We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yoga + Ocean Breezes = Relaxing Nirvana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center to your Saves list
Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center
Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Yoga + Ocean Breezes = Relaxing Nirvana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

You might be able to find a nicer yoga spot in Santa Teresa, but from the deck, high up the hill, overlooking the ocean, and feeling the mountain breezes, it would be hard to be convinced. Horizon offers different choices of drop-in yoga classes. I attended both a Hatha and Vinyasa class on two consecutive mornings. Both instructors were good at giving alternatives to poses that would challenge different levels of yoga participants. My daughter could stretch her abilities, while I could feel appropriately challenged. Horizon also offers other services, including massage. From my limited experience, I can't imagine not being happy with anything offered here by these wonderful people. Namaste.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
152
39
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Horizon Ocean is a hidden gem. From the warm welcome your receive from Gali, Yovaz and the staff, to the beautiful ocean view from your cabana. There's also the amazing fresh food served in the tea house, the power shakes are AMAZING!!

Beautiful sunsets from the terrace during your yoga practice, make this place very magical.

If you like a mix of adventure, yoga, great food, surf and lying in your hammock listening to the waves of the ocean, then this is the place for you.

Everything is exceptional clean and the bed is comfy too!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I am just on my way home from an incredible 6 days at Horizon. My sister and I chose the yoga and surf package and stayed in one of the villas. Absolutely everything, from the morning fruit / protein shakes and yoga classes, to the surf lessons (incredible!), to the other add-ons (massages, horseback riding) were incredibly executed.

Gali and Yoav were extremely accommodating, flexible and hospitable. When we wanted to shift the timing of our surf lessons or our delicious brunches, there was absolutely no problem doing so. You can tell that they put love into what they are doing and truly believe in the holistic lifestyle that Horizon promotes.

One of the great differentiators at Horizon is that it not only has a fantastic kitchen that serves a refreshing morning shake and brunch, but it also provides guests with dinner vouchers for restaurants in town - so, we were given the opportunity to discover some delicious local cuisine!

Yoga classes were fantastic - other reviewers mention the view, but it was also the quality of the teachers (one of whom is Yoav) that made them stand out.

We stayed in one of the villas, which was a clean and beautiful 2-storey wooden structure with its own swimming pool, two balconies, two washrooms, a kitchen, two AC units (very needed this time of year!).

Overall - great experience. I would come back here in a heartbeat and recommend to any of my friends. I hope you have an equally incredible time!

Room Tip: Villas are lower and do not have an ocean view (but do have a private pool!). Simpler cabin rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My BFF and I spent 3 days at the Horizon at the end of February to celebrate our 50th birthday and had an outstanding experience. The hotel itself is built into a mountain (not optimal for those easily fatigued) and is breathtakingly beautiful. Of course the highlight is the yoga space at the top of the property that looks out to the Pacific. It's like practicing in a dream. We took two classes and, though the classes are for those of all levels, experienced yoga practitioners will not be disappointed. We watched the sunset every evening, went horseback riding on the beach, got Thai massages on property and spent hours walking the beach. It was just what we wanted and needed. With the beach across the (very dusty - this is a big deal in dry season) road, it's so easy to go back and forth. The couple who own and operate it, Yaev and Gali, are warm, lovely people. They were also extremely helpful. Take their recommendations for everything - where to eat, what to do, how to do it, and you cannot go wrong. Our particular villa wasn't the best becaus it was at the bottom of the property so we missed the ocean view and breeze. There was also quite a bit of noise from the restaurant next door. Nonetheless, my only real complaint is that I wish we could have stayed longer. Five days would have been perfect.

Room Tip: We had a hard time sleeping because the air conditioning was such that it seemed too hot or too cold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

It was like waking up in a tropical dream every morning, it was truly the most stunning horizon view to wake up to. Me and my boyfriend travelled around Costa Rica for 3 weeks and this was definitely the highlight of the trip and we ended up extending our stay. Yulaf and his wife were so lovely and helped us out with everything- you can really feel that they have put alot of love and effort down to make this the most relaxing place ever. The same when it comes to the food, it was delicous and they have alot of super healthy foods and shakes/ fresh juices/ fresh coconut! The atmosphere up in the reception/lounge/breakfast area is just super chilled with some nice music and a whole lot of great books and magazines. As we were there during low season we spent some rainy days just watching the thunderstorms from the main porch out on the ocean. And on sunny days it was great for checking out the breaks before surfing..
The wooden casitas are completely made out of natural materials and feel luxurious yet "homey" with a personal touch. If you are looking for a hidden away, private, luxury, organic place that makes you feel one with nature - this is the place for you. I can't say enough great things about this place. Oh and of course; When I am doing my yoga classes in London I try to keep the view of the horizon from the yoga deck in my mind. It's the most zen yoga location I have been to so far.. It was upsetting to leave this place but atleast I got a homemade superfood cookie for the journey from Yulaf - and it was so good I was sad when finished it.. haha.. We felt so grateful to have the opportunity to stay at Horizon and we definitely hope to be back in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Horizons Hotel and Yoga Retreat Center sits on the side of a steep hill, the landscaping is exquisite and lush, and its wooden casitas are charming and comfortable, each with its own private balcony that looks out to the huge blue Pacific Ocean. Ours is the highest up the hill, and even though these little cabins are fairly close, the vegetation provides privacy — you can lie in your hammock, sip pipa (coconut water), or write love letters home (like i’m doing right now) …. a lovely Israeli couple, Gali and Yaev, are our hosts as well as the chefs of the wonderful vegetarian cafe here. They extend their high quality care for their guests into every detail of what’s here, the physical beauty, the options for massage and healthy delicious foods, the arrangements for cabs and shuttles for excursions, their genuine warmth … and to me, the loving vibration of Gali and Yaev merge with the high energy of Gaia here to become a very sweet little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jönköping, Jönköpings Län, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The most beautiful shala in the world... A breathtaking ocean-view... Delicous vegetarian food... Sweet luxury in every little detail... Perfectly small, almost private pools to relax by... Great hospitality from the staff... I can go on and on... It was just amazing! A peace of paradise in the paradise, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica... Namaste.

Room Tip: The one bedroom villa was really nice if you want a litte bit more of a luxury staying. The bungalow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center

Address: Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horizon ocean view hotel and yoga center. Our cabins and villas are fully equipped luxury units. Located on a hill side just above the center of town, only 5 minutes walk from the white sands of the amazing Santa Teresa beach, with its famous surfing points. We have three different pools dipping in wild tropical gardens, tea house & fresh vegetarian kitchen. The panoramic ocean view yoga deck is located at the highest point of the hotel. We parctice yoga daily as well as Pilates, and offer various types of massage treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Ocean View Hotel And Yoga Santa Teresa
Horizon Ocean View Santa Teresa
Horizon Ocean View Hotel And Yoga Center Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.