say enough about how wonderful this property is. My husband and I are somewhat older than the general summer population in Santa Teresa ( I don't think anyone was over 30!) so Villas Hermosas was our retreat back into luxury after a day of hiking or keeping up with our children on the beach. The villas are quite spacious, clean, and comfortable. The staff went above and beyond to make you feel welcome and were willing to help in any way.

I highly recommend the ATV trip that Brad (Tara and Brad own Villas Hermosas) leads. It offers a chance to see some of the breathtaking countryside that you probably would not know to look for without someone local to the area being your guide. My teenagers thought this was the best day of the trip!

If you are looking for a family friendly and beautiful place to stay while in Santa Teresa look no further than Villas Hermosas!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at Villas Hermosas for five nights; four in the honeymoon suite and one in the poolside family villa since the honeymoon suite was pre-booked our last night there. And we just loved our stay, every day of it. I have never been more sorry to have to end a vacation! Both the suite and villa were large and well appointed, and the grounds were lush and expertly maintained. Our hosts, Tara and Brad, made us feel both welcome and comfortable, hitting that delicate balance only great hosts do: providing the best information on the area whenever we needed it, while making sure we had enough space to ourselves for privacy and solitude. They were perfect! I was also impressed with the info-book that Tara put together for each of the villas, containing detailed suggestions for everything from eating out to acquiring lessons for riding Santa Teresa's great waves. (A special mention for Chris at the Shaka Beach Club-- he managed to get us up on a board our first try ever, and although I'm athletic, I am not, umm, the typical age of the young beach surfer scene.) We rode horses with local guide Casey and a cowboy from Ario Horse Tours, exploring hills with incredible views of the sea, heading down for a trot along a deserted beachfront (another excellent rec from our hosts). But most of our days were spent taking long walks along the quiet shoreline, reading on swinging hammocks, piecing together our shell collection, and watching the sun set over the Pacific Ocean. It was exactly what a break from our lives in Boston needed! I can't recommend Villas Hermosas enough!

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Suite is a winner for couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Villas Hermosas made my trip. The grounds are beautiful, the location is amazing (its situated right on what is arguably the best beach/surfing in Costa Rica), tand he villas are gorgeous. The owners, Tara and Brad, are beyond hospitable making you feel more like good friends coming to visit than hotel guests.

The villas are located about 10-15 minutes north of town (which is small and quaint) giving it an untouched and secluded feeling that was wonderful. There are 4 villas total with a beautiful pool and cabana in the center. Its the perfect size to take advantage of amenities like the pool, BBQ, etc but small enough so that its still quiet and peaceful.

The pictures honestly dont do it justice. Stop your research, just go to Villas Hermosas. Its amazing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

If you're looking for the perfect place to stay in Paradise, this is it. You're welcome.

The pictures don't do it justice. Villas Hermosas is a beautiful family owned an operated resort on one of the best beaches in the world. Tara and Brad, are incredibly hospitable hosts who work tirelessly to insure their guests are comfortable and happy. Their boutique resort is situated about 15 minutes outside of Santa Teresa proper, nestled in the trees right next to the sand. It's a really wonderful set up, as it's very homey and private.

The Villas – two bedrooms with air conditioning, TVs, DVD player, full kitchen, dining area and two full bathrooms. There's also a futon in the living room, so plenty of room for a group of friends or family. They are situated around a lovely pool area and "rancho" which is the covered community dining and lounging area. Breakfast which was included in our rate is served here btwn 8-10 every morning. The beach is about a 45 second walk away.

Quad Tour – Tara's husband, Brad gives an ATV tour that is pretty spectacular. It's such a fun way to see the town, country side and neighboring beaches. A wonderful way to spend a day. I read about it in almost every review, so it was a must for me. And, I have to say it was the highlight of my trip. I absolutely loved it.

Private Chef – Tara arranged for a private chef to cook for us one night. It was $70/person including tip. He prepared the food in our villa and we dined outside in the rancho. It was a wonderful way to spend an evening. I highly recommend it.

Surf lesson – You're in Costa Rica. Do yourself a favor and Surf! Easily arranged by Tara upon arrival. It was $45/person for 2 hours. Our instructor's name was Chris. GREAT guy. We had a lot of fun.

Sunset drinks – We'd meet Tara, Brad and whomever was at the beach around 5:30 each night to watch the sunset. They are spectacular and we were even treated with a DOUBLE rainbow one night. Amazing.

ATVs – We kept our ATVs for a few days after the tour. I'd recommend doing this. The "quad" as they refer to it, is the fastest (and most fun way) to get around. The roads are all dirt with lots of pot holes, so it's way faster for an ATV to navigate than a car. Although, a bit challenging to pick up a pizza. Do delivery. Learned that one the hard way. :)

Zip line - Yep. Go. It's fun. We did "Sun Trails" in Montezuma. There were 9 lines of varying lengths and speeds. You also stop to swim at a waterfall. Doesn't get more tropical and jungle book than that.

Misc – I did yoga at the resort next door for $12. There's a surprisingly good sushi place next to the resort. Several little grocery stores in town, as well as, surf shops, restaurants, bars. Santa Teresa is a charming and tiny town. It feels very untouched. It hasn't been invaded by gross mega resorts or McDonalds. It's a very authentic and local experience. One of my favorite mornings was playing on the beach with the local dogs. Reef is the house dog and Ossa is the next door neighbor. I played with them and their friends for a few hours one day. Just throwing the stick and running around. I'll never forget it. Was so fun.

Honor fridge – there a refrigerator in the rancho with drinks which was awesome. You just sign for whatever you want. There's sodas, wine, beer etc. It's great in a pinch if you haven't been to the store.

Final thoughts – We stayed 6 nights and could have easily stayed longer. It really is a wonderful place to just check out and relax. And, I can't say enough about Tara and Brad. They're just great people. Get to know them if you can. Now book your stay! You won't regret it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My only hesitation in writing this review is that it'll be booked up next time I want to stay here! Incredibly charming, one of a kind, beautiful, clean, picturesque-- and the fact that it's so reasonably priced makes it even better! The pictures don't do it justice. My only regret is not staying here our entire trip. Brad and Tara are beyond helpful-- this is a true gem in all regards!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights in the Honeymoon Suite which faces the ocean and we couldn’t have picked a better place in Santa Teresa.

Basic information:
• The grounds are immaculate and beautiful.
• We had a big porch out front with two chairs, a picnic table and hammock.
• The kitchen area had a stove, full size refrigerator and utensils w/a table that sat 4.
• The seating area had a large sofa, chair and satellite tv
• We had a four poster bed with canopy.
• There is plenty of closet space.
• We found that in many areas of Costa Rica you cannot flush your toilet paper down the toilet but they have a tight-fitting trash can next to the toilet to put it in. It seems strange at first but I quickly got used to it.
• Breakfast is from 8-10 and they have fresh fruit (mangos, papaya, pineapple, cantaloupe, watermelon – all very ripe and delicious), eggs made to order, chocolate waffles one morning, cinnamon bread another, juice and coffee. It’s served at the covered pool area with picnic tables to sit at. It’s very pleasant and Krissy was very friendly and great to have a conversation with.
• On the grounds is a nice swimming pool, and if you have kids, a small playground. It’s very private and fairly quiet.
• The pathways are gravel or sand with lots of trees and plants around.

Pros
• The beach was steps from our door
• We had good wi-fi connection the entire time.
• A large dispenser of bottled water with a tap for hot water was in our room.
• The water pressure in the shower is good.
• There is a foot faucet in the shower to wash your feet after you’ve been on the beach.
• They have a guard from 6pm-6am out front and a safe in your room that is large enough for any valuables including computers.
• Brad and Tara are wonderful hosts. Tara helped us with dinner suggestions and reservations as well as directions. She also made reservations for our zipline tour and put it on our credit card. She is great with suggestions if you tell her what you’re looking for. She never steered us wrong.
• Everyone here was exceptionally friendly, from Brad and Tara (and their children) to the men raking the grounds every day.

Cons
• We did not have cell service here. But, you only need to go into town a little ways and you’re good to go.
• The a/c when it comes on was very loud in our room and will wake you up at night, so I suggest earplugs. But take them out as soon as you wake up so you can hear the sound of the howler monkeys and birds (and a rooster) just outside your door!

It’s obvious Brad and Tara take pride in the place. I would highly recommend staying here.

A side note: We rented a car to get around this part of Costa Rica. Some people have 4-wheelers (but at this time of year it’s VERY dusty on the dirt roads – we were glad we opted for the car.) We are a little ways from the town area but there are a few restaurants you could walk to. The rest you can take a taxi to if you have no other transportation. We found that a car was nice since we were driving into Montezuma. Roads in this area are mostly NOT paved. They are dirt with lots of potholes – you can’t drive but 15-20 mph max most of the time so you don’t get anywhere fast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Hermosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Hermosas

Address: 400 mts sur de la escuela Hermosa Valley | San Martin de Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinctive beachfront hotel, Villas Hermosas, is located in Playa Hermosa of Mal Pais on the Pacific Ocean in Costa Rica. Please come and share with them their playful surf, thriving jungle, empty beaches, tropical gardens, and inviting swimming pool, while enjoying all the comforts of home! With only four villas, they offer a uniquely intimate experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas Hermosas Hotel Santa Teresa
Hermosas Hotel Santa Teresa
Villas Hermosas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Hermosas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.