We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Paradise.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center to your Saves list
Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center
Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Horizon Special
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Paradise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Where do I even begin?

This was my fourth time to Horizon and this year we had the privilege of staying at their two bedroom ocean view villa with friends. It was out of a dream.

We were welcomed with chocolates and all organic soaps and shampoos with little elements of nature to add the Horizon touch. Our room was perfectly cleaned daily, so much so that I would ask why/how they wanted to deeply clean our room so much. They even change the top heavier blanket of the beds which is so reassuring and makes you feel clean and comfortable. The kitchen is perfectly equipped for Costa Rican meals and has all the necessary cooking utensils. They even provide a large glass bottle of water for the villa which we refilled many times with their potable, clean drinking water.

The cleanliness, welcoming, natural paradise you enter is only the beginning. Yoav and Gali, Rapso, Jose, and staff are all encompassing, friendly, and provide anything you might need. Jose even removed a large intimidating spider within minutes from our balcony! They seem like they always know when you need help to carry luggage or anything!

You feel like family and theres no review I could write to explain that. The tea house is the perfect spot for breakfasts or lunch. With a full view of the Horizon and all natural foods from their garden, every meal is perfection.

In addition, Yoav and Gali are by far the most well connected spiritual souls so when they teach yoga you are in for an outer body meditative journey.

I can't say enough positivity about this establishment. All I can say is that if you visit them you surely will have a life changing experience. You will leave restored and with a new light for life. I can't imagine many hotels and vacations are able to provide that.

Thanks for changing my life!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
165
40
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Our family of 14 (including 6 teenage boys) arrived at Horizon last Monday. Yoav and Gali could not have been more warm or welcoming. The accommodations are perfect and the food is incredible. We originally were just going to have lunch at Horizon every day. Somehow everyone seems to also show up for breakfast too. Gali knows how to keep the boys full. The staff is just as lovely. Between yoga and massages for the adults, surfing in a perfect spot, along with horseback riding etc....it has been a great family vacation. Sadly, it is ending to soon. I originally came to Horizon by myself. I always felt safe and had the exact same experience. Yoav and Gali have created a very special place. Thank you Yoav and Gali for everything this week!!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I hadn't been to Santa Theresa since 2008 and I was a little nervous about taking my wife with me since she doesn't surf but this place was perfect. The rooms are beautiful with gorogeous views, air conditioning, and even a hammock on the balcony. The place is extermely well run down to the smallest details (our room was always cleaned when we returned from breakfast every morning- we never even saw the housekeeping staff.) The yoga studio is one of the nicest i've ever seen and the smoothies at the restaurant are delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and recommend renting ATVs to explore the area (we didn't have a car and didn't need one.) Overall, I think this is my favorite place for a surf trip and I can't wait to get back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I can't say enough great things about our experience at Horizon.....Gali and Yoav were absolutely amazing, kind, helpful and went above and beyond at every turn. The rooms were immaculate, the view was breathtaking, the location perfect, we could walk everywhere. The staff were very nice and always around to help out when needed. The yoga classes were diverse and fantastic with a yoga tree house that rested on top of the world with a view that would rival anything in Costa Rica. We will go back without a doubt and I would recommend Horizon to all of my friends!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Hola! Santa Teresa is beautiful & horizon yoga hotel is nothing short of perfection. We stayed in the ocean view cabin #1 and thought it was perfect. The owners Yoav and Gali are also very kind and helpful. As soon as you arrive, you acknowledge their warmth and genuine desire to make sure you are getting the stay you would like. The staff was also very helpful , and yoga was outstanding. The view from the yoga deck was by far my favorite place I've practiced yet. Just imagine Meditation with ocean sounds , birds chirping, and random howler monkeys calling...what's not to love!?! We ate breakfast twice at the tea room and both times impressed with the quality and detail of the food. I can't wait to go back :)

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Great little tree house apartment with pool. We loved out apartment which consisted of a kitchen with all modern amenities 2 bathrooms a bedroom and 2 balconies all for $130! The staff were so nice and helpful especially when our car got stuck after some rain! Great relaxed atmosphere would recommend it to anyone wanted a relaxed clean place to stay in santa Teresa however it is up a bit of a hill so be prepared!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We had a great stay at Horizon Ocean view. The place is magical, with lots of privacy in spite of confined quarters. Yoav was great at providing advice on best surfing spots, and we wish we would have stayed longer than two nights.
Best to take the ferry to Santa Teresa than try driving through the peninsula, as the roads are rough and driving takes longer than can be expected.
Santa Teresa was our favorite spot in Costa Rica, and this hotel a great place to stay!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center

Address: Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horizon ocean view hotel and yoga center. Our cabins and villas are fully equipped luxury units. Located on a hill side just above the center of town, only 5 minutes walk from the white sands of the amazing Santa Teresa beach, with its famous surfing points. We have three different pools dipping in wild tropical gardens, tea house & fresh vegetarian kitchen. The panoramic ocean view yoga deck is located at the highest point of the hotel. We parctice yoga daily as well as Pilates, and offer various types of massage treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Ocean View Hotel And Yoga Santa Teresa
Horizon Ocean View Santa Teresa
Horizon Ocean View Hotel And Yoga Center Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.