We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place, great people, the perfect hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center

Save Saved
You added Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center
Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful place, great people, the perfect hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

First of all, if you are going on a romantic trip get the villa with the private pool! We got a 2 bedroom villa and went with another couple it was amazing. It is a great place for people who love the outdoors, the beach, and an extremely laid-back and friendly atmosphere. I would go again in a second if I could! The rooms itself are sweet and lodge like and a perfect mix of nature and comfort. The private pool area is surrounded by lush jungle and there are beautiful birds to see everyday. The people in Santa Teressa and Playa Carman are some of the most friendly and welcoming people. Everyone we met there was very friendly and the beach was gorgeous. The wave were amazing, the beach was gorgeous, much nicer than the pictures I see on the websites. Don't miss the sunset!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
150
39
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

Well equiped bungalows w/ private pools located on the hill side above the village facing the Pacific with a magnificant view. Owners and staff do their utmost for the visitor to enjoy their stay, no request is impossible.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

What a wonderful place! My husband and I stayed for a week and wished we could have stayed longer. Our cabin was clean and simply decorated with our own kitchen, in-room safe, AC, and deck. The deck had a small table with two chairs and a hammock. The views of the Pacific (which could be seen while lying in bed!) and the sunsets were amazing. Yoav and Galli are gracious hosts and booked several activities for us (I highly recommend the horseback riding at sunset, massages with Greg and Maribelle, and the Canopy del Pacifico canopy tour). The food and smoothies at the tea house were outstanding and we loved the fact that they used fresh herbs from their garden. Yoav even cut aloe from his garden for me to put on my sunburn. The grounds are lush, beautiful and well-maintained. The yoga deck overlooks the Pacific and is the highest point of the hotel (Pilates class was great). Gorgeous beaches are a short walk away, good for surfing or lounging. Overall, we loved the relaxed and peaceful atmosphere of the hotel and Santa Teresa in general. This place really teaches you to slow down and stop letting life pass you by.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

We just spent nine days at the Horizon Yoga Hotel, with the first half in Room 5 (one room cabina with mini-fridge, no kitchen) and the second half in Villa C (two bedroom, two floor villa). Room 5 was closest to the triangular dipping pool and had a beautiful and peaceful view of the ocean - almost no complaints, except that the shared wall with an adjacent unit meant occasionally hearing our neighbor's conversations (especially in the bathroom, which felt a bit odd). Villa C was also wonderful - lower down on the hill (so the view was not as prime as Room 5), but having a private pool and a well-equipped kitchen more than made up for it. We used the kitchen well, picking up unbelievably fresh fish at the local fish market (Product C, in the Centro Comercial at the intersection of the road to Mal Pais and the road to Santa Teresa) to make sushi and pan-seared mahi mahi. Also, since Villa C is a standalone unit, there were no shared walls. Note that Villa C does not have an interior living room, so if you're inclined to hang out at the villa, you'll spend your non-sleeping hours in the kitchen (no couch, just a 4-person kitchen table), on the shaded outdoor terrace overlooking the pool (small couch, hammock and/or hanging chair) or by the pool. If you're looking for a place for 4 adults to share, the place may be a bit tight to the extent you think you will need indoor common areas.

Yoav and Gali run a really tight ship here. Everything is spotless, the furnishings are tastefully minimal and comfortable, the landscaping lush. They've really thought of everything one would need to have a comfortable stay, including hammocks, in-room safes and a friendly night-guard, AC (which, in our opinion, was essential - the heat of the day was almost intolerable for us and we really enjoyed the cool mid-afternoon siestas that we took in our air conditioned bedroom with the shades down). We also really enjoyed being in Playa Carmen (on the edge of town adjacent to Santa Teresa) - the beach just down the hill from the hotel is perfect at low tide for beginner surfing. There are also plenty of great food options in Playa Carmen.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

We just returned from our travels to Costa Rica and still have fond memories of this place. We've never stayed anywhere where when we left (after 5 days), we felt like we were leaving family. The owners Yoav and his wife (who had just - I mean - just, had a baby) were amazing. Between them, Dana and Eran, we could've just stayed. The accommodations were simple and tasteful. Much like the place. It's situated perched above Playa Carmen (between Mal Pais and Santa Teresa), which afforded beautiful views, especially the sunsets. I mean, really. You just gotta see them. The walk to the beach was easy going down but just a bit harder going up. Actually, the walk to the reception was just as tiring :) But, we went to the reception area a lot! The food in their "cafe" was great. Great flavors and a tranquil place to sip their yummy drinks. Don't miss yoga at sunset - it will transcend you. And, listen to their restaurant recommendations - all of them (from pizza, to italian, to sushi) were perfect. I cannot say enough about how special of a place this was.

  • Liked — Yoav and family
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2009

This was our second visit to Horizon - we stayed at Easter earlier in the year.

It is without doubt the most relaxing place I have ever stayed. The cabins are well laid out, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The views are amazing and it's just a short walk to the beach.

A real treat is the Teahouse - which serves the tastiest, healthiest food in the area. The Teahouse is the perfect place to sit out the midday sun - eating fresh, healthy food, listening to laid back music and watching the waves rolling into the beach.

Whilst I didn't go to any yoga classes, my wife hasn't stopped raving about them - apparently it's worth the trip just for the sunset class!!

Thanks again to Yoav and Galli - who are perfect hosts.

  • Liked — The views and the Teahosue
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

the combination between the nature of this place and the nature of the family running horizon, makes it a uniqe warm expirience.
A proffetional servise, beutyfull clean rooms and a warm hospitality.
surely a place to visit again and again and agin.....

  • Liked — uniqe feeling different than everythin else
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center

Address: Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horizon ocean view hotel and yoga center. Our cabins and villas are fully equipped luxury units. Located on a hill side just above the center of town, only 5 minutes walk from the white sands of the amazing Santa Teresa beach, with its famous surfing points. We have three different pools dipping in wild tropical gardens, tea house & fresh vegetarian kitchen. The panoramic ocean view yoga deck is located at the highest point of the hotel. We parctice yoga daily as well as Pilates, and offer various types of massage treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Ocean View Hotel And Yoga Santa Teresa
Horizon Ocean View Santa Teresa
Horizon Ocean View Hotel And Yoga Center Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.