We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful retreat filled with positive energy and a wonderfully accommodating staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center to your Saves list
Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center
Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Horizon Special
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
“A peaceful retreat filled with positive energy and a wonderfully accommodating staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

We came back to stay at Horizon for a second time for our honeymoon this year because we fell in love with it when we visited in the summer of 2009. The relaxed atmosphere and outstanding hospitality made us feel like guests at a friend's home. The ocean view is incredible. We were able to watch the sunset from our balcony every evening and fall asleep to the calm sounds of the ocean each night.

We especially enjoyed Horizon's food menu. We still miss it. Everything on the breakfast and lunch menu was exquisitely plated and prepared with fresh ingredients. We looked forward to breakfast after yoga each day and lunch everyday after surfing or a day at the beach.

The morning and afternoon yoga was excellent. The view of the Pacific Ocean from the yoga deck, along with the sea breeze made for a perfect combination for meditation, reflection and a healthy yoga session.

Horizon's location is perfectly removed from the main street, but just a few minutes down the hill to the beach, shops and restaurants. In our opinion, Horizon is the perfect retreat for anyone that's seeking a peaceful spa experience in the paradise of Costa Rica. We're currently trying to figure out how to visit once a year for our anniversary! We really can't say enough great things about our experience at Horizon.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
161
40
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

OMG this place is beyond compare. We are a family of four and we stayed in the cabin with the private pool. This is a gorgeous little hillside retreat in a perfect location, with spectacular views and great breakfast and lunch food. The owners are friendly and informative and the yoga is invigorating and relaxing at the same time.

Santa Teresa/Maplais is a fantastic little, out-of-the-way surfing town with a variety of beautiful beaches and the Horizon sits somewhere near the middle of it all. Our log cabin was very clean and comfortable with various seating options, including very comfortable hammocks, everywhere. The pool is a wonderful, secluded place to refresh after a hot day in the town or on the beach. Horizon is in the middle of the hill and there is a great restaurant for dinner a short walk up the hill and another a short walk down. There are many great places to eat, shop and relax all along the little, albeit dusty, road through town.

While I don't normally visit the same place twice, if I ever get back to Costa Rica I am definitely going to Santa Teresa and staying at the Horizon! I hope they don't ever pave the long road in.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

1) The rooms were new with great views, high ceilings, and comfortable beds (Our last day we had to stay somewhere else which was on the beach - Luz de Vida- where the bed literally caved in the middle, not to mention the lizards running along the wall and the moldy musty smell that made me want to barf). There was a fan in the room, the rooms were impeccably cleaned, and what a difference being up a slight hill makes in terms of temperature (we weren't sweating our faces off on the balcony). The balcony had a hammock - nice touch. Compared to other hotels in this price-range...well, incomparable..surprised that they don't charge more (heheh...hope the owners don't charge me more on my next trip though)
2) Pool - used it to cool off, not that big, but very clean, great view.
3) Safety - we were surprised one night at 3am by someone looking into our room with a flashlight. We told the owner the next day, who did some investigating, and found out that it was the security guard who had heard something over in our area. The owner (who was in the Israeli army mind you) told me he had tried a dozen of security guards and had checked on them at 4am to make sure they were up (only two remained). This security guard knew that some locals steal things out of rooms if they see an opening while tourists sleep so was checking to see if our stuff was still there. This was just another example of the tight ship that is run up at Horizon.
4) Smoothies - OMG. AMAZING. and the Muesli. seriously. the food is FANTASTIC before or after yoga.
5) Yoga - can't beat yoga on a deck overlooking the ocean...
6) Atmosphere - Very Zen, Crisp, Relaxing, Friendly (but not TOO friendly if you know what I mean). Just perfect. This hotel is Extremely well run in every aspect. And yes, there is Wi-Fi.
7) Restaurant up on the hill is great - hotel owners helped us set up reservations as well as book other activities for us.
8) Guess I might not stay here if I have trouble walking up a small hill or if your idea of a vacation is a rowdy, drinking fest...this is a place to relax and recharge.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

It has already been our 3rd time in the Horizon and every time when we come back we feel like at home. We have been in more expensive place in Santa Teresa such as Florblanca and MIlarepa, but the Horizon is unbeatable in price - value, service, food, yoga, special details and the owner family Gali, Yoav, Sol and Theo with so much soul. They even became friends of us!
The food is probably the best and healthiest in whole Costa Rica. I just say Tahini shake....
We love the place and will certainly come back many times.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

This is the perfect get-away in Costa Rica. The owner / management team are the best, the rooms/ yoga/ hammock on the veranda / proximity to the beach are fantastic. After a day you feel like you've been on holiday for two weeks.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orendorff
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

It might be a little hike from the beach, but the breeze, view and peacefulness are rewards far outweighing the small hike. I stayed long enough to experience three yoga teachers and each were great in their respective areas. I loved starting the morning with one of the divine fruit shakes coupled with the tea house views. The one bedroom villa had two great lounging areas and plenty of room for at least three people. Very friendly and helpful owners! They helped arrange everything from massages, surf lessons and taxis!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Excellent location, away from the busy main street but only 4 minutes walk to the beach. Great self catering cottage, yoga good teacher. Overall, would highly recomend this venue to relax and get away from it all.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center

Address: Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horizon ocean view hotel and yoga center. Our cabins and villas are fully equipped luxury units. Located on a hill side just above the center of town, only 5 minutes walk from the white sands of the amazing Santa Teresa beach, with its famous surfing points. We have three different pools dipping in wild tropical gardens, tea house & fresh vegetarian kitchen. The panoramic ocean view yoga deck is located at the highest point of the hotel. We parctice yoga daily as well as Pilates, and offer various types of massage treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Ocean View Hotel And Yoga Santa Teresa
Horizon Ocean View Santa Teresa
Horizon Ocean View Hotel And Yoga Center Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.