We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great place to recharge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort to your Saves list
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 kilometers past Santa Teresa, left hand side, Santa Teresa 1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Night
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
GreenLeadersGold level
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“a great place to recharge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We planned to spend 3 nights but were relaxing so well that we could not resist extending another day. This is a great place for just chilling out, with several different ambientes for reading books and so on. The lodge is remarkably small in terms of rooms, just 5 spacious individual villas spread out in the jungly gardens, and so very intimate. We hardly met the other guests during our time, even breakfasts seem to be taken at different times. The beach alongside is marvellous, but with rocks at low tide is not really great for swimming and it is best to walk frther along the beach to better places for swimming. The villas are very open, yet private - at night shutters are usually put down by the discreet turn-down service, but we elected to keep these open until the last 2 nights, when we started worrying about security as we were close to the road. We think management is paying more attention to this issue, and beefing up security. Breakfasts were a slight disappointment, we expected a more handsome and generous choice given the pricing. We did not try dinners. The place is understandably popular for honeymooners, there being 2 couples while we were there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulC92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was the biggest disappointment of our 7 hotel stays in Cost Rica & Nicaragua. It is a nice concept but way too expensive for what you get. As it is effectively outside you will not sleep properly with the heat and the fans do not do very much. The positives: For our honeymoon it was chilled out and the staff are very nice. We had a nice room with lovely outside bathroom, breakfast was pretty good and the hotel has free bikes and boards. The staff also come every night to close up the blinds and fold over doors, light some candles and put down the mosquito nets. There is a nice little pool area and a good big communal area to relax as one of the mornings it rained. Also the beach area has a few chairs and hammocks and feels very private but you can’t swin here. There are lots of animals around including howler monkeys. The negatives: You are effectively in an open wooden tent, get a breakfast but pay a fortune for it which is really back to nature at 5 star prices. I would not stay here again or recommend it. The juice every morning was from a carton which for a back to nature hotel who prides it self on sustainability in an area where the fruit was superb was terrible and drinks were poor and over priced. You have to order dinner at 11am which is a full three courses and no choice but you will not know at this time if you will want just a main course etc. So effectively you have to leave for lunch and dinner every day. There is also very poor lightening in the cabins at night.

Room Tip: Great rooms but ensure you do not need air con !!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nryan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Nryan33,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We appreciate your constructive criticism. We would also like to thank you for pointing out so many positives such as the attentiveness of the staff, the outdoor bathroom and facilities overall. The title of your review is very to the point and we agree: Latitude 10 is not for everybody. The experience of sleeping in a room that is in the rainforest next to the ocean without closed windows is unique and special. Many of our guests love the experience and would be happy to pay even more for such a special experience. Others, like in your case, are not so thrilled with the concept and we understand that. A quick explanation on the dinner concept. We ask for the order early in the day in order to make sure we can buy the freshest local ingredients (mostly fish) and although there is a set menu every day, we always have the flexibility to change things. We wish you would have given us a chance and tried our food. Once again, thanks for your review and we hope it helps future guests to make a better decision if Latitude 10 is “for them”. Warm greetings from Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I was lucky enough to spend a week at Latitude 10 in Santa Teresa, Costa Rica. Beautiful does not even come close to describing the amazing hotel, area and culture that surrounded us during our stay. The staff were attentive to our every need and worked extremely hard to keep the property in pristine condition. I consider myself a bit of a picky eater and the chef was able to accommodate my every request.
I cannot wait to return to this hotel as it is truly world class.
I don't think there is a better honeymoon option available. Thanks again Latitude 10!

Room Tip: Make sure you make use of the outdoor showers, so relaxing and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesWDAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Got back 2 weeks ago and finally had time to write about this awesome property. We spent 5 days at Latitude 10 and i wished we could have stayed another 5. The place is a dream, we were met by Pablo right outside our taxi as it pulled up to the resort. He offered to give us a nice tour of the facility and answered all our questions. We were shown to our excellent room, all open air with howling monkeys right above us. The website for this property does not do justice to how gorgeous and secluded this place really is. The beach is just yards away and totally empty, on the first day we were the only couple in the resort and had the run of the place all to ourselves. Pablo was our main guy throughout our stay, he got us ATV's, booked all our trips, zip lining, horse back riding, and isla torguga trip. Best part is that you can charge all the activities on your room and just have one bill at the end of your stay. Pablo also recommended great local dining spots and was an amazing host and great ambassador for Costa Rican tourism. I work at a high end hotel on Fort Lauderdale beach and it takes alot for me to give out 5 stars but anything less then 5 stars for this place would be unfair. We were so amazed by the hotel and the surrounding areas that we are seriously thinking about buying some land and moving to Costa Rica in not to distant future. We can't wait to got back and enjoy the hospitality of Pablo, Ninoska and rest of the staff and hope to see Luna the beach dog.

Room Tip: There are only 5 casitas on this property and all are spread out and secluded, so no bad rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Latitude 10 was beyond my wildest dreams for a honeymoon! From the time we arrived, the staff was extremely helpful and attentive. The landscaping and grounds are absolutely exquisite and it is apparent that the staff work overtime to keep everything clean, maintained and beautiful. And the villas are simply breathtaking!! There is plenty of space and a great sense of privacy. The open air windows, candlelight service in the evening, oceanfront location, outdoor shower, and 4 post bed make a romantic setting for a getaway. To top it all off, the French chef was amazing and would shop daily for fresh ingredients to make us a personalized dinner. The beach is great and pool was very nice too. Side note, if you plan to drive from San Jose, you will want a 4WD vehicle as the rainy season can cause some bumpy roads but don't let it discourage you, it makes for a beautiful drive. We hope you will consider visiting this slice of paradise!

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan and Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear
Greetings from the beaches of Santa Teresa. Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review about your honeymoon stay at Latitude 10. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed the open air room experience and especially the romantic aspects of the experience such as the open air shower, candlelight turn down service and oceanfront location. We agree, this is perfect for a honeymoon. Your tip about driving is very valuable for future guests. There is also the option of a short domestic flight to Tambor where we would pick you up a the airstrip and bring you to our resort. We hope to have you back for one of your anniversaries some day. All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My husband, brother, nephew and I were fortunate to enjoy Latitude 10 on our recent visit to Costa Rica. The facility exudes pure excellence in every detail. The staff exceeded our expectations.

The staff went above and beyond to make sure that our needs were met. Ninoska met us with a refreshing local cocktail when we arrived and was always there to make sure any arrangement was made for ATV rental, restaurant recommendations, fishing excursions, surfing info, etc. She made us feel like we were at home the entire stay. Jose helped with all needs, even took my nephew surfing at his favorite spot. Maricela was great. Yvette... We love you! Thanks for preparing great meals and the special meal with our freshly caught tuna. We felt as if we were with family the entire time! The service staff kept our room emaculate with special touches of candlelight every night! The rooms could not be any cleaner. I was a bit hesitant about the exposure to the elements but by the second day was excited by the wildlife surrounding the well kept grounds.
We loved our stay here and can not wait to return. Make sure to check out the rocamar bar (walking distance) and habanero for great food and excellent service.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank READYFERRETTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Latitude 10 exceeded my high expectations in my trip in July 2012. I spent 5 days with my family and we were in awe at the scenery, service, and setting. Nino, Jose, Pablo, and Marcella were all very helpful, spoke great english, and arranged anything we needed for our trip whether it was taxis, 4-wheelers, fishing trips, ziplining, etc. Yvette, the chef, was an amazing chef and an absolute sweetheart. After a long day of tuna fishing, Yvette cooked us a huge 5 course meal that was beyond delicious. The staff even joined us for dinner. The rooms were always kept very clean by the housekeeping staff and we loved the close proximity of the casitas to the main pavilion. The full night time security on the beach and at the main gate made us feel very secure as well. Although the surfing is not too great right in front of the hotel, Pablo and Jose are two local surfers who will help you find the best break for your skill level. Jose even invited me to surf with him after he was finished working one evening. Everybody in Santa Teresa was unbelievably friendly, the food was delicious and reasonably cheap, and everything is so laid back. Definitely at the top of my list of favorite vacations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Drew I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Teresa
0.7 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#13 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villas Hermosas
Villas Hermosas
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#14 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#9 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
1.1 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#15 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
1.1 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#8 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort

Address: 4 kilometers past Santa Teresa, left hand side, Santa Teresa 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Latitude 10 Resort was built as a private resort and is now available to the public. The resort consists of five spacious free standing, individually decorated and private casitas. Each casita has its own tropical decor, situated on over seven acres of private beachfront property located near the bustling beach town of Santa Teresa on the Southern tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica. Staying at Latitude 10 is like staying with good friends at their luxury beach house. You will experience personalized service and attention to detail in a relaxed yet classy atmosphere. Latitude 10 is part of the Cayuga Collection of Sustainable Luxury Hotels and Lodges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa Hotel Santa Teresa
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing