We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice, relaxed, friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center to your Saves list
Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center
Playa Santa Teresa | 50 mts West from Super Costa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Mayrhofen, Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“nice, relaxed, friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

we stayed in a really big privat room, which was very clean. kelly and the whole staff is very friendly and helpfull!!!
the house is about 100 m away from the beach!
they offer yoga lessons all day, had a good one with jenny!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    21
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
32
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Casa Zen has been by far the best place for the value we have stayed in here in Costa Rica. Our room was private double room and was clean and simple - just what we were looking for. There are multiple areas to hang out as well as wonderful hammocks to lounge in.

The breakfast was absolutely perfect - fruit, toast with butter and jam and coffee (or tea). The community kitchen was easily the nicest we have ever seen as it used to be the professional kitchen for a restaurant that used to be there. It was also well stocked with cookbooks and a variety of spices.

We didn't take any yoga classes as we were on a budget but heard from other visitors that they were very good.

Casa Zen was so close to the beach - a 3-min barefoot walk away! It was also well placed in between the sprawling, long road of Santa Teresa. The grocery store was directly across the street.

Overall, an excellent option and the best value you'll find in Santa Teresa!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in the apartment which was good value on a location very close to the beach. The included breakfast of fruit and toast were among the best we had in Costa rica. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

The hammock area just outside was a great place to hang out. This area is also used for the yoga classes which restricts the time available here. We practiced yoga with three different instructors and all three were very good.

The apartment is connected to three other rooms by thin doors (locked, but lots of potential noise pollution as we noticed when some very chatty neighboors moved in). The floors in the apartment were pretty dirty so we had to keep our shoes on indoors.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussersihl, Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

we found casa zen to be a very nice little place to be. the housebeach is 100m away and quite a spot. the best beach is playa hermosa and worth the trip (5k). the rooms are clean (allthough hot, no AC), the service is very helpful and forthcoming. big and juicy breakfast is inclusive. we spent 34$ on a double, which was more than ok for Santa Teresa. you can use a very accomodating kitchen with all the knicks and knacks, the bathrooms/restrooms are very tidy and clean. it can be a bit loud in the general meeting area during evenings, but overall - it was ok. you can take private yoga classes, rent bikes or surfboards, there is a supermarket right around the corner. even if the flair was a bit nouveau hippiesque for our liking - the friendly and always helpful service sure as made up for it and we liked it very much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Hostel conviniently located in the heart of Santa Teresa, just a few hundrer meters to the beach. They rent bikes and surfboards
Room was very clean and quite big compared to other hostel.
Amazing morning breakfast included and great big kitchen and seating areas.
Wanted to take a Yoga class but it ended up being cancelled (which was disappointing but the staff recommended another Yoga place close by)
Very very very helpful staff. Very nice and friendly. A lady even prepared us a bag of fruits as breakfast as we were leaving before breakfast official time. Great service
Would recommend to anyone, anytime

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Casa Zen offers outstanding value in an amazing location. We loved our stay at Casa Zen. The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. We loved the location for a number of reasons. Firstly, the location is very close to the beach which is one of the most beautiful beaches we had ever had the pleasure of experiencing. It's literally a one minute walk. The second is that the location puts you right in the middle of the main strip meaning that there are plenty of good restaurants to go to. We also loved that there was a full featured grocery store within a two minute walk of Casa Zen. This made getting food, drinks, and sunscreen simple. The rooms are very simple but very clean and we felt that the value Casa Zen offered was incredible. The beds were very comfortable as well which is something we don't usually expect when staying in a more budget friendly hotel. The breakfast and coffee were great as well. My wife did a couple of the yoga classes which were excellent and the instructors were very friendly. We did have a minor complaint and something that people staying there should be aware off and that is if you are going to stay there try and get a room on the second floor. Our room was on the ground level and it was quite noisy with people coming and going at different hours. It's was certainly not a deal breaker. We loved our stay there but if we were to do it again (and we plan to) we would try and get a room on the second level. All in all we loved the whole vibe and experience at Casa Zen.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

So I arrive at the beautiful beach of Santa Teresa in early July. After walking the single road from Malpais I stumble upon Casa Zen. Tucked away in luscious gardens, this affordable yet neat little hostel really lives up to its name. With plenty of 'hanging-out' areas set with pillows and hammocks, it is easy to unwind and chill out. This is furthered by a friendly and open atmosphere at the hostel, which is mustered in no small part by the awesome guys that run the place.

The hostel is within spitting distance of the beach, and two great surf spots (playa Carmen and playa Santa Teresa) spoil the more active traveller. It is also possible to rent Quads from various places in the town

There is a supermarket about 50 metres away further down the road, and good provision to cook for yourself at the hostel with two working kitchens.There are also plenty of restaurants within walking distance (if you're lucky you may catch some fresh home-made empanadas from next door!). Complimentary breakfast is also served at the hostel each day.

The hostel hosts daily yoga sessions- the gorgeous surroundings makes the experience more spiritual....despite the fact that I hadn't sweat so much in my entire life.

As the name suggests, I was only planning on staying in Santa Teresa for a few days. I didn't leave till Mid August. It was undoubtedly the best time I had during my 3 month trip to Central America.

Ara, Kelly, other Kelly and Minor (not forgetting Ron-B) you guys made my stay amazing

Best of Luck

Dr. James :)

Room Tip: If you've got the cash, there's a kick but suite on the first floor ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center

Address: Playa Santa Teresa | 50 mts West from Super Costa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Teresa and Mal Pais are rather remote beach towns, and that is what makes them so special! Thankfully, even though we are a little off the beaten path, there are still quite a few services available to visitors. This is a excellent area to relax practicing of Yoga and Surf.On the first floor, we have six private rooms, ideal for single travelers, couples or pairs of friends. The rooms have either a double bed or two single beds. We also have two larger private rooms on the first floor, each with beds for three people. Scroll down for photos and prices for our private rooms. Upstairs you will find the apartment plus three additional rooms with varying capacities, featuring exterior doors as well as interior doors connecting to the apartment. An abundance of shared bathrooms are also located on the first floor (there are many to choose from and they are always clean!).We also have two well-equipped communal kitchens, including our signature chef’s kitchen, complete with a professional quality stove, microwave, blenders, and a giant stainless steel refrigerator. We offer a amazing Yoga deck with every day class. Our helpful, bilingual staff is always ready to help plan other tours and activities in the area, including surf lessons, canopy tours, stand up paddleboarding (SUP), visits to nearby waterfalls, fishing, sailing, snorkeling, horseback riding, ATV rentals and more. We can also assist you with restaurant recommendations, reservations and travel planning, so your trip can be totally relaxing and worry-free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Zen Hotel Santa Teresa
Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.