We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center to your Saves list
Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center
Playa Santa Teresa | 50 mts West from Super Costa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice place.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Nice place near the beach, but constricting rules. They have yoga classes daily, WIFI, and free breakfast of fruits and toast. A community kitchen and fridge. Bring your own lock for the safe. Pretty basic rooms just beds and a fan, but peaceful. 3 showers (no hot water) and a few more bathrooms. Hammocks in the garden area, but they were wet, and a reading area with a pretty big book collective. $25 a night for two twin beds. Not bad. Staff/Owners could be more friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    21
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
30
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had an amazing stay at Casa Zen. we were planning on staying only one night but ended up with five! Excellent kitchen, common areas, rooms and bathrooms. Great location. Thanks so much!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I was very impressed with the architecture and decorations considering it's a hostel, lots of small details that make a very attractice place to hang out in. The rooms just feel clean, sheets too. Sometimes they can look a bit stained at hostels, but all the linens here were impecably clean. There is a very cool upstairs lounge area with hammocks and this is also where the yoga classes are held in the mornings. Our room was perfectly adequate, and there are plenty of restrooms/showers. I especially enjoyed the large sink that was outside as you could still be surrounded by trees, etc. while brushing your teeth. The breakfast is similar to every breakfast I had in Costa Rican hostels, toast, fruit and coffee, but the portions were very generous and it was nicely displayed.

Room Tip: Some rooms have multiple walls with windows offering a cross breeze, if you have one window in your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights. The location is fantastic, just steps from the beach, close to a grocery store, and about halfway along the long dirt road that is Santa Teresa. The rooms are nice and dark so you can actually sleep in (something rare in CR!) There are plenty of hammocks and places to sit and hang out. It was quiet though, and not very social. The restaurant had shut down when I was there, Unfortunately, their communal kitchen was terrible. It consisted of a two portable burners of which only one worked, a fridge and a sink. The pots and pans were in terrible condition, there wasn't enough cutlery for more than 3 people to eat at a time. A bit difficult for a traveler on a budget that relies on cooking for himself. The other thing I did not like was that in the entire time I was there, our room was not cleaned at all. Garbage bins were kept outside and were emptied, but with all the sand and dirt that accumulated in the room, I felt that 6 days was too long to go without giving it a sweep.The woman at the front desk could be a bit defensive sometimes, even when you were just asking her a simple question.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Did not sleep here, but the food is good and finally found a place that is not sooooo expensive. Food is realy good and the price as well, if you don't sleep here at least go for the food!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phila
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

The atmosphere is very relaxing and in a good location. The rooms are clean and the community bathroom facilitys are well maintained. Close walk to the beach and supermarket. The food at casa zen is ok but you have plenty of other options around you. Great price, you definately get more than what you pay for. After reading some comments on here about theft, I must say that anywhere you go in Costa Rica there is theft. Don't leave your stuff outside at night,you are in a tourist area. What else do you expect! I suggest trying the Yoga. I did it for the first time and it was good. More of a workout than i expected. Definately will be back! Don, Kelly, and the rest of the staff are really nice people. Goto Casa Zen!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We've stayed at the Casa Zen several times and it is always great. The facility is always clean and nice, the price is very reasonable, the location is central and easy to walk everywhere in town, the beautiful beach is less than a minute walk away and most importantly the people are fantastic. Everyone is friendly and very helpful.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center

Address: Playa Santa Teresa | 50 mts West from Super Costa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Teresa and Mal Pais are rather remote beach towns, and that is what makes them so special! Thankfully, even though we are a little off the beaten path, there are still quite a few services available to visitors. This is a excellent area to relax practicing of Yoga and Surf.On the first floor, we have six private rooms, ideal for single travelers, couples or pairs of friends. The rooms have either a double bed or two single beds. We also have two larger private rooms on the first floor, each with beds for three people. Scroll down for photos and prices for our private rooms. Upstairs you will find the apartment plus three additional rooms with varying capacities, featuring exterior doors as well as interior doors connecting to the apartment. An abundance of shared bathrooms are also located on the first floor (there are many to choose from and they are always clean!).We also have two well-equipped communal kitchens, including our signature chef’s kitchen, complete with a professional quality stove, microwave, blenders, and a giant stainless steel refrigerator. We offer a amazing Yoga deck with every day class. Our helpful, bilingual staff is always ready to help plan other tours and activities in the area, including surf lessons, canopy tours, stand up paddleboarding (SUP), visits to nearby waterfalls, fishing, sailing, snorkeling, horseback riding, ATV rentals and more. We can also assist you with restaurant recommendations, reservations and travel planning, so your trip can be totally relaxing and worry-free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Zen Hotel Santa Teresa
Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.