We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gateway to the perfect honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa to your Saves list
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 kilometers past Santa Teresa, left hand side, Santa Teresa 1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gateway to the perfect honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Unfortunately, we only booked one night here, as a stop over the first night of our honeymoon. We arrived, exhausted, from months of planning, a weekend of partying, and 24 hours of travel. We were amazed at the beautiful cabana, and were able to relax into the arms of luxury in paradise. It was the first good sleep we had had in months! Everything was pristine, a perfect blend of posh and nature. Everyone who worked there was helpful, kind and personable. Breakfast was amazing! Our every need was exceeded. Even though we only stayed one night, we were invited to hang out and leave our luggage and car long after check out so we could enjoy some time at the beach before moving on. We cannot wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Tanessa D,
greetings from Santa Teresa. Thank you very much for your nice review of your mini honeymoon at Latitude 10. We also wish you would have stayed with us for longer. As you well noted, Latitude 10 is a very different kind of experience that works very well for couples that look for a more authentic and experimental honeymoon or romantic getaway. Maybe you can come back for an anniversary. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    8
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
95
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The place is a whole adventure!!! To sleep almost outside in the middle of vegetation is so awesome! Different, but gorgeous!!! The staff is super friendly and helpful... And the food delicious! Love it!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I've been meaning to write this review since returning from this trip in May. My husband and I thought this resort was amazing. I honestly do not have one negative thing to say about it.

This is the type of place we had been yearning for. We wanted an open air room, privacy, outdoor shower, and peace. A week to completely disconnect from television, cell phones, internet, and work. From the moment that we arrived, we were greeted with smiles and hospitality. The rooms were exactly what we were hoping for. The decor was very Zen-like and the beds were very comfortable. Waking up and getting a shower outside while the monkeys were howling, and listening to the sounds of the birds and ocean waves was serene. The pool was perfect, and the hammocks on our porch and beach were so relaxing. Every night, the staff had a turn down service for the room. After dinner, we would come back to all the blinds closed, the bed made, mosquito net down, and tea candles lit on our pathway and all throughout our room.

The service is what really made our stay special. Everyone was so friendly and made sure that our stay was perfect. We ate breakfast and dinner every day at the restaurant and loved it. Pretty much every day I ordered the eggs with rice and beans, fried plantains, tomato, and avocado. Ask for the hot sauce, it's great. Dinner was different every night. We had to order our selection by noon, and the chefs would go out and pick up the food fresh for the evening. He would cook it in the open air kitchen while we watched and sipped on our margaritas. Every meal was fantastic. We loved to play chess in the candlelight while we waited. We also loved to chat with the staff, because they were all nice, friendly, good people.

The town of Santa Teresa is a laid back surfer town. We rented a cab from the Tambor airport, and the drive was about an hour. We enjoyed walking around the town, zip lining, hiking, and the beautiful beaches. We also had a relaxing couple's massage. We rented an ATV for two days, and road tripped all around the Nicoya Peninsula to Montezuma, Cobano, and Mal Pais. We think it's the best way to explore the area. Plus, it's a lot of fun!

I also think we had a great time because we didn't expect to stay at the Hilton, with air conditioning and no bugs. There are crabs, lizards, iguanas, monkeys, and birds. Ladies, leave your blow dryer and makeup at home! Bring bug spray. Latitude 10 was a perfect place to be a part of nature, and live simply and peacefully. They also place a strong emphasis on water conservation and the environment. The people here have great attitudes and by the end of the week you will live by their motto, "Pura Vida" which means "pure life", "full of life", or "this is living!"

Writing this review makes me miss those 8 days at Latitude 10. We miss the staff, and will be back one day. If you stay here, I hope that you find the magic like we did.

Pura Vida!
Kate & Sean (Pittsburgh, PA)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear KateD412,
greetings from Latitude 10 Resort in Santa Teresa. Thanks for spending your honeymoon with us. We loved having you at our little hideaway resort and are looking forward to receiving many more honeymooners like you and your husband that look for this very special lodging experience. As we have seen in previous reviews, Latitude 10 is not for everybody. No Hilton, No Marriott, No Hyatt. No Airconditioning, no TV. But for the person that is looking for that open air, outside shower, secluded beachfront experience... it is a dream come true. Thanks for pointing out all the little details and especially the service aspect of your stay. We try hard to really make every guest feel like he or she is at home. In the past year, we have seen a significant increase in return guests that just can't get enough of the Latitude 10 and Santa Teresa experience. Hopefully, you will be able to come back for an anniversary in the not so far future. Thanks again. Saludos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Latitude 10 is a unique luxury experience. The rooms are actually all individual deluxe cabins/houses. They are completely open air and the walls open up to the sea. They are completely private and lined with vegetation. There are two later houses and several smaller ones. Each includes your own private porch to sit and read. Every night the staff light candles in your house while you eat dinner in the main building. The food is amazing!! The staff are very friendly and helpful. The beach is beautiful. The only thing to think about is the location is a bit of a challenge. The roads around Lat 10 are dirt roads and quite bumpy. The sign is hard to find, adding to the tucked away feeling. Just keep asking people where it is , locals will help you! The beach is a little rocky in the surf, so you walk a little to go swimming, but that's ok. Talk to locals about the tides when you get there. I could see spending a week here with my hubby for our honeymoon just relaxing and basking in each other. It's wonderful!

**i will say though, if you hate nature and are looking for a sterile experience, don't go. It's not uncommon to see howler monkeys or crabs around the property. This is cool to some, but others may want more separation. I loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I do realise that just because something doesn't suit us it is therefore bad. There were some good things about Latitude 10 and I'm sure some people love it. Here's why we didnt:

-the website is misleading, I was expecting yoga, the guy seemed confused when i asked about it and then it was going to cost an additional $60....huh?

-the cabanas are like glorified camping, beautiful yes but the mossy nets dont protect you and there are no windows so the noise of ythe rain and ocean, while beautiful, disturbs sleep. We didnt want to go camping.

- it is not exclusive at all, not luxurious

-the outside shower is a novelty but that wears off. Cold water and then walking though the backyard. Not luxury. Camping.

- we were ill for 2 days having picked up a tummy bug and i didnt make it down to dinner one night but they still charged us for it! No sensitivity or engagement. The chefs were nice but we found the whole attitude of the place arrogant and lazy. Maybe it was low season but just gave off a bad vibe.

The road to get to Latitude 10 from the boat is also terrible. Soooo bumpy and pot holey. No exclusive resort can have a transfer like that.

For the price, this place is not good value. Would not recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear 551AJH,
thank you for posting your review about your stay with us on Tripadvisor. We are really sorry to hear that your stay with us was not as expected, we feel that your review will help a lot of future guests make the right kind of decisions. We are very clear that Latitude 10 is the kind of place that you either absolutely love or that you come to understand that is "not quite for you". The remote location and dirt road, the closeness to the elements and the waves of the ocean, the open air bathroom feel and the "luxury camping" like experience is not for everyone and there really is not much we can do about this. Guests love it or hate it. However, there is one thing that concerned us about your stay with us. The lack of service attitude among some of our staff. That is very unusual and normally a big plus in the Latitude 10 experience. We apologize for this situation and ensure you that we will take the appropriate measures. Once again, sorry that your stay was not what you were looking for. Possibly the Beachfront and Rainforest Resort Arenas del Mar in Manuel Antonio might be what you are looking for. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

As always, Cayuga does the best job in making me feel in just the kind of magical place I want to be for a little R&R! Latitude 10's location could not be better, far enough away from the heart of it all in the Santa Teresa area, but yet close enough to not have to go far when in the need to go somewhere. Service as always is the best, the rooms a delight, the ambience magical, great food, and best of all I was happy that my family's footprint was much smaller than it would have been had we stayed elsewhere in the area. Thank you Latitude 10 andn Cayuga!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Staying at Latitude 10 was like camping at Playa Hermosa 30 years ago, but with luxury and personal attention.
The howler monkeys came to visit and stayed a while. Families of them. At night our room was filled with candles. We slept to the sound of the sea and enjoyed beautifully prepared breakfasts.
It was a perfect Costa Rican experience.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa

Address: 4 kilometers past Santa Teresa, left hand side, Santa Teresa 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Latitude 10 Resort was built as a private resort and is now available to the public. The resort consists of five spacious free standing, individually decorated and private casitas. Each casita has its own tropical decor, situated on over seven acres of private beachfront property located near the bustling beach town of Santa Teresa on the Southern tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica. Staying at Latitude 10 is like staying with good friends at their luxury beach house. You will experience personalized service and attention to detail in a relaxed, yet classy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa Hotel Santa Teresa
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.