We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center to your Saves list
Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center
Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

I stayed at Horizon for 5 days at the end of December 2009, and absolutely loved it there! Beautiful, clean rooms. Amazing view. Nice, friendly staff. But most importantly, the owners - Gali and Yoaf are such kind, positive people! They really make you feel like home! I didn't try any food there, but all drinks (including herbal ice tea) were absolutely delicious. And Yoaf's home-made cookies are the must! I went to other places in Costa Rica, but this hotel was by far the best one! I definitely would like to return there again!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
158
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
peoria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

We stayed here for 2 days and enjoyed the stay, We wished we would have stayed longer. This place is a Gem, The rooms are clean comfortable with great decor. We loved the brakefast. The ocean views from the villa's are amazing. If you are driving its best to take a 4x4, we drove a car and its one tough ride. Only issue we had was we reached this place pretty late and the reception is closed and the guard on duty doesn't speak english, we had to wake up the owners in order for the guard to give us the keys to our room. I won't suggest driving from Paquera to San Teresa after 6pm as it is pitch dark and hard to see the road due to low traffic. If you plan on going late let owners about your arraival time. Yova and Gali are excellent hosts, we enjoyed taking to them.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

My husband and I went to the Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Centre from December 5-20, 2009 and we totally LOVED it. Although it took a little while to get there, it was so worth it... we discovered a secluded paradise ! Our villa was beautiful, fully equipped, clean, with a balcony facing the ocean...and even the bed sheets smelled amazing !

We started our days with a fantastic Yoga class given by a highly qualified Yoga instructor, on the Yoga deck overlooking the ocean, followed by a delicious fruit smoothie. There is no better way to start the day !

We also had lunch at the Tea House almost everyday, where we enjoyed
delicious vegetarian meals, beautifully presented, full of colors and
flavors, made with fresh ingredients. We tried everything on the menu and it was all so excellent !

We spent the rest of the day at the beach (only 5 minutes away walking) and in the 'pool of tranquility' at the hotel. Yoav and Gali, the owners, were so nice and kind and made us feel right at home. They were always there to answer our questions, chat and help us book day trips.

Everything in this place is welcoming and relaxing: the decor, the nature, the
music, the people...and the most beautiful sunset you will ever see !!! It is
truly a great place to relax and recharge your battery with positive energy! We will be
back for sure. Thank you Gali and Yoav !

Amélie & Arnold Vega
Ottawa, Canada

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

My husband and me travelled Costa for 1 mounth , cost to cost.

Though we wanted to be in many places , we fall in Love with
Horizon and stayed there for 2 amazing weeks.

We felt there so good we didn't want to leave.

Today , 2 years after , Horizon is our minds and we planning on coming back with
our little baby for 2 mounth.

I recomend you all to go visit this Super Unique place !!!

Yael Argman.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

i have been in horizon twice one time with my san 5 years old.really beautiful place with an amazing ocean view and a lovely garden.the rooms are spoiling and clean and has a nice balcony watching the ocean with hammock perfect for siesta.
the tea house plays a nice chill out music and serv excellent organic food and shakes (especially the power shake).
from the yoga deck at the top of the hotel you can see a waves lines reching the shore and can measure the surf.a very professional yoga teachers and inspiring classes.
a peaceful place with a pure vibe to enrich your body,mind and spirit.
the owners are friendly and run the olace with a grate personal touch.
definitely i will come again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mothership
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

If I could, I'd head out to Horizon any day of the week. The cabins are comfortable. The bathrooms are clean and spacious. The air conditioning and in house kitchenet were great to have. When I wasn'r eating at the on-site organic restaurant I did some shopping at the local market and cooked for myself. The views of the ocean all around made me feel like I owned the world .
To top it all off, every morning I headed to the yoga hall where the owners give classes. I'm not a great expert but they were very patient and instructive. Once again, the ocean views from the hall windows are wicked.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

All my life I will remember this place. this is where I offered my wife to marry me. everything around us was supporting this special moment and those strong feelings we had: The nice and calm atmosphere, the lovable owners, the powerful Yoga lessons and of course the ocean view. we stayed there for 2 amazing unforgettable weeks and we will definitely return back to this magical place.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center

Address: Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horizon ocean view hotel and yoga center. Our cabins and villas are fully equipped luxury units. Located on a hill side just above the center of town, only 5 minutes walk from the white sands of the amazing Santa Teresa beach, with its famous surfing points. We have three different pools dipping in wild tropical gardens, tea house & fresh vegetarian kitchen. The panoramic ocean view yoga deck is located at the highest point of the hotel. We parctice yoga daily as well as Pilates, and offer various types of massage treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Ocean View Hotel And Yoga Santa Teresa
Horizon Ocean View Santa Teresa
Horizon Ocean View Hotel And Yoga Center Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.