We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything that everyone says, and more!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Hermosas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas Hermosas
400 mts sur de la escuela Hermosa Valley | San Martin de Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
Larchmont, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Everything that everyone says, and more!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

There is little to say here that hasn't already been said, but I would be remiss, especially after the AMAZING 8 days that we spent at Villas Hermosa, to not attempt to write a review. In a word, this place is paradise. There are three large cabinas, and one smaller honeymoon cabina on the the most beautifully landscaped property, with a lovely built in pool, and just steps from the most gorgeous and secluded beach I've ever seen, The house is huge, and can easily sleep 6 people. There are two large bedrooms, two large bathrooms, a livingroom, kitchen and two porches. The maid service is outstanding...the house is cleaned to perfection everyday. Brad and Tara have so many little touches that make you feel spoiled...from the honor system fridge in the Rancho, to a lovely breakfast everyday, even a huge selection of DVD's to borrow for free. But, truly, what makes this place special is Brad and Tara themselves. They make you feel like family. The week we were there, Brad's brother was in, and he came with us on the quad tour that Brad does (MUST DO)...and later, other relatives came in, and there was a party. Well, guess what? When you stay at Villas Hermosa, your part of the family, too!! It was such a warm and inviting feeling to be included like that. All of the guests just sort of hang out at the pool, socialize, and after a few hours, you feel like you've known everyone their whole lives. Tara could not do enough for us, from directions, to suggestions to dinner reservations. She and Brad truly understand what customer service is all about. If you are planning a trip there, I cannot advise strongly enough NOT to miss Brad's quad tour. All I can say, is that it is about the most fun I've ever had. My husband and I, along with our two kids (ages 15 and 14), and Brad's brother went out for 5 of the most fun-filled and funniest hours on the entire trip. It was the highlight of our 8 days...and VERY reasonably priced.
The food in Santa Teresa, given it's remoteness is absolutely outstanding. My recommendations are the following:
1. Koji- absolutely fantastic sushi and Japanese. Expensive, but worth every penny. As good as the best sushi places in Manhattan.
2. Amici's- Best Italian in Santa Teresa. You'll see the Al Chile Voila is rated highly too, but we were disappointed with them. Amici's, however was fantastic. I am Itallian-American, and a New Yorker, and I'd eat here if it was in NYC. By far, the best and most authentic pizza in Santa Teresa, and fresh, creative and outstanding dishes.
3. Haberneros- this place, I would call "mexican inspired" or upscale mexican...very good, huge portions, delicious. Have the Aztec soup and the grilled lobster tacos!!
4. Zulu- cheap eats, OUTSTANDING falalel and hummus, great schnitzel...owned by Israeli's and taste like the food came straight out of the middle east.
5. Casa Del Mar- best service we had in Santa Teresa...OUTSTANDING empanadas (they are NOT on the menu, you need to ask), excellent pizza and great grilled meat platter.
6. Sapo Guapo- very slow service, but really good burgers, hotdogs, and chicken sandwiches.

7. Grocery Shopping and Liquor- Super Ronny or Super Ronny 2. Best prices and selection.

One last word on Santa Teresa- it is NOT easy to get to, In fact, it was the most adventerous road trip that we ever took. 4.5 hours from Liberia, half of that time on steep, unpaved dirt roads with no signs. If you rent a car and drive...make sure it is a 4x4, make SURE you have GPS, and make sure you take the full insurance. The reason WHY Santa Teresa is so awesome, is because it is so remore and difficult to get to. After we did the trip there and back, we agreed that it was SOOOOOO worth it, and we'd do it again in a heart beat. You can fly into Tambor on a puddle jumper, but to us, the price for those flights was not worth it. YOU NEED a car in Santa Teresa as everything is very spread out, so rather than pay for transports, and also pay for the rental, we just drove ourselves. No easy, but doable if you are willing to tough it out a bit. Overall, the absolute BEST vacation we ever took. We WILL be BACK NEXT YEAR!! Thank you, Brad and Tara, for having a vision, taking a risk, and creating paradise on earth. We miss you already!! - The Lurie's!!

Room Tip: Do Brad's Quad Tour!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    254
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
89
123
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to Villas Hermosas and, once again, I'm only willing to write my review after securing our dates for next year. It just gets better, so if you can secure your dates, do it NOW.

For our high-maintenance family of five (kids - 5, 8, 10) Villas Hermosas is the easiest place in the world to be (I am including our own home). Brad and Tara have thought of everything and nothing is ever a problem. The three villas are all perfectly situated around the pool, shaded rancho and sun deck, providing the perfect balance of privacy and community. For families with kids, it is simply bliss to be able to relax and read a book by the very child friendly pool and be close enough to allow the kids to run to the bathroom or fetch forgotten items on their own. The "honor fridge" at the rancho is stocked with drinks, snacks and ice cream, so a little after swim treat is just steps away. We also ordered in several nights and enjoyed dinner at the rancho with another family we met at the resort.

The villas themselves are spacious and beautiful. Costa Rica is tough on its cars and hotels, so most places show a lot of wear and tear after a year or two, but these villas are immaculate. In nine years of traveling to CR, these are the only kitchens I ever use because everything is so clean. And while we certainly don't spend much time in front of a screen in CR, the kids love winding down with a movie (Brad and Tara have huge selection of DVDs) at the end of a long day, which allows the grown-ups some time sit out on the patio or even the pool deck (you're close enough to hear the kids if you use the screen doors) and enjoy the stars.

Shall we talk about the beach? This is perhaps my FAVORITE thing about Villas Hermosas (except perhaps the people who work there). I have checked them all out... Pranamar, Florablanca, Playa Cielo... and nothing compares to Villas Hermosas beach. I enjoy my own personal Nirvana each morning walking up and down this pristine and mesmerizing beach. We ended up canceling all our fancy sunset dinners because we just couldn't peel ourselves away from the spectacular sunsets right there at the resort. There simply is no better place to celebrate the closing of the day... and everyone seems to stop what they are doing to appreciate it's colors.

The resort does not have a restaurant, but you have access to a book full of menus and there are a couple of awesome restaurants within walking distance. Koji is amazing for Japanese or just walk onto the beach, make a left and walk for a few minutes for some amazing salads and smoothies at Pranamar. I'm still dreaming of their Raga Blend. Habaneros is also some great beachfront dining - the lobster taco was out of this world. And for that sunset dining experience, Brisas del Mar is still the place.

Room Tip: They're all good. It's just a matter of whether you want 2 twins or a king bed in the 2nd b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We spent a week in March at Villas Hermosas. What a wonderful place. Many thanks to Tara and Brad for making our stay one of the best vacations we have ever had. We had the opportunity to stay in both a two bedroom villa and the honeymoon suite during our trip. Both villas were impeccable, there were fresh flowers to great you and all the amenities of home. A full kitchen should you prefer to make you own meals. The pool area and Rancho were inviting with lots of room to spread out and lounge. With only four villas there was lots of space for everyone to hang out by the pool and get to know each other. Thank you to our fellow guests also for making our time so enjoyable. We rented a car and picked it up in Tambor. A car is definitely a help if you want to travel around the area. Tara or Brad can call you a taxi should you prefer not to drive.

The roads were as advertised... a little challenging and dusty, but it was all part of the adventure of being in such a unspoiled area of Costa Rica. The locals were friendly and put up with our lack of the command of Spanish. Thank you to Percy, the local guide, who took us and on a walking tour of Cabo Blanco Nature Reserve. We had a hiccup on our flight back from Tambor to San Jose. The air strip was closed the day we departed. No problem..... as Tara swung into action and got us a driver to take us all the way to our hotel in San Jose. We got to see the beautiful countryside and travel on the ferry off the peninsula.

I wish they could keep Villas Hermosas frozen in time until our next visit, but I know it will get harder to book since it is such a diamond of a property. Brad and Tara are the best hosts we have ever come across on our travels around the world. Until the next time..... Thank you for a unforgettable stay at Villas Hermosas.

Paul & Jan

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband, son (age 7) and I spent Spring Break March 2013 at Villas Hermosas and I have to say that it was one of the best vacations ever! The property is gorgeous! Our villa was so clean and cozy. Brad and Tara have absolutely done it right! They helped make our vacation very memorable. From the time we began planning the trip until the time we had to leave kicking and screaming, they met our every need promptly and seamlessly. We did a fishing trip and caught Yellow Fin Tuna and Amberjack, which Brad and Tara prepared for everyone to enjoy that evening. It was so delicious!! We also did the Quad tour and a hike through the rain forest. We had a blast! The staff is amazing! They work non stop to make everything look beautiful and even put fresh flowers in your room, which I thought was a very special touch. It was a blast making friends with everyone on the property. Breakfast was served every morning under the Rancho and it was always yummy! In the evenings, we would all meet out under the trees to visit and watch the sunset. The beach and sunsets were absolutely breath taking. We really enjoyed the relaxed and laid back atmosphere, it was right up our alley. We can't wait to go back and have been bragging about this place to everyone. Would absolutely recommend this magical experience to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife, two kids (ages 9 and 7) and I stayed at Villas Hermosas in late December 2012, and we had a great time. The villas are great for families. The property was beautiful, the beach was among the most spectacular I've seen, and the owners (Brad and Tara) make everyone feel welcome. They combine a laid-back atmosphere with friends and family milling around in a very up-scale setting. We did lots of body-boarding and went on a tour of a nature park that was combined with a snorkeling trip, and my wife and daughter went horseback riding on the beach. There are great restaurants nearby. What's not to love?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Although it takes an effort to get here, it's worth it. Brad and Tara have created a lovely enclave that allows everyone to feel right at home.

Our casita was spotless, and the staff spent hours each day making sure the pool was immaculate and the grounds are manicured.

Breakfast in the thatch-covered Rancho is fresh and delicious. Christy makes a mean omelet!

We loved the casual tradition of gathering under the almond trees each evening to watch the sunset.

The beach is . . . magical.

We'd stay here again and have already recommended Villas Hermosas to friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This was my second time in Costa Rica, my first time staying at Villas Hermosas, and if I knew then what I know now, it would have been my second stay at this hotel. Everything about this place is top notch. From Tara answering all of my emails, to helping organize air and ground transportation was done in a timely and courteous manner. Both Brad and Tara were spot on with all of their recommendations for restaurants in the area. We also had a great time on the quad tour. By the way their dog Reef is one of the cutest dogs. It was entertaining to watch him play in the surf during the stunning sunsets. We are already planning our next trip down.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villas Hermosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Hermosas

Address: 400 mts sur de la escuela Hermosa Valley | San Martin de Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinctive beachfront hotel, Villas Hermosas, is located in Playa Hermosa of Mal Pais on the Pacific Ocean in Costa Rica. Please come and share with them their playful surf, thriving jungle, empty beaches, tropical gardens, and inviting swimming pool, while enjoying all the comforts of home! With only four villas, they offer a uniquely intimate experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas Hermosas Hotel Santa Teresa
Hermosas Hotel Santa Teresa
Villas Hermosas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Hermosas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villas Hermosas to your Saves list