We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Piece of Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center

Save Saved
You added Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center
Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Horizon Special!
Ranked #1 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
“Sweet Piece of Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Horizons Hotel and Yoga Retreat Center sits on the side of a steep hill, the landscaping is exquisite and lush, and its wooden casitas are charming and comfortable, each with its own private balcony that looks out to the huge blue Pacific Ocean. Ours is the highest up the hill, and even though these little cabins are fairly close, the vegetation provides privacy — you can lie in your hammock, sip pipa (coconut water), or write love letters home (like i’m doing right now) …. a lovely Israeli couple, Gali and Yaev, are our hosts as well as the chefs of the wonderful vegetarian cafe here. They extend their high quality care for their guests into every detail of what’s here, the physical beauty, the options for massage and healthy delicious foods, the arrangements for cabs and shuttles for excursions, their genuine warmth … and to me, the loving vibration of Gali and Yaev merge with the high energy of Gaia here to become a very sweet little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    259
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
141
39
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jönköping, Jönköpings Län, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The most beautiful shala in the world... A breathtaking ocean-view... Delicous vegetarian food... Sweet luxury in every little detail... Perfectly small, almost private pools to relax by... Great hospitality from the staff... I can go on and on... It was just amazing! A peace of paradise in the paradise, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica... Namaste.

Room Tip: The one bedroom villa was really nice if you want a litte bit more of a luxury staying. The bungalow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zen Guy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We've led a group retreat to Horizons for several years now. The location is beautiful, the staff and owners friendly, and the food at the cafe is truly in a class by itself. For a couple, the 3 cabins at the top of the property are the places to be, with fabulous views. The only downside is that this property is up a steep hill, so be aware that those who are physically challenged may have difficulty. Otherwise, you'll love it! Another good thing is that Horizons is far enough up the hill to avoid the clouds of dust on the dirt roads down by the beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I just left Horizon Ocean View Hotel, otherwise known to us as "paradise". We stayed in the ocean view room #1 and it was much more than we had expected. It is a very cute cabin-like room with a full bathroom, nearly full-service kitchen, and most importantly, a view of the ocean even as you are laying in bed! As many previous reviewers have already stated, Gali and Yoav could not be more generous/gracious hosts. They are very kind, helpful, and efficient! We merely mentioned a few of our interests while we were in Santa Teresa and Gali was on the phone immediately arranging whatever activities we wanted. We took surf lessons with Ben at Nalu (wonderful!) and the Zuma tour to Tortuga Island (very enjoyable). Gali's veggie meals at the Teahouse were divine (all eaten while looking out on the ocean view and feeling the ocean breeze from the open air patio) and Yoav's yoga class was a unique and amazing experience. I could go on and on. If you email Gali and Yoav ahead of time, they will arrange transport from the airport in Tambor (Luis, right on time and comfortable ride). I've never before been able to come home from a trip and state that the accommodations were "perfection" but that is how I felt after a week at Horizon.

Room Tip: Room #1 had a fabulous view but was right on the road which could be a bit noisy at times, although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

horizon is a very peaceful place, very laid-back, truly charming, simply: unique! not only because of the stunning views, the great bungalows, the amazing yoga sessions, the delicous food, blablabla, yeah, i know, i'm not the first to point that out, but foremost because of the owners who have an admirable way of 'embracing' their guests without forcing themselves on them. that really impressed me. i love having my privacy, and for that, surprisingly(!!), a yoga hotel has proven to be the perfect spot. but at the same time, when you leave your bungalow, you're so perplexed about this perfect vibe (and believe me, i've never ever even written the word 'vibe' before), that you go like 'wow, what's that feeling i'm having? something new, guess, no, yes, can that really be? i'm relaxed, yes, i'm totally relaxed', that the only thing that bugged me while staying with gali and yoav was to figure out 'how do they do it'? why do i feel so much more at ease with myself at horizon than in other places? why do i feel more welcomed and more taken care of than anywhere else in central america? what is their secret? what is it? damn, i'll definitely go back to figure it out!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Every morning, you wake to the sounds of the ocean. That sound will be with you the entire time you're at Horizon, which is one of the many benefits of not being at sea level! (Another is not dealing with the dust, which is ubiquitous down in the town during dry season.) Perched up on the hillside, you look out into the clear sky, over green trees and blue water. It's the perfect place to rest, relax, reset.

The rooms are clean and minimal - it's kind of like staying in a grown-up tree house, actually. There's running water, a kitchen with a fridge, air conditioning (grown-up) but there's also a hammock, the sounds of nature all around you (and sometimes in your room, don't worry, it's harmless), and a rustic aspect (tree house), which makes it truly unique. The owners are lovely people and a big part of what will make your stay so wonderful. They provide helpful notes in the rooms, but they are also available throughout the day, whether to teach one of the top notch yoga classes in the most amazing place I've ever practiced yoga (in an open pavilion overlooking the ocean, wow), whip up a delicious smoothie, or to answer any questions about the many things to do in the lively surf town of Santa Teresa.

This review is actually depressing me, because I'm sitting behind a computer in San Francisco and not laying in a hammock at Horizon ... Hmmm. Go. Leave now. You'll have to fly into San Jose, take a commuter plane to Tambor, and then take a cab to Santa Teresa, but it is worth it. You will get there and you will instantly understand - it is worth it. Take me with you!

Notes:
- You have to pay the balance of your bill in cash or you can pay by credit card but there is a 10% fee.
- For the beauty of the view and the peace of being above it all, there is a slight trek to the beach (down a hill, to the right on a dusty road, across a little bridge, to a path leading to the sand - about 7 minutes).
- Other reviews reference a pool you can swim in, but I only saw the dipping pool beneath the Tea Pavilion. If you're interested in the grounds, be sure to ask!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was the first of two stops for us on our first visit to Costa Rica, and we couldn't have asked for a better place to call home for 3 days.

Service-Fantastic. We were want for nothing. They set up our cab to and from the airport, our stand-up paddleboarding excursion (with transportation), and our ATV rental. No question went unanswered.

Accomodations-Slightly rustic, but extremely clean and comfortable. Great views. Fairly quiet, although not sound-proof, by any means. But we were never disturbed.

Location-Central to everything in Santa Teresa. You are up a steep hill, and the property has many stairs, so be forewarned.

Food-Great. The fruit juices are worth the trip alone. We only sampled the breakfasts, and they were really well done. Go with the wheat bagel. Their teas are made from herbs grown on the property, and are perfect.

Negatives-This would be nitpicking, really. We stayed in Cabin 1, and the WiFi was spotty. But if that's the only complaint, you're doing okay. I mentioned the steep hill, and you're a 5-10 minute walk to the beach, but like I said, if you know that going in, you should have nothing to worry about.

(Also be forewarned-like most places we went, you don't flush your toilet paper. It's really not a big deal, and is never noticable here.)

Overall, a fantastic place to stay, especially for the rates they charge. You'd have a hard time doing better in Santa Teresa, or anywhere else in Nicoya Peninsula.

Room Tip: Cabin 1 is a little spotty on the WiFi, and is right next to the road (but traffic is very minimal).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center

Also Known As:
Horizon Ocean View Hotel And Yoga Santa Teresa
Horizon Ocean View Hotel And Yoga
Horizon Ocean View Santa Teresa
Horizon Ocean View Hotel And Yoga Center Costa Rica/Santa Teresa
Address: Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horizon ocean view hotel and yoga center. Our cabins and villas are fully equipped luxury units. Located on a hill side just above the center of town, only 5 minutes walk from the white sands of the amazing Santa Teresa beach, with its famous surfing points. We have three different pools dipping in wild tropical gardens, tea house & fresh vegetarian kitchen. The panoramic ocean view yoga deck is located at the highest point of the hotel. We parctice yoga daily as well as Pilates, and offer various types of massage treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.