We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, yes, it really is as magnificent as reported!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Hermosas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas Hermosas
400 mts sur de la escuela Hermosa Valley | San Martin de Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Yes, yes, it really is as magnificent as reported!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

My husband planned the perfect Costa Rican getaway for our family. But he couldn't have done it without all of the advice received from Tara & Brad during our planning phase. With their recommendations, we arrived in San Jose where we stayed at a wonderful recommended hotel; arranged a private charter flight on a recommended airline into Tambor; where our rental car was waiting for us for out trek to Santa Theresa. The accommodations, grounds, staff & beach access at Villas Hermosas are unmatched. My husband the morning person enjoyed his solitary walks on the beach each morning, often seeing only one other person on his 2 mile walk down the beach; while I enjoyed sleeping in, and meeting him with the kids at breakfast later in the morning. Be sure to get to know the staff. Everyone has their own interesting story about what brought them to Santa Theresa, and their own insight into the area.

We took full advantage of the easy beach access while there, enjoying the surf at Playa Hermosa, the great snorkeling at the large tidal pool, and the sunsets that are beyond words. It was great having snorkle gear, beach chairs & umbrella, and other beach gear available for our use during our stay. There are also some FABULOUS restaurants, believe it or not. Just a 200 yard walk down the beach in either direction, and you are at 2 of the best restaurants you may ever go to. Koji's will rival any Japanese place you have ever been to. And Pranamar has some great fresh, local fish & produce used in their inventive dishes.

Another highlight was Brad's ATV tour. Our 17 year old son had a blast running the ATV on the beach. Our kids also had a great time at the pool with Brad & Tara's kids. As well as our dog...uh, I mean, their dog, Reef. Our dog-loving' daughter loved waking up to Reef on our front porch, swimming with him in the ocean, and having him as a companion during our stay. Boy, talk about a dog's life!

We were all sad to have to leave. Our 13 year old daughter is already making plans to move there after college. I hope Brad & Tara still will still need a Nanny!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
89
122
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I travelled with our two teenage children. After spending four nights in the town of Santa Teresa and participating in many activities, we spent four relaxing days/nights at Villas Hermosas. We had visited the Cabo Blanco Nature Reserve the previous day and spent an hour and a half watching for wildlife, when we spotted howler monkeys in the distance. After checking into Villas Hermosas, we decided to take a dip in the pool only to look up and see howler monkeys in a tree near the pool! The next morning after our wonderful breakfast, a group of howlers were feeding in a tree beside the sand badmitton court while we played. One day, Tara arranged for a nearby fishing excursion for the guys (yielding mackerel, blackfin tuna, and the much anticipated...roosterfish) and a massage & pedicure for the girls in our villa. Most of our time, however, was spent walking along the beautiful beach, gathering shells and swimming. It was one of the most peaceful, unplugged family experiences one could imagine. Everyone we came in contact with at Villas Hermosas was helpful and friendly. After reading many reviews, it's hard to summarize the experience other that to say, "Stay here and create lifelong memories!".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Once we get a little sand in our shorts, we're pretty cranky. When we've got sand in our shorts, we got no tolerance for crowds, heat, cold, allergens, our own children, cars, traffic, stairs, religious fanatics, elevators, TV, escalators, anyone else's music choices, hotel lobbies, sushi, sharp sticks, or sunburn. That's what makes Villas Hermosas magic: When you get sand in your shorts at the beach at Villas Hermosas, you need endure very, very few additional irritations before you reach your villa and your shower and get that first problem cleared up. VH offers many bonuses: verdant botanical plantings, meticulous maintenance and cleaning, personal attention, a somewhat loyal dog who tags along on beach outings but might abandon you upon finding another guest at the seaside, exhaustive concierge services from relentlessly cheerful owners, and nighttime rains that fail to sully the sunny days. Would we go back? Honestly, we just don't like beaches all that much. Let's say we're abundantly joyful that we spent our one beach vacation of this lifetime at Villas Hermosas, and if we ever find ourselves at a beach again, we hope it's because we're once again at Villas Hermosas.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This place is the perfect paradise for couples and for families! My husband and I took our kids here last year and it was great! You just feel like you are home when you stay here! The owners Brad and Tara are such beautiful people inside and out! Brad and Tara would go out of there way to help you with anything you may need! All the staff is so friendly as well! We absolutely loved our villa, it was just perfect for our family! They have everything that you may need! The grounds there are just so beautiful, it does make you speechless! We woke up every morning to lay in the hammock and watch the monkeys, hummingbirds, and a lot more wildlife there! Then we would go have the breakfast that the lovely Kristi would make for everyone! She is also so friendly and such a sweet woman! And the beach that is just steps from you door is to die for, you feel like it is your own private beach while you are there! We LOVED our stay and we WILL BE BACK FOR SURE!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The location, the owners, the staff, the property, everything about this place was amazing. Our time there was more relaxing and more fun than anywhere else we've visited on any vacation. Brad and Tara are fantastic owners who go out of their way to make you feel welcome. They helped us with booking tours and restaurant recommendations, all of which were fantastic. You really feel like you are part of a family while staying there. Everyone goes out in the afternoons to watch the sunsets together, including the family dog Reef. We had many walks up and down the beach with Reef and he was often sitting on the porch of the honeymoon suite when we got back from meals or excursions around town. He even went snorkeling with us (he just kind of swam around and kept us company). We absolutely loved the pool as well. It's the perfect temperature and was always a nice refreshing break when we got too warm or when the humidity started to get to us. It felt like a home away from home and I can't think of a better place to spend a vacation. We hope to go back again soon. BTW...during our honeymoon we spent 5 nights at Villas Hermosas and another 5 nights at a place in La Fortuna near the Arenal volcano. The place in La Fortuna has won all kinds of awards for being one of the most romantic hotels in the world. In terms of pure enjoyment our time at Villas Hermosas was significantly more romantic and fun. This place is the best!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithia, Fl
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

If you can find this possible, the reviews on here drastically understate how AMAZING Villas Hermosas is for a relaxing vacation. The resort itself is immaculate, the villas are very big inside and the beach is out of this world. The sunsets are amazing.........each night taking on a different beautiful look in the sky......each painting unique. EVERY restaurant we went to was as good as the previous one. I cannot give you one bad restaurant in town. Brisas Del Mar was amazing to watch the sunset overlooking the Pacific, Koji had amazing Japanese food and is walkable from the resort.
The 'difference maker' with this resort compared to other 5 star resorts are the HOSTS. Both Tara and Brad are wonderful and go out of their way to accommodate any and all requests with a smile. From the minute you arrive, they make you feel 'welcome' and that warmth doesn't disappear even after you get home from you vacation. My only word of caution, and Tara is the first to tell you before you come, DO YOUR HOMEWORK. This is not South Beach or San Diego. There are minimal paved roads with most dirt roads needing a 4x4 to travel on. Depending on your interests for a vacation that could be a deterrent. The reality is, it enhances the beauty of Costa Rica to be able to see it intact and unaltered like so many places we visit that have become commercialized for tourism.
Breakfast at the Ranchiro cooked by Kristie is amazing and the perfect touch to start your vacation day out each morning with a smile.
DO NOT MISS Brad's ATV tour.................it was probably the highlight of our trip. I would suggest doing it early in your trip as you will surely want to do it again.
I could go on and on but the best thing to do is to go see it for yourself. Words cannot describe what you are about to experience.
Brad and Tara make it painful to leave as they, and their 2 children, make you feel so wonderful during your vacation.
The entire family and staff 'kill you with kindness'.
We will definately be back again soon to see our new friends.

Room Tip: All the villas are the same and extremely spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This was a terrific place - absolutely beautiful, with spectacular grounds, lovely rooms, and right on the beach. I was there with my sister for a quiet getaway - we loved the small size and attention to detail. Everything was super clean and beautifully maintained, and all of the staff were very friendly and always helpful. The owners Brad and Tara have created a fantastic, family-friendly establishment and they were always willing to go out of their way to help schedule activities and answer questions. They were also full of helpful advice and great tips. We would go back in a heartbeat!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villas Hermosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Hermosas

Address: 400 mts sur de la escuela Hermosa Valley | San Martin de Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinctive beachfront hotel, Villas Hermosas, is located in Playa Hermosa of Mal Pais on the Pacific Ocean in Costa Rica. Please come and share with them their playful surf, thriving jungle, empty beaches, tropical gardens, and inviting swimming pool, while enjoying all the comforts of home! With only four villas, they offer a uniquely intimate experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas Hermosas Hotel Santa Teresa
Hermosas Hotel Santa Teresa
Villas Hermosas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Hermosas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villas Hermosas to your Saves list