We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful small hotel in paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa to your Saves list
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 kilometers past Santa Teresa, left hand side, Santa Teresa 1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful small hotel in paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. If you want a feel of how real Costa Ricans live but keep it on the fancier side, this is your place. I've stayed deep in the jungle with some Ticos and while this place is much fancier than that, it still has the feel of that experience with open air bathroom, not fully enclosed rooms (no window panes, walls don't go all the way to the ceiling) and only cool water showers. This is also an Eco conscious hotel. No chemicals in the pool and they encourage beach cleanup (the beaches are magnificent here and very sparse with people).

There are many monkeys that hang around in the trees here too.

I can't say enough about the friendliness of the staff. They are all super wonderful. Super super wonderful. Very gay friendly, as are a lot of places in Costa Rica even if they are not strictly gay.

This is a very romantic and relaxing getaway hotel. Just be aware that it is not a very American style place. You're going to get a more Tico style experience without roughing it too much.

I hope you have as much enjoyment of this place as we did.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Whooguy,
greetings from Santa Teresa. Thank you for sharing your recent vacation experience at Latitude 10. We are convinced it will be very helpful for other travelers that are planning to visit the area. We appreciate your positive comments about our staff and the overall experience. There is no doubt that the guest room experience at Latitude 10 is very different from any other place that you might have visited. Showering outside with monkey's looking down on you from the trees is a unique and unforgettable experience (oh, by the way, our apologies, we do have hot water in the showers, just that the solar heating system was not working correctly during your stay). The openness of the suites might not be a fit for everybody, but if you want to trade in concrete wall and air conditioning for a few nights of "Glamping" (Glamorous Camping) listening to the sounds of nature and the Ocean, don't wait any longer. Latitude 10 is your dream come true. We were happy to hear that you felt the "Tico" vibe. As part of the Cayuga Collection of Sustainable Luxury Hotels and Lodges, we have the policy to work with a 100% local workforce (among other things). Thanks again and we hope to have you back with us real soon. Saludos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    8
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
95
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

While it is a trek to get to Latitude 10, it is definitely worth it! This is one beautiful, romantic resort that has the kindest staff ever. Latitude 10 has only 5 bungalows and therefore when full may have up to 15 guests. As a result the staff provide very personalized service. The resort is located on a beautiful beach, which you can see from their pool and from the clubhouse where meals are served.
Their beach has hammocks and some chairs and is a great place to watch the sunset. The rocks and current there make it not a spot to swim. But you can easily walk to other beaches where you can swim. Frankly I enjoyed the pool as much as I did the ocean---though it is beautiful to see the Pacific Ocean in all its powerful majesty.
Breakfast is included in the daily rate and there are wonderful choices and excellent coffee. The other meals are available for a charge as are drinks, alcoholic and not. Dinner is very romantic, by candlelight. All the food is very fresh and is cooked in front of you if you sit at the bar. The chef will give you tastes of special items as a sort of free appetizer. Also one night the chef made a meal to order as per my husband's request. However, the lunch and dinner choices are the same each day. My husband, however, ate the chicken quesadillas 3 days in a row---he liked them that much.
The bungalows are nestled in the jungle or overlooking the ocean. Our bungalow had a very comfortable queen sized bed surrounded by a filmy mosquito net and backed by a lovely iron screen. Our bathroom was open air and had a double shower. The water is solar heated and it was lukewarm---which was fine since it was often quite warm out. The bungalows have no windows and there is a ceiling fan. We were given a floor fan---magically since we didn't mention we needed it!
At night the mosquito net is drawn down, the shades closed and candles and incense are lit in your bungalow---very romantic!
The property is pretty much untouched jungle. Howler monkeys started howling one night at 4AM and there are raccoons who may disturb your bungalow if you bring food in to it. We also saw iguanas, squirrels and a tiger heron that hangs out by the pool.
The staff were all amazing---friendly and sweet. They will do whatever they can to make your stay wonderful!
You can pay to have laundry done--- my husband's was returned the same day in a lovely basket.
To get to Santa Teresa town you can ride a bike ( no charge) or go by taxi or you can rent an ATV or car ( in town). The road is unpaved part of the way and very dusty due to a lack of rain. We should have rented a car which would have alt he area.lowed us to explore more of the area.

Room Tip: I only saw our bungalow---I think the bigger ones are closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We liked Santa Teresa & we loved Latitude 10... The resort was by far the most beautiful, well appointed place that we stayed in Costa Rica. It incorporated Balinese themes in the furnishings. The room (freestanding eco cabins) was spacious and luxurious, yet rustic/open air--which I love, so that you can fully enjoy the sounds of the jungle and the beach. The outdoor bathroom/shower was huge and wonderful too. The setting on the beach is beautiful & the pool was warm & great for swimming. The resort only accommodates a small number of people, which I really like as I dislike the big hotel experience. The service was great--everyone was very helpful and attentive without being fawning & fake, which is the case at most high end places. There were some unforgettable touches such as the lighting of candles during turn down service. Also, little things like sunscreen set out by the pool. The overall vibe was intimate, relaxing, laid back yet very attentive. Hector was helping us while we were there mostly and he was wonderful. The beach at Santa Teresa is gorgeous; however, parts of it are not that swimmable between rocks & the currents. My husband was very keen on staying adjacent to an easily swimmable beach. I was told Montezuma was more swimmable but it was a huge mistake to have gone there. the hotel was horrible compared to latitude 10 & the beach was way worse--dirty & also not swimmable. We regretted leaving & missed latitude 10 a lot! Also, i'm happy i chose latitude 10 over florablanca, which i believe is more expensive/bigger. (they're next to each other i understand.) One note is that Santa Teresa is quite large & latitude is on the far edge which means taking taxis/driving to get to most other places. Some people rent the ATVs to get around on the rough roads. Also, we came in July & did not have issues with the rain only very light showers-that was one of my bigger concerns which wound up being a non-issue.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear neenzfabulous,
thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your experience at Latitude 10 Resort. We are excited to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed the rustic, yet elegant experience in the rainforest right in front of the Santa Teresa beach. We agree with you that the outside shower is one of the greatest features of a stay with us. This might also be the reason why so many honeymooners stay with us. The Latitude 10 Experience is as removed from a big hotel or resort experience as you could imagine. We want to make our guests feel special, provide personalized attention and in away make you feel as you were staying with friends in their beachhouse. The only difference is that we will give you the service and attention that you are used to from luxury hotels. We hope that your review will inspire many others to visit us here in Santa Teresa or another Cayuga Collection Hotel or Lodge in Costa Rica. All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is a perfect place for a relaxing vacation! We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and can't thank enough the hotel staff Jose Pablo, Nacho, Mario for making our stay so pleasant. The food was great! my daughter LOVED Jose Pablo and Nacho's pinas coladas. :) The room was perfect and it was always clean. The sound of the sea while falling asleep is priceless! This is a unique place surrounded by nature and right next to the beach! A place you can call Paradise!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We embraced everything Latitude 10 had to offer. We stayed for 2 days and never left the hotel/grounds. When we arrived, someone was waiting for us and knew our names. There was no "check in" process which was really a nice touch. The room was rustic, but in a romantic/luxurious way. After spending time in Tamarindo, this is exactly what we wanted. The staff was BEYOND friendly and accommodating- Hector was awesome. The food was delicious (breakfast/dinner), the pool was wonderful, the beach, turn down service with candles, heart-shaped flower in bathroom, etc. We also got massages there, which were awesome- ocean breeze, birds, great masseuses. Latitude 10 may not be for everyone, but I must say we were so satisfied we can't say enough great words still! Thanks for such an amazing experience!

***Just a note: The drive to Santa Teresa from Tamarindo is a CRAZY drive, 5-6 hours of bumpy, rocky, no signs, rivers, no one around. However, totally worth it, but maybe better to fly then drive from Tamarindo. What an adventure!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed here as part of a tour of Costa Rica. It lived up to our high expectations!
Food and service were truly excellent.

Most mornings we went surfing soon after the sun came up and then walked back along the expansive Santa Theresa beach to a breakfast of freshly picked tropical fruits. It's a great spot for a romantic getaway. Very good for independent travellers in need of some tranquillity and relaxation with only the sounds from the tropical trees and vegetation all around - and of course the Pacific surf just a few yards away.

Getting there is not for the feint hearted because the long bumpy road out to Latitude 10 is dusty/muddy in many places.

All the staff are genuinely friendly and great company.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Cuttery,
greetings from the secluded Santa Teresa Beach and Latitude 10. Yes, you are right, it takes the right kind of person to come to visit us. You might take a flight with a small plane, a ferry across the gulf or a car ride on a bumby road. But as we read the recent reviews (including yours) it is very clear that everybody that came, agrees that it is well worth the effort. Maybe it is even a way to make sure that the crowds stay out and that it stays such a special place. By the way, our reservations department is happy to help you find the best and most comfortable way for you to come here.
Thank you for writing such a great review about your experience of surfing, eating the freshest tropical fruit and the nice connections you were able to make with our staff. Latitude 10 is the perfect place to relax, spend some great time with a loved one and reconnect with your natural rhythm in nature. We hope to have you come back soon. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed at latitude 10 for 9 days on our honeymoon and we have to say it was perfect. The room was beautiful, the food was superb, and the staff was so kind, thoughtful, and in a way loving like a family.

The staff for us was the best part the manage, Jose Pablo, was very nice and genuine we we're able to get to know him more and he took is out fishing, twice! Now I have been to many hotels but not many where the manager and his staff will take you out. He is more like a friend than just a member of staff and that's how all of the staff members became. They will help you book and plan all of your adventures which is so helpful because We thought we knew what we wanted to do but we had no clue once we were there. They will also help you with food choices around the area (ask nacho he has good recommendations)

Latitude 10 is a diamond in the rough of Santa Teresa the beaches are beautiful,the people are great, and the atmosphere is so peaceful. We cannot want to go back!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa

Address: 4 kilometers past Santa Teresa, left hand side, Santa Teresa 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Latitude 10 Resort was built as a private resort and is now available to the public. The resort consists of five spacious free standing, individually decorated and private casitas. Each casita has its own tropical decor, situated on over seven acres of private beachfront property located near the bustling beach town of Santa Teresa on the Southern tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica. Staying at Latitude 10 is like staying with good friends at their luxury beach house. You will experience personalized service and attention to detail in a relaxed, yet classy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa Hotel Santa Teresa
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.