We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa

Save Saved
You added Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 kilometers past Santa Teresa, left hand side, Santa Teresa 1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Green Season Value
Ranked #6 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A perfect place to honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Latitude 10 is a unique luxury experience. The rooms are actually all individual deluxe cabins/houses. They are completely open air and the walls open up to the sea. They are completely private and lined with vegetation. There are two later houses and several smaller ones. Each includes your own private porch to sit and read. Every night the staff light candles in your house while you eat dinner in the main building. The food is amazing!! The staff are very friendly and helpful. The beach is beautiful. The only thing to think about is the location is a bit of a challenge. The roads around Lat 10 are dirt roads and quite bumpy. The sign is hard to find, adding to the tucked away feeling. Just keep asking people where it is , locals will help you! The beach is a little rocky in the surf, so you walk a little to go swimming, but that's ok. Talk to locals about the tides when you get there. I could see spending a week here with my hubby for our honeymoon just relaxing and basking in each other. It's wonderful!

**i will say though, if you hate nature and are looking for a sterile experience, don't go. It's not uncommon to see howler monkeys or crabs around the property. This is cool to some, but others may want more separation. I loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    7
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
90
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I do realise that just because something doesn't suit us it is therefore bad. There were some good things about Latitude 10 and I'm sure some people love it. Here's why we didnt:

-the website is misleading, I was expecting yoga, the guy seemed confused when i asked about it and then it was going to cost an additional $60....huh?

-the cabanas are like glorified camping, beautiful yes but the mossy nets dont protect you and there are no windows so the noise of ythe rain and ocean, while beautiful, disturbs sleep. We didnt want to go camping.

- it is not exclusive at all, not luxurious

-the outside shower is a novelty but that wears off. Cold water and then walking though the backyard. Not luxury. Camping.

- we were ill for 2 days having picked up a tummy bug and i didnt make it down to dinner one night but they still charged us for it! No sensitivity or engagement. The chefs were nice but we found the whole attitude of the place arrogant and lazy. Maybe it was low season but just gave off a bad vibe.

The road to get to Latitude 10 from the boat is also terrible. Soooo bumpy and pot holey. No exclusive resort can have a transfer like that.

For the price, this place is not good value. Would not recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear 551AJH,
thank you for posting your review about your stay with us on Tripadvisor. We are really sorry to hear that your stay with us was not as expected, we feel that your review will help a lot of future guests make the right kind of decisions. We are very clear that Latitude 10 is the kind of place that you either absolutely love or that you come to understand that is "not quite for you". The remote location and dirt road, the closeness to the elements and the waves of the ocean, the open air bathroom feel and the "luxury camping" like experience is not for everyone and there really is not much we can do about this. Guests love it or hate it. However, there is one thing that concerned us about your stay with us. The lack of service attitude among some of our staff. That is very unusual and normally a big plus in the Latitude 10 experience. We apologize for this situation and ensure you that we will take the appropriate measures. Once again, sorry that your stay was not what you were looking for. Possibly the Beachfront and Rainforest Resort Arenas del Mar in Manuel Antonio might be what you are looking for. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

As always, Cayuga does the best job in making me feel in just the kind of magical place I want to be for a little R&R! Latitude 10's location could not be better, far enough away from the heart of it all in the Santa Teresa area, but yet close enough to not have to go far when in the need to go somewhere. Service as always is the best, the rooms a delight, the ambience magical, great food, and best of all I was happy that my family's footprint was much smaller than it would have been had we stayed elsewhere in the area. Thank you Latitude 10 andn Cayuga!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Staying at Latitude 10 was like camping at Playa Hermosa 30 years ago, but with luxury and personal attention.
The howler monkeys came to visit and stayed a while. Families of them. At night our room was filled with candles. We slept to the sound of the sea and enjoyed beautifully prepared breakfasts.
It was a perfect Costa Rican experience.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My husband and I chose Latitude 10 as the base for our "weddingmoon" in January of 2011. It was just the 2 of us, and we wanted a place on the beach for our ceremony and pictures, and one that we could enjoy for several days after for our honeymoon. The beach in the evening was perfect for both our ceremony and relaxing the days thereafter.

Customer service was impeccable. We had the ladies at the hotel set up our trips for us. Breakfast was great. We ate dinner here once and enjoyed it, as well. The turn down service here was especially nice, with candles lit for an amazing ambiance. The grounds are lush and well-kept. There is no AC in the casitas, which would be the only downside on warmer nights.

The location is a little bit out of the way, which can be a little inconvenient and add to travel expenses. We borrowed the bikes to take into town a couple times, and took taxis for our excursions as we had no desire to rent a car and navigate the Costa Rican roads, which are not for the faint of heart.

Head next door to Ambrosia for some tasty, inexpensive meals.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Latitude 10 is a unique vacation experience that brings you very close to living with nature in a beautiful beachfront location. This however is significantly tarnished by lack of good customer service and privacy.

We came to Latitude 10 during the 2nd week of our honeymoon and although being drawn in by the beauty and uniqueness of the location, we consistently found that staff, at times did not appear interested in ensuring that we had a great stay. No one acknowledged that it was our honeymoon (though we didn’t expect anything, our tour operator had advised them and it would have been nice to have been told congratulations). Far too often, our requests for simple things came late or were completely forgotten, meaning that at no time did you ever really feel fully relaxed and truly at home.

Breakfast in general was lacking in taste and variety. The main rice dish option for breakfast (gallo pinto) was extremely bland, especially in comparison to everywhere else we had visited where it had been very flavoursome. Although this dish stated that it came with plantain, ours did not. When we mentioned this, the lady looked embarrassed and told us they had no plantain – not really service you expect from somewhere with a first class rating. On some days we were offered orange juice and others we were not and when we asked for some, we were made to feel like we were inconveniencing the lady. There are very few guests at Latitude 10 and we both failed to understand why they were not able to provide the service you would expect from a place of this status and cost.

There were however a couple of key positives that bucked this trend, in the form of the barman who had a genuine interest in making our stay special, relaxed, and everything was ‘no problem’ with a smile. He gave the perfect level of customer service, without being ‘try hard’. The casita cleaners were also friendly and attentive. Evening meals were of a good quality and standard, however variation lacked and within 3 days you will have consumed all options available, even though each day is supposed to be a unique menu option.

Latitude 10 states that the mainly non air-conditioned rooms are kept cool by a constant sea breeze. During the day this is true but once the sun and blinds go down, this really isn’t the case at all. This hot heat at night reminded me of my time back-backing in Thailand and staying in cheap beach huts many years ago.

We had read that guests were free to join the daily yoga classes in the studio every day, which I very much looked forward to. When I asked about this, I was told that they do not have a fitness studio, which was very disappointing.

It is important to note that Latitude 10 is classed as being on the outskirts of Santa Teresa. Although less than a 5 minute taxi ride into Santa Teresa, Latitude 10 taxi company charge $26 for a return journey. Coming from an expensive city like London, we found this to be crazy and incredibly frustrating, especially since there really was nowhere else to go within walking distance if you didn't opt for the dinner option during the mornin at Latitude 10 resort.

One other thing to mention is that we arrived by a private taxi transfer. Our driver had been very good and professional. However when we arrived in the area, he spent a very frustrating hour driving up and down the main road trying to find Latitude 10, after a 7 hour journey. When we finally arrived, we were told they do not have a clear sign outside so that it was kept ‘exclusive’. This made no sense to us and we later learned that other guests had experienced the same problem. Unfortunately the mosquito nets didn’t reach the floor and did not work and a result I was bitten very badly.

Overall Latitude 10 has the potential to offer so much. However due to consistent inconsistencies it fails to live up to its first class billing. You never really know what you are going to get.

Room Tip: Although we didn't have it, we would recommend the air conditioned room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Amanda,
thank you for taking the time to write your review about your stay with us. Please let us start with a sincere apology for all the little things that went wrong during your stay with us. Especially not acknowledging the special occasion you were visit us for is not acceptable. Lo sentimos mucho!!! When it rains, it pours, right? While it is extremely frustrating for us to read your review (because we really care), at the same time it is a great motivation for us to work on all of those details and to make sure that we improve and are able to deliver on the service aspect of the experience more consistently. We will make sure that the breakfasts get reviewed and plantains won't be missing again and send better information to our guests on finding the resort. We are very happy that you did find a lot of positive aspects during your stay and hope that those will be the main memories of your time with us. The location and setting are spectacular and normally our staff is known for the great service and hospitality. We are not sure how the confusion about the yoga classes came about as there is no information about classes on our website. But Yoga classes are available within walking distance of the resort. You are right, transportation in Santa Teresa is not cheap. But it has to do with the poor condition of the road and the quality vehicles with English speaking driver that we trust are often a bit more expensive than taxis on the road. We as a hotel do not earn anything on those taxi rides. It is a service we provide to our guests, but something we will look into more closely to find a solution for our future guests. Thanks again for your honest feedback. We are on it. Hope to have you back with us for an anniversary and show you the best of our service and attention to detail. Saludos,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Latitude 10 was exactly what we expected after pouring over reviews on tripadvisor. We spent 3 days/2 nights of our 12 night honeymoon at the resort and it was a great experience. The staff was friendly and accomodating from the moment we arrived until we left. The pool area was relaxing, the shaded beachside area was peaceful, and the quiet nature of the resort was exactly what we had hoped for.

Positives:
-We interacted with Juan the most when it came to staff. He was friendly and accomodating without being over the top or in your face. He was a great host.
-We had dinner the first night of our stay. All 3 courses (steak kabobs/tilapia as the main entrees) were very very good.
-It was neat to see the various wildlife (monkeys, crabs, lizards, birds) around the grounds (especially poolside!)
-I had the breakfast burrito both mornings and it was outstanding!

Negatives:
-We visited during the dry season. A lot of the vegetation was brown/dead and the foliage was pretty thin. This provided less privacy in our casita than we had hoped for. With the blinds open during the day, other guests and staff can easily see what you are doing in your bedroom. On several occasions, we looked up from bed to see a grounds keeper poking around and doing something right in front of the house. They could have picked better times to do maintenance and attended to the grounds when we were not around. It kind of kills the romantic mood of a honeymoon when you have to constantly look around to make sure you are "alone."
-The security guard (who arrives around dusk) was a little creepy. At one point, when we were walking from the beach to our casita, he was holding his cell phone in a peculiar way that made it seem like he was possibly trying to take a picture of my wife. We kept our eye on him for the rest of our stay, and while he didn't do anything out of the ordinary, his unfriendly nature and initial impression of him caused us to remain suspicious.
-Breakfast was good, but on the menu the Pinto Gallo clearly states that it comes with tortillas. Both mornings, my wife had to ask for tortillas after the meal was brought to us, and since the tortillas are freshly made, it took an additional 10-15 minutes before we got them. This means that you either wait while the breakfast gets cold or you eat and have tortillas by themselves.
-The mosquito nets didn't really work properly. There were huge gaps between the netting and the floor and they moved around in the breeze, so we just decided to sleep with it open so we could get more air from the standup fan by our bed. No big deal as there weren't many bugs around.


It's easy to write up on the negatives more than the positives, but the resort was as advertised and we still give it an excellent rating. It was definitely a once in a lifetime experience!

Room Tip: The main suite was great and probably the most private, but it wasn't quite as secluded as we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa

Address: 4 kilometers past Santa Teresa, left hand side, Santa Teresa 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Latitude 10 Resort was built as a private resort and is now available to the public. The resort consists of five spacious free standing, individually decorated and private casitas. Each casita has its own tropical decor, situated on over seven acres of private beachfront property located near the bustling beach town of Santa Teresa on the Southern tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica. Staying at Latitude 10 is like staying with good friends at their luxury beach house. You will experience personalized service and attention to detail in a relaxed, yet classy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa Hotel Santa Teresa
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.