We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax,rejuvenate and enjoy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center

Save Saved
You added Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center
Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Horizon Special!
Ranked #1 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
Madison
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relax,rejuvenate and enjoy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I cannot sing the praises of this hotel enough. The accommodations,the landscaping,the food,the yoga and most of all the owners. This hotel will not disappoint. Look no further in this town which can be hot and dusty. This hotel is a piece of paradise.. Make sure you book tours through them as we'll because they will steer you towards the best guides.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    267
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
147
39
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

There was so much to love here I'm not sure where to begin. Yoav and his wife have made the most out of this resort. First off, the room quality is excellent and amazing for the price. The kitchen is tiled and surrounded by windows. You have everything you need there along with a bar/counter to sit and eat. The bedroom faced the ocean and the bathroom was large and spacious. The place was very very clean and well maintained. The next thing we noticed the next morning was the delicious breakfast. Yoav and his wife are of Israeli descent and cooked amazing breakfasts with toasty, light bagels and served with little sides like an amazing yogurt dip. My favorite was the shakshuka (eggs in a tomato sauce with a perfect blend of onions, herbs, etc...; dip the bread in here and you have a full breakfast) and their homemade hot sauce. So incredibly good and sets you off in the morning right. Next, we did yoga in the morning in a beautiful wooden, open space that you could see the surrounding trees. The spa treatment was perfect in their secluded, open air, private gazebo area. The pool and meditation chair swing were also a lovely detail. I can't recommend this stay more and three nights for us was not enough. Santa Teresa was one of our favorite places we visited in CR and the food (Koji, Brisas del Mar, and Chicken Joe's were our favorites) in the town was some of the best we had in CR. I can't recommend these guys enough and hope to find myself down there again soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I have been coming to Santa Teresa since 2007! Horizon continues to be the best place to stay despite new and upcoming places around town. The views from the rooms and pool are gorgeous, the staff is beyond excellent, and the food is delicious. I was not disappointed by one single thing. The yoga and Pilates teachers at horizon are amazing no matter your experience you will definitely enjoy it! I look forward to going back every year!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the cabins from a single to a 2story cabin they are all excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We try to live without expectation, however, we do. Fortunately, The Horizon met and exceeded any expectation that I had during my stay. Yoav and Gaili were perfect host. The cabin, the grounds, the food were all filled with "BIG Love". Every attention was given to details from arranging excusions, flowers in the room upon arrival, fabulous tea treats at the end of hot days, dinner reservations and an amazing yoga instruction with a beautiful view. Thank you so much for helping to create a magical vacation! I will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We managed a last minute booking around Xmas time and we stayed for 6 days. We loved it!! Thank you, Yoav and Gally! The attention to detail is apparent everywhere you look, from design, to food, to yoga. Our comfortable cabin, #3, was superbly located with magnificent views. The quality of the yoga teachers was high and we enjoyed trying different ones on different days, and that includes Yoav's class. The food offer was superb. Interestingly, they only offer breakfast and lunch, which allowed us to explore the local restaurants at night - several located within walking distance. Back at Horizon, I quite enjoyed the muesli with tropical fruits and nuts. The beach is indeed 5 minutes away but we had a car and enjoyed exploring the length of the Mal Pais/Sta Teresa beaches. My girlfriend is newly pregnant and Gally went out of her way to make her feel comfortable and welcome. Much appreciated. I have in the past stayed at more high-end/boutique style resorts in the area but must say that Horizon offers great value for the money and definitely deserves a top spot! We almost felt like we were staying with friends. We'll be back, the 3 of us!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at the Horizon for the second time... Everything was perfect again!

Good surf, amazing yoga, excellent food, great service, nice vibe... We couldn't ask for a better place to stay!

We will be back soon.

Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was our first visit to Costa Rica, and after extensive research on the web before booking, we picked the best hotel in the area! The cleanliness of the villa was excellent, the location of the hotel and our villa was perfect , just out of the main area but easily walkable to shops, restaurants and beach in 3 minutes. Breakfast was the best ever, and we have come home super healthy after all the fresh wonderful food. Gali and Yoav were the perfect hosts, their team are super efficient, nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely be back to Costa Rica sometime, and will undoubtedly stay at The Horizon. Christmas at home in England will never be the same, Thank you

Room Tip: We had a 2 level room and shared the pool with only 1 other, they never used it so we had the pool t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center

Address: Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horizon ocean view hotel and yoga center. Our cabins and villas are fully equipped luxury units. Located on a hill side just above the center of town, only 5 minutes walk from the white sands of the amazing Santa Teresa beach, with its famous surfing points. We have three different pools dipping in wild tropical gardens, tea house & fresh vegetarian kitchen. The panoramic ocean view yoga deck is located at the highest point of the hotel. We parctice yoga daily as well as Pilates, and offer various types of massage treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Ocean View Hotel And Yoga Santa Teresa
Horizon Ocean View Santa Teresa
Horizon Ocean View Hotel And Yoga Center Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horizon Ocean View Hotel and Yoga Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.