We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“... and we don't even like beaches” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Hermosas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas Hermosas
400 mts sur de la escuela Hermosa Valley | San Martin de Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
Overland Park, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“... and we don't even like beaches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Once we get a little sand in our shorts, we're pretty cranky. When we've got sand in our shorts, we got no tolerance for crowds, heat, cold, allergens, our own children, cars, traffic, stairs, religious fanatics, elevators, TV, escalators, anyone else's music choices, hotel lobbies, sushi, sharp sticks, or sunburn. That's what makes Villas Hermosas magic: When you get sand in your shorts at the beach at Villas Hermosas, you need endure very, very few additional irritations before you reach your villa and your shower and get that first problem cleared up. VH offers many bonuses: verdant botanical plantings, meticulous maintenance and cleaning, personal attention, a somewhat loyal dog who tags along on beach outings but might abandon you upon finding another guest at the seaside, exhaustive concierge services from relentlessly cheerful owners, and nighttime rains that fail to sully the sunny days. Would we go back? Honestly, we just don't like beaches all that much. Let's say we're abundantly joyful that we spent our one beach vacation of this lifetime at Villas Hermosas, and if we ever find ourselves at a beach again, we hope it's because we're once again at Villas Hermosas.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    253
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
89
122
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wildwood, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This place is the perfect paradise for couples and for families! My husband and I took our kids here last year and it was great! You just feel like you are home when you stay here! The owners Brad and Tara are such beautiful people inside and out! Brad and Tara would go out of there way to help you with anything you may need! All the staff is so friendly as well! We absolutely loved our villa, it was just perfect for our family! They have everything that you may need! The grounds there are just so beautiful, it does make you speechless! We woke up every morning to lay in the hammock and watch the monkeys, hummingbirds, and a lot more wildlife there! Then we would go have the breakfast that the lovely Kristi would make for everyone! She is also so friendly and such a sweet woman! And the beach that is just steps from you door is to die for, you feel like it is your own private beach while you are there! We LOVED our stay and we WILL BE BACK FOR SURE!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The location, the owners, the staff, the property, everything about this place was amazing. Our time there was more relaxing and more fun than anywhere else we've visited on any vacation. Brad and Tara are fantastic owners who go out of their way to make you feel welcome. They helped us with booking tours and restaurant recommendations, all of which were fantastic. You really feel like you are part of a family while staying there. Everyone goes out in the afternoons to watch the sunsets together, including the family dog Reef. We had many walks up and down the beach with Reef and he was often sitting on the porch of the honeymoon suite when we got back from meals or excursions around town. He even went snorkeling with us (he just kind of swam around and kept us company). We absolutely loved the pool as well. It's the perfect temperature and was always a nice refreshing break when we got too warm or when the humidity started to get to us. It felt like a home away from home and I can't think of a better place to spend a vacation. We hope to go back again soon. BTW...during our honeymoon we spent 5 nights at Villas Hermosas and another 5 nights at a place in La Fortuna near the Arenal volcano. The place in La Fortuna has won all kinds of awards for being one of the most romantic hotels in the world. In terms of pure enjoyment our time at Villas Hermosas was significantly more romantic and fun. This place is the best!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithia, Fl
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

If you can find this possible, the reviews on here drastically understate how AMAZING Villas Hermosas is for a relaxing vacation. The resort itself is immaculate, the villas are very big inside and the beach is out of this world. The sunsets are amazing.........each night taking on a different beautiful look in the sky......each painting unique. EVERY restaurant we went to was as good as the previous one. I cannot give you one bad restaurant in town. Brisas Del Mar was amazing to watch the sunset overlooking the Pacific, Koji had amazing Japanese food and is walkable from the resort.
The 'difference maker' with this resort compared to other 5 star resorts are the HOSTS. Both Tara and Brad are wonderful and go out of their way to accommodate any and all requests with a smile. From the minute you arrive, they make you feel 'welcome' and that warmth doesn't disappear even after you get home from you vacation. My only word of caution, and Tara is the first to tell you before you come, DO YOUR HOMEWORK. This is not South Beach or San Diego. There are minimal paved roads with most dirt roads needing a 4x4 to travel on. Depending on your interests for a vacation that could be a deterrent. The reality is, it enhances the beauty of Costa Rica to be able to see it intact and unaltered like so many places we visit that have become commercialized for tourism.
Breakfast at the Ranchiro cooked by Kristie is amazing and the perfect touch to start your vacation day out each morning with a smile.
DO NOT MISS Brad's ATV tour.................it was probably the highlight of our trip. I would suggest doing it early in your trip as you will surely want to do it again.
I could go on and on but the best thing to do is to go see it for yourself. Words cannot describe what you are about to experience.
Brad and Tara make it painful to leave as they, and their 2 children, make you feel so wonderful during your vacation.
The entire family and staff 'kill you with kindness'.
We will definately be back again soon to see our new friends.

Room Tip: All the villas are the same and extremely spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This was a terrific place - absolutely beautiful, with spectacular grounds, lovely rooms, and right on the beach. I was there with my sister for a quiet getaway - we loved the small size and attention to detail. Everything was super clean and beautifully maintained, and all of the staff were very friendly and always helpful. The owners Brad and Tara have created a fantastic, family-friendly establishment and they were always willing to go out of their way to help schedule activities and answer questions. They were also full of helpful advice and great tips. We would go back in a heartbeat!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Believe everything you have heard. Villas Hermosas is absolutely perfect. We considered many locations and hotels for our honeymoon but couldn't have chosen a better place to spend it. Santa Teresa is beautiful, the beaches are unbelievable, you feel so secluded. Brad and Tara are the absolute best hosts you could ask for; they make you feel like you are old friends! Their recommendations and help with excursions and reservations were priceless. Their dogs (especially Reef) and kids make you feel like you are part of their family and provide great entertainment. The villas are spacious, very clean, and very well decorated. The grounds are beautiful and extremely well maintained. Breakfast at the Rancho is delicious and the honor fridge is great. We didn't eat a bad meal the whole time, the food in town is spectacular, don't miss Koji's, Brisas del Mar, Chicken Joes, El Pulpo, or Burger Rancho. As far as excursions go, Brad's ATV Tour was the best thing we have ever done; we wish we had a chance to do it twice. Tara also set us up with a zip-lining tour in Montezuma and massages at Flor Blanca's Spa, which were both amazing. We feel like anywhere else we ever travel will never live up to Villas Hermosas, so we may never go anywhere else! We can't wait to go back! Book your trip now, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The great reviews are spot on; the villas are intimate, beautiful, spacious, and comfortable, and Brad and Tara couldn't have been better hosts. When my husband and I were deciding where we wanted to go on our honeymoon, we both decided we wanted to be around the beach and friendly people, and we wanted plenty of activities and nature along with a small town atmosphere. We chose the Villas based on the reviews and the price. We knew we were in for a good time when we arrived and there was a sign on the office door telling us to find our hosts on the beach. It was awesome. We stepped out, and there was the whole family just enjoying Paradise.

Right when we arrived, Tara helped us ditch our rental car (she arranged for Toyota to pick it up for us) and had an ATV brought to us. We spent the rest of the vacation on an ATV. Brad took us on an awesome ATV tour, and they were there to give food recommendations and directions to anywhere we needed to go. Mmmm. Don't miss out on the Tuna Ceviche just in town at Rancho Burger. Breakfast was really yummy and nice, and it was super cool that they had a fridge in the rancho next to the pool stocked with drinks and munchies. I just don't think you can find this type of service and intimacy at the big hotels. My husband and I honestly felt like we were hanging out with our friends from home. I find myself telling all of my friends that they not only need to go to Costa Rica, but that they are crazy if they don't go stay with Brad and Tara at the Villas Hermosas.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villas Hermosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Hermosas

Address: 400 mts sur de la escuela Hermosa Valley | San Martin de Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinctive beachfront hotel, Villas Hermosas, is located in Playa Hermosa of Mal Pais on the Pacific Ocean in Costa Rica. Please come and share with them their playful surf, thriving jungle, empty beaches, tropical gardens, and inviting swimming pool, while enjoying all the comforts of home! With only four villas, they offer a uniquely intimate experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas Hermosas Hotel Santa Teresa
Hermosas Hotel Santa Teresa
Villas Hermosas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Hermosas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villas Hermosas to your Saves list