We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort to your Saves list
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 kilometers past Santa Teresa, left hand side, Santa Teresa 1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Four - Pay Three
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
GreenLeadersGold level
RI
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was our second hotel in a 10 day trip for our honeymoon. After spending 8 hours on the road (and ferry) to get there from Tenorio, Latitude 10 was a welcome site! The staff were not expecting us to be so late and did not have any dinner available for us. Nino quickly apologized and ordered us pizza delivery - quite funny! The room was prepared with candles and flower petals - they did this all 5 nights of our stay. The staff were all wonderful - the manager Jose spent alot of time with us and even came up to fix a flat tire on one of the hotel bicycles (those might need a little more maintenance - they were in pretty rough shape). The chefs, Anthony and Yvette were great and can really cook! All of the staff were friendly and although they spoke English very well, challenged us to practice our Spanish :-).

Santa Teresa in the off season is quiet and about 50% of the stores/restaurants are closed. However, there are still several open and the people were all very nice. I think they were amused by our broken Spanish!

The beaches are beautiful and we had them nearly all to ourselves. We spent hours beachcombing and walking, looking at shells, rocks and the beautifully colored puffer fish that swim in the tide pools. As other reviewers have noted, there is quite a bit of trash that washes up each day with the high tide - very sad. The resorts do clean up their beaches every day, but it is still a reminder to all of us to be responsible with our recycling and trash.

We rented an ATV and spent the day running around Montezuma. FYI, in the rainy season the Montezuma waterfalls are very difficult to get to. The river is too high and fast to wade through and the "trail" is a one step from certain death straight down (about 8-9 stories)! We went as far as we could and got pictures through the trees, but with no safety line it was not possible to descend to the base of the falls.

We booked the horseback riding tour and it was phenomenal. Our guides Casey,an ex-pat from California, and Roberto, the cowboy were wonderful and happy to share their love of the land. I love to ride, my husband not so much. We both had a great time riding through the forest, farmland and on the beach, although he required a dose of ibuprofen when we got back!

The one thing that I would remark on are the rooms. Although beautiful, some are quite close to the road - in the off season this was not a problem since the traffic volume was low, but in the high season I can imagine it would be noisy. As previously noted, the rooms are completely open to the outside which was never an issue except when trying to get clothing to dry - it just won't! The rooms are quite humid in the rainy season and even with fans it is a bit difficult to sleep. Also, bring a flashlight. There are several corners of the room that are not well lit and it is hard to see in your suitcase, etc.

FYI this place is definitely for couples and not children. We had a great time and hope to get back to visit Latitude 10 again on our next trip!

Room Tip: Ask for one furthest from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    10
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
105
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

After finishing two weeks in Costa Rica, we ended our trip at beautiful Latitude 10. Having read the other reviews, we could not agree more about the quality and friendliness of the Latitude 10 family. We always said that our five days spent there felt as if we were staying at our friends house with excellent food, beautiful location, and personalized service. Our best memories are of our times spent with Jose, Pablo's cocktails (get the Mojito - he loves making them:), Yvettes plantains and cooking lessons, and everyones general friendliness. We connected with other guests while enjoying our own private time. Our casita was not only beautiful but extremely comfortable - highlight being the hammock on our deck. Falling asleep to the sound of the ocean and the surrounding nature provided some of the best sleep of our trip. The candle lit room in the evenings was incredible. We absolutely love this place and highly recommend it to those looking for a unique experience with one of a kind service!

Room Tip: you would be foolish to miss out on the Master Suite -- it is located in the front by the beach with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Everything was simply perfect. This is really a dream vacation for anyone! The hotel is actually inside the jungle. Our casita was completely surrounded by nature always full of amazing wildlife right outside our frontstep! The bathroom was very unique with an outdoor shower that you share with the monkeys and beautifully scented locally produced lotions. The staff was awesome, always willing to comply with our requests. They recommended us great dinning places and tours. The restaurant at the hotel was also great, specially the breakfast burrito! The pool had an amazing ocean view and a unique feel with it's salty water treatment. Had an awesome stay and I recommend it to everyone! It's an experience like no other, easily the best I had!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our stay at Latitude 10 was simply awesome! From our greetings at the front desk to living with our monkey friends throughout our stay was an unbelieavable experience. The casita we got was amazing, everything was picture perfect and spotless, and to experience an outdoor bathroom with tree-tops for a roof was a first for us! Even the lavender and mint bathing lotions were very refreshing, enhancing the whole experience. The club house and restaurant were also very impressive, with a perfect ocean view pool and a very memorable dining experience with deliciously prepared food by the local chef. The whole staff was faultless and very kind throughout our stay, specially Pablo who recommended us to great local restaurants and tours like the waterfalls in Montezuma. Overall have to say was an unforgetable experience and would recommend Latitude 10 to everyone anytime!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We planned to spend 3 nights but were relaxing so well that we could not resist extending another day. This is a great place for just chilling out, with several different ambientes for reading books and so on. The lodge is remarkably small in terms of rooms, just 5 spacious individual villas spread out in the jungly gardens, and so very intimate. We hardly met the other guests during our time, even breakfasts seem to be taken at different times. The beach alongside is marvellous, but with rocks at low tide is not really great for swimming and it is best to walk frther along the beach to better places for swimming. The villas are very open, yet private - at night shutters are usually put down by the discreet turn-down service, but we elected to keep these open until the last 2 nights, when we started worrying about security as we were close to the road. We think management is paying more attention to this issue, and beefing up security. Breakfasts were a slight disappointment, we expected a more handsome and generous choice given the pricing. We did not try dinners. The place is understandably popular for honeymooners, there being 2 couples while we were there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was the biggest disappointment of our 7 hotel stays in Cost Rica & Nicaragua. It is a nice concept but way too expensive for what you get. As it is effectively outside you will not sleep properly with the heat and the fans do not do very much. The positives: For our honeymoon it was chilled out and the staff are very nice. We had a nice room with lovely outside bathroom, breakfast was pretty good and the hotel has free bikes and boards. The staff also come every night to close up the blinds and fold over doors, light some candles and put down the mosquito nets. There is a nice little pool area and a good big communal area to relax as one of the mornings it rained. Also the beach area has a few chairs and hammocks and feels very private but you can’t swin here. There are lots of animals around including howler monkeys. The negatives: You are effectively in an open wooden tent, get a breakfast but pay a fortune for it which is really back to nature at 5 star prices. I would not stay here again or recommend it. The juice every morning was from a carton which for a back to nature hotel who prides it self on sustainability in an area where the fruit was superb was terrible and drinks were poor and over priced. You have to order dinner at 11am which is a full three courses and no choice but you will not know at this time if you will want just a main course etc. So effectively you have to leave for lunch and dinner every day. There is also very poor lightening in the cabins at night.

Room Tip: Great rooms but ensure you do not need air con !!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Nryan33,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We appreciate your constructive criticism. We would also like to thank you for pointing out so many positives such as the attentiveness of the staff, the outdoor bathroom and facilities overall. The title of your review is very to the point and we agree: Latitude 10 is not for everybody. The experience of sleeping in a room that is in the rainforest next to the ocean without closed windows is unique and special. Many of our guests love the experience and would be happy to pay even more for such a special experience. Others, like in your case, are not so thrilled with the concept and we understand that. A quick explanation on the dinner concept. We ask for the order early in the day in order to make sure we can buy the freshest local ingredients (mostly fish) and although there is a set menu every day, we always have the flexibility to change things. We wish you would have given us a chance and tried our food. Once again, thanks for your review and we hope it helps future guests to make a better decision if Latitude 10 is “for them”. Warm greetings from Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I was lucky enough to spend a week at Latitude 10 in Santa Teresa, Costa Rica. Beautiful does not even come close to describing the amazing hotel, area and culture that surrounded us during our stay. The staff were attentive to our every need and worked extremely hard to keep the property in pristine condition. I consider myself a bit of a picky eater and the chef was able to accommodate my every request.
I cannot wait to return to this hotel as it is truly world class.
I don't think there is a better honeymoon option available. Thanks again Latitude 10!

Room Tip: Make sure you make use of the outdoor showers, so relaxing and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort

Address: 4 kilometers past Santa Teresa, left hand side, Santa Teresa 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Latitude 10 Resort was built as a private resort and is now available to the public. The resort consists of five spacious free standing, individually decorated and private casitas. Each casita has its own tropical decor, situated on over seven acres of private beachfront property located near the bustling beach town of Santa Teresa on the Southern tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica. Staying at Latitude 10 is like staying with good friends at their luxury beach house. You will experience personalized service and attention to detail in a relaxed, yet classy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa Hotel Santa Teresa
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.