We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss bliss bliss.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa

Save Saved
You added Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 kilometers past Santa Teresa, left hand side, Santa Teresa 1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Green Season Value
Ranked #6 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Bliss bliss bliss.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Coming from a pretty discerning NY'er- this place is total bliss. The Master Suite was beyond epic. Open air. A total Zen palace. Amazing decor. One with nature. Sleeping never felt so good- and waking up never felt so inspired. Howler monkeys and life everywhere. Ocean at your doorstep. It was like our own private estate. So quiet and peaceful. The staff was amazing and beyond gracious. And I loved the sustainability / eco point of view. I would've stayed forever if I could.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    7
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
90
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Latitude 10 exceeded all of our expectations. The setting -- namely, a secluded beautiful beach, with the most spectacular sunsets-- was idyllic. You can take in the surroundings by walking for miles on the beach, going for a sunset horseback ride, taking day trips to hike or kayak, or by simply sitting at the beach or pool with a smoothie you just ordered at the bar.

We also can't say enough about the people we met. For some reason, Latitude 10 attracts very friendly and interesting people. There's plenty of space and time for couples seeking a romantic get-away, but also some great people to chat with should you choose to do so.

It's not only the guests that are great. The staff is amazing--they went to great lengths to make sure every aspect of our stay was enjoyable and stress-free. It wasn't just the arranging of transfers, securing reservations or making recommendations that made them so special. It was how friendly, knowledgeable and caring they were. We couldn't believe it when they planned a surprise candle-lit dinner for just the two of us on the beach for our anniversary. We are adding San Jose to our fare alerts, and hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Latitude 10 exceeded our expectations on every level! This beautiful property was exactly what we needed to unwind & experience nature!
Juan, Jose Pablo, Maricella & all the staff went to great lengths to make our stay memorable! They have the perfect balance of providing every need & then stepping back, allowing you privacy & the experience of this peaceful environment!
It really was like having our own private beach house.
The food was fabulous, turn down service amazing, casita spectacular...can't wait to go back & stay in a Master suite!!

Thanks to all the staff @ Latitude 10..

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I planned a trip to Costa Rica for a bit of warmth and sunshine in the middle of winter. For the first time ever, and we have traveled a lot, our accommodations far surpassed our expectations. After a long, and bumpy ride from the air strip we were greeted with a refreshing beverage and a warm and welcoming smiles from Jose and his staff.
The property actually lived up to the brochure pictures. The casita which we stayed in was luxurious --- open, breezy, secluded and spotless. The view from the bed directly onto the beach was breathtaking. The immense outdoor washroom and shower must be experienced to be believed !!! (Don't worry, very high walls and excellent privacy.)
The common area where all meals and beverages are prepared and eaten has an open kitchen, and a warm and inviting ambience, with a view of the pool, ocean and jungle. We ate all of our meals at the resort simply because the food and service were excellent.
I could go on and on, it was just that wonderful. From the morning coffee to the turn down service at night, the staff never overlooked an opportunity to make our stay wonderful.
We had thought this would be our only trip to Costa Rica............Now we can't wait to go back to Latitude 10.

Room Tip: Master Suites A & B provide an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I recently returned from Latitude 10, where we spent our honeymoon. We had a fantastic time, loved the resort, adored the staff, and couldn't recommend it highly enough.

That said, one person's five-star review can mean something entirely different than another person's five-star review, so here are a few things to know about Latitude 10:

It's not a hotel. While the cabanas are beautifully appointed, they aren't rooms and they aren't full enclosed. The staff does a great job of prepping each cabana as the sun goes down, and considering the amount of bugs in the region, it's remarkable how little a bother they are. But they're there, and outside the mosquito netting at night, you'll likely get a bite or two. There's no AC or TV, and it's likely you'll be woken up by howler monkeys at some point -- either because they're howling right above you or possibly pissing loudly on your roof. But, hey, monkeys!

It's not THAT remote. While the cabanas are surrounded on all sides by jungle, the road into town borders the property and, from some of the cabanas, you can hear the trucks pass. It's the second-to-last resort north of Santa Teresa, but it's still only a five minute ride into the heart of town. If you're imagining an ecolodge miles from the nearest structure, you'll need to head deep into somewhere else to find it.

There isn't a proper beach directly in front of the property, but rather a vast and beautiful rock reef. It's a five-minute walk to the broad sand beach just south of Latitude 10 if you want to go swimming; if you want to go surfing it's another five minutes to the first good sandbar. It's not a deal-breaker by any stretch, but it can be enough to keep you in your hammock instead of getting a sunset session.

Having said all that, I'll reiterate that we had an amazing time here and would go back in a heart beat. It's relaxing, quiet, gorgeous, and monkeys!

Room Tip: The first two cabanas as you walk down from the parking area are a little less private than the ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear,
Greetings from sunny Santa Teresa. Thank you for your great review about Latitude 10. We are very happy to hear that you had such a fantastic honeymoon and recommend us so highly. We could not agree more with your comments on the “right couple” and that Latitude 10 is not right for everybody. But for travelers like you and your wife who really enjoy a different kind of experience of lush nature with loud monkeys, no AC/TV, open air bathrooms and the personalized attention of a 6 room resort it might well be the best in Santa Teresa, maybe even in all of Guanacaste. We are excited that you would come back in a heartbeat and certainly hope that you do so in the near future. Maybe an anniversary…
Saludos,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Even tho this was the most lovely hotel imaginable the kindness of the staff and excellence of the food are the most memorable of an unforgettable time. The beach is unparalleled with an excellent surf. We joyfully body surfed however much further down the seemingly endless beach could be found surfing hangout, lessons etc. This is one hotel I dream of returning to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel is going on my top 10 most romantic hotels we have ever stayed at.
Long bumby drive in the area, but when we arrived at sunset, a cocktail was waiting and we were quickly brought to out villa filled wth candles lighting it up.
Loved it from that second on. Large outdoor bathroom ended up being a great place to mix with the many monkeys and iquanas.

Room Tip: Ask for master suite 1...was the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa

Address: 4 kilometers past Santa Teresa, left hand side, Santa Teresa 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Latitude 10 Resort was built as a private resort and is now available to the public. The resort consists of five spacious free standing, individually decorated and private casitas. Each casita has its own tropical decor, situated on over seven acres of private beachfront property located near the bustling beach town of Santa Teresa on the Southern tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica. Staying at Latitude 10 is like staying with good friends at their luxury beach house. You will experience personalized service and attention to detail in a relaxed, yet classy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa Hotel Santa Teresa
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.