We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST VACATION EVER!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa to your Saves list
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 kilometers past Santa Teresa, left hand side, Santa Teresa 1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Green Season Value
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Sarasota, Florida, United States
1 review
“BEST VACATION EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband and I visited Latitude 10 at the end of July 2013. After driving 6 hours from the airport, we were thrilled to arrive in beautiful Santa Teresa! Latitude 10 was tucked away, on a beautiful secluded section of the beach!
From the minute we arrived, we knew we were somewhere special! The personalized service from the staff was amazing. Jose gave us a welcome cocktail, a tour of the property, and welcomed us to our amazing Casita! We had a beautiful view of the ocean from the room. The outdoor batroom/shower was fabulous.
Every detail we could have imagined was thought of. The service, the food, the cocktails, the turn down service that included lighting candles down the walkway and throughout the Casita- all of the ammenities! The experience was superb!
We cannot wait to go back !!

Lynne and Berry Catlin
Sarasota Florida

Room Tip: If you can get the largest Casita with the view of the water, it is well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    8
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
95
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We started out our 10 day Costa Rica honeymoon with 5 nights at Latitude 10 in late June of 2013. I have been procrastinating writing the proper review it deserves, but here we go.

Latitude 10 was the best experience we have had traveling, period. That statement reflects the service as much as the property itself. As far as the property, it looks like a scene from a movie. Jungle meets ocean, just amazingly beautiful: intensely green and lush.

The room -

We stayed in the Master suite which was very spacious and very private. The bed was super comfortable bed and there were several comfortable seating areas and a dining area along with a kitchenette in the room. There is a really nice wrap around deck with a hammock and chairs. perfect for napping. The outdoor bathroom (which is bigger then our apartment) was its own amazing experience. Going in, I wasn't sure how comfortable my new bride was going to be showering with nature, but the area is so lush you really don't notice it. Showering in the rain is a must do, consider yourself fortunate if you get this experience! It is definitely an open air concept and you get all the goodness that comes with it: nice ocean breezes and my favorite part: hearing the ocean waves the entire night, definitely a highlight for me.

Common areas -

Poolside has very nice lounge chairs, lotion and nice thick towels are always nearby. The ocean in the background is icing on the cake. Plenty of shade around the pool if you want it and lots of sun as well. The restaurant/bar/lounge area is fantastic. Guests seem to congregate there at various points of the day. There were several couples when we stayed and we had a great time meeting and hanging out.

Side note, I was amazed at how clean and bug free the property and rooms were. You are in the jungle and on the ocean, I would expect there to be a certain amount of critters. I was prepped for it, I prepped my wife for it. But really there was little of it. The staff takes great pain and great pride in cleanliness and it really is evident. I cant imagine the effort it takes to keep an open are concept property like this so clean, but they pull it off in a spectacular way.

Food -

Best food of our entire Costa Rica trip was here. We went out several times both in Santa Teresa and during the second leg of our trip (another amazing Cayuga property). The food here was just so great, breakfast, lunch, dinner - all great. Living in NYC, we are fortunate to get access to a ton of great food from a wide variety of areas. I truly truly thought every meal I had here was dynamite. Watching the chefs cook, you know its personal and it comes through with every meal. If your booking, do yourself a favor and make sure you save some meals and eat at the property. The value is outstanding, but its really the food and the chefs that shine through.

Service -

This is where Latitude 10 goes from great to outstanding in my book. The folks that work there absolutely make the experience. Jose Pablo, Maricella, Juan, the housekeeping staff (the best turndown service ever!), the chefs, bring it all together. They genuinely seem to care about your experience and making sure you are having a great time. They are friendly, engaging and seem to just to do all the little things that will make your stay special. I cant say enough about them all. Its obvious they take great pride and care about what they do and they way they treat people - so positive and so refreshing.

Costa Rica is a wonderful country with wonderful people. The experience at Latitude was a romantic and amazing adventure that epitomizes the country in my mind. The property, scenery, and staff made this a truly unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Master Suite. Very private and really spacious. Amazing outdoor bathroom. We didnt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

It's really the best place in Santa Teresa, it's away from the centre so it won't be noisy at all but it's near enough for you to walk or ride a bicycle to the nearest restaurants or shops. The rooms are great, they are very private but you still can be in touch with nature. You can sit at the little terrace and just admire the atmosphere. They have the best pillows I have ever used and the bed is so comfortable, you will definitely get some rest before waking up to the monkeys and birds sounds. It's wonderful. The bathrooms are an incredible experience, showering under the trees and the sun or the stars, here you can appreciate the tranquility of this place.
The staff is amazing, they will light up the room with little candles at night and will always be so kind to you and help you in anything you need. Also the food is amazing, all the breakfast options and the ceviches are the best.
The beach is beautiful and almost deserted so don't worry about crowded beaches, you won't have it here. It's an amazing experience, you will never have to worry about anything.

Room Tip: Whatever room you choose it's perfect. Each one has something in particular that makes it specia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Kariecheverria,
greetings from peaceful Santa Teresa and Latitude 10. Thanks for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your stay with us. We are thrilled that more and more guests find out about the uniqueness of the Latitude 10 experience. While showering under the trees (being watched by monkeys) or under that stars in an open air bathroom is not for everybody, it is a life changing experience for the guest looking for that special experience. Thanks for pointing out the great service you received from our staff. This is a great motivation for us to work even harder. We hope you come back and visit us again real soon. All the best. Pura vida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Heredia, Costa Rica
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I've always been against giving an "excellent" rating to all categories on a review as it might seem a biased or a not serious review, however there is always an exception to every rule. In this case it applies to my recent stay at Latitude10.
Amazing grounds and very attentive staff, combined with the unpretentious but tasteful luxury of the hotel's architecture, and the never ending music provided by the sea and the property's permanent residents (monkeys, birds, iguanas), make for a truly unique, relaxing, and memorable escape. Latitude10 breaks the mold, and hence, I break my rules. Overall, excellent!
David Simon

Room Tip: Both Master Suite and Junior Suite offered a true symphony of sounds of the sea and forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Oak, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

What a beautiful resort! The cabanas are romantic and a great place to just relax and enjoy the natural beauty of Costa Rica. At night, you slip into the comfy bed and feel the cool breeze blowing across the sheets...as the sound of the ocean lulls you to sleep. The staff are so friendly and helpful! I felt like I was at home with friends. We went during the rainy season so brought several swimsuits (it takes a while for one to dry out). We also brought repellant, a flashlight, and stuff to read (although they have books and games there for you to borrow). We plan to go back!

Room Tip: The Master Suit has a lot more space and is closer to the ocean, but all the rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avalon, n.j.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a must do! A great place/area to unplug and re-charge yourself.
I traveled with my husband and 9 year old daughter. We had a master suite which had plenty of room for 3 people. Understated, casual, luxury. I almost cried when we had to leave!

We went in August, during the "green season" so it did rain everyday, mostly in the evening.
the advantages of the green season, are less crowds and everything is, well, green. Beautiful and lush. The disadvantages are that not everything is open for business, as some places shut down until November and there is a fair amount of mud and muddy roads. Once you adjust, it's not so bad.

Besides the beautiful scenery and accommodations, it is the staff that makes this place so special. Juan, Hector, Marcella, Jose and the rest were all so friendly, helpful, and kind.
My husband an I celebrated our wedding anniversary while we were there and the staff surprised us with a cake. It was such a nice gesture. Made our day!

The food at the property was always excellent. Nice selection, beautiful presentation, fresh, fresh, fresh. Just great. Most of the off site dining was great, as well. It is a little pricier than I had expected. Usually about $45-70 per meal for 3 people.

If you go, rent a car. Walking around is not the easiest thing to as there are no sidewalks and the dirt , yes, dirt road is a little rough. We rented an SUV and had no problem getting around and navigating the area. The scenery is breathtaking. Get out and check it out!

Juan organized a couple of tours for us. Our tour guide Adrienne, from Olingo tours was great.
Very knowledgeable. We did a trip to Curu which we really enjoyed. the white face monkeys
were really fun to watch.

This is a VERY casual area. Dress clothes are not needed. No high heels or sport coats.


We would go back to Latitude 10 in a heartbeat and would highly recommend a stay there!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Augustine, Fl
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We always wanted to go to Costa Rica, we've heard so many good things. So when we got the offer from Sniquaway (Jettsetter), my wife and I seized the opportunity, and we couldn't have been more pleased. we stayed 5 nights and from the moment that we made our reservations the staff couldn't have been more accommodating. After realizing that we had booked for the worst time of the year, we asked if we could move our date...no problem. They had Richard, the driver meet us at the aiport in Tambor and were welcomed by Juan at the entrance of the property, he made us feel at home, we were completely comfortable. Maricella (sp) Hector, Juan, Jose, Mario and the rest of the staff went out of their way to make everything perfect for us. Originally, we planned on doing several excursions, but once we arrived we just wanted to relax most of the time. The breakfast of Gallo Pinto every morning was both delicious and satisfying. The pool was perfect for relaxing. We ate dinner there on two nights, both were excellent, the fish is extremely fresh and a three course meal prepared by a private chef at $30 is a great bargain, we wish that we had done it more. Anytime we wanted to go somewhere or do anything, it was done and done with a smile. My wife had a massage from Gaston, and said it was the best massage she ever had. It was REALLY one of the nicest places that we had ever visited, probably because it is so small that the staff and visitors kind of get to know each other, by the end of our trip they made us feel like one of the family. I will bullet some of the highlights and tips:

1. The place is very causal, take casual clothes and don't worry about getting too dressed for
anything.

2. Take a flashlight, this was mentioned by another reviewer and was a lifesaver. Remember
the sun goes down around 6pm and the Casita is very dimly lit.

3. At least during the "green season" nothing you have will dry.

4. Yes there are critters, no they won't bother you but will get into your Casita. Don't sweat it,
its part of the charm. Also, don't eat or keep food in you Casita, your just inviting them in.

5. If you speak Spanish do, if not at least try.

6. If you leave the property for meals be aware that most restaurants only take cash, and things
are not cheap in Santa Teresa. We spent $110 at Koji's, but you can find better value
around town.

Room Tip: There are only six, but the two masters are best. we had # 2 but would have preferred #3 for the ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa

Address: 4 kilometers past Santa Teresa, left hand side, Santa Teresa 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Latitude 10 Resort was built as a private resort and is now available to the public. The resort consists of five spacious free standing, individually decorated and private casitas. Each casita has its own tropical decor, situated on over seven acres of private beachfront property located near the bustling beach town of Santa Teresa on the Southern tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica. Staying at Latitude 10 is like staying with good friends at their luxury beach house. You will experience personalized service and attention to detail in a relaxed, yet classy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa Hotel Santa Teresa
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.