We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa to your Saves list
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 kilometers past Santa Teresa, left hand side, Santa Teresa 1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Orlando, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Latitude 10 exceeded my high expectations in my trip in July 2012. I spent 5 days with my family and we were in awe at the scenery, service, and setting. Nino, Jose, Pablo, and Marcella were all very helpful, spoke great english, and arranged anything we needed for our trip whether it was taxis, 4-wheelers, fishing trips, ziplining, etc. Yvette, the chef, was an amazing chef and an absolute sweetheart. After a long day of tuna fishing, Yvette cooked us a huge 5 course meal that was beyond delicious. The staff even joined us for dinner. The rooms were always kept very clean by the housekeeping staff and we loved the close proximity of the casitas to the main pavilion. The full night time security on the beach and at the main gate made us feel very secure as well. Although the surfing is not too great right in front of the hotel, Pablo and Jose are two local surfers who will help you find the best break for your skill level. Jose even invited me to surf with him after he was finished working one evening. Everybody in Santa Teresa was unbelievably friendly, the food was delicious and reasonably cheap, and everything is so laid back. Definitely at the top of my list of favorite vacations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    8
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
95
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I spent 4 days at Latitude 10. You'd be crazy to stay anywhere else in Santa Teresa. The only place I could imagine comparing would be a very nice private home in a tropical paradise. The grounds are amazing and they are kept immaculate yet very natural. I think the staff have a lot of work to beat back the jungle each day, and keep the space so pristine. It really is a hotel and surroundings fit for a magazine. The beach is steps away, common house and pool beautiful, and offers a quiet, luxurious experience. I will say that we had one of the two larger suites which are closer to the water, but I have no doubt the other bungalows are just as nice.

I was amazed to see anyone give this place an average (only two out of @50 at the time of this posting), so all I can say is if you've pleased 48 out of 50, you know what it will actually be like. It should be ranked top 1 or 2 in Santa Teresa in my opinion. Sure there are cheaper places, but if cost is your primary concern then yes you should be looking at the cheap surf shacks.

Pablo the manager was amazing as was all the staff. The food was amazing, with the frehest fruits and dishes. We hadn't expected to eat there much since we wanted to try the area food, but we stayed in more often it wa so good. The breakfast fruit plate was a daily treat.

From walking on the beach, to candle lit evenings, to surfing, to private yoga in the main house, to cocktails beside the pool, we feel totally comfortable giving Latitude 10 a 5 across the board.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear
Thank you for taking the time to review Latitude 10 Resort on Tripadvisor. We get so excited to see reviews like yours of people that truly understand the concept and appreciate the unique experience that we try to provide for our guests. Yes, it takes a lot of time, effort and dedication to keep Latitude 10 as neat as it is and running the hotel like a private house where every guest gets very personalized attention is not always easy. However, our beachfront location and our guests appreciation for the little details like the candle turn down service, cocktails by the pool and arranging for yoga, massages or tours score us high points with our guests. We hope to have you back with us soon as hope that many of the readers of this review agree that it would be indeed “crazy to stay anywhere else in Santa Teresa”. Thanks again, all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

There are few words to explain Latitude 10! In a country with such diversity of physical beauty and levels of service, this tops the list! All anyone needs to really know is that with only five bungalows, you rarely encounter your fellow guests and relaxation is the activity! Sure you can surf here, there are the typical Costa Rican activities like guided jungle treks and zip lining nearby, but you really go to Latitude 10 to do nothing. This is where you unwind, receive a massage on the tree-top balcony, read a long book on the desolate beaches, and enjoy your meals virtually alone with your travel companion. If you ever dreamed of having a private chef this is a really great place to experience it. I was stunned that most meals were enjoyed in a fabulously decorated main house with no one around! During our stay the other bungalows were occupied, but very rarely did we see a soul. Each meal was delicious, however we did eat several off the property and there are very nice options throughout the town. Though we had a car which was beneficial, a couple that was staying at the hotel did not and had no trouble with taxis.

We were here during a heat wave however this never had a negative impact on our stay. The bungalow had a fan, which we did use at night, though we could have survived without it. the main house and beach were very comfortable at all times.

I would stress that this is not the hotel for everyone, just the location in Santa Theresa, many would find inconvenient. The bungalows, with no walls or screens and the outdoor bathroom is an adjustment - but all this makes the vacation so pleasantly memorable, so high on our travel "best list," and something we wish all our friends and family would try as this was a TRUE vacation!

Room Tip: I think all rooms are terrific! I can't imagine any one could disappoint!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

“Latitude 10 is a 10”

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and we were so excited. We picked Latitude 10 because we like the beach and are also an adventurous couple, but we love our private time as well. This was the best option for us. The manager Silvia was there to greet us upon arrival and remained a huge help throughout our trip. Her and the staff were exceptional and always readily available for us if need be. While here, we chose to do the horseback riding. It was Phenominal! The guide was very passionate about his work and was always excited to show us new animals and plants that we haven’t seen before. Our questions were answered fully and to the most point. We chose the tour in the morning because we still had time to get in other things to do that day, and we though the morning would be a little cooler. It turned out to be a great choice. Our favorite part was all the openness of Latitude 10. The open bathrooms to the open kitchen just really made you at one with nature. It was an experience I wouldn’t trade for the world. When we come back, we are staying here again and have already recommended this hotel to our friends and family.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile


This really is like living in the middle of the jungle with the beach at your doorstep. The rooms are completely open which may be a little disconcerting at first but actually is kind of cool. The sound of crashing waves lull you to sleep and gently waken you, if the howler monkeys or birds don't wake you first!  

The bathroom is large - it's enclosed with treetops for a roof. Don't expect piping hot water unless it's a very hot day- the water is heated by the sun, so it's refreshing and warm in the late afternoon/ evening. Special mention for the Gorgeous organic bath products made with mint and lavender essential oils - heavenly!  Latitude should definitely offer to sell them to guests.

There's a lovely chilled out common area for hanging out which overlooks the small pool and the ocean. There's a small bar serving snacks too but not much food on offer during the day. Beach is 30 seconds away, nice spot for sunset but you can't swim or surf there during the day as its too rocky.

Entire area is kept spotlessly clean and housekeeping pop in twice a day. That said, if like me you don't like creepycrawlies, pack some bug spray and watch out for the orange and purple crabs which come out at night!  One minor complaint about the room is the lack of light in the evening - the hotels use candles but half the room was still totally dark once night falls.

Latitude 10 is not full service by any stretch of the imagination. The nature experience comes with a hefty premium and I don't  think it was worth the $350 a night we paid.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralville, Iowa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I came here for three nights after being in the country for 8 days. It was PERFECT! Just what we needed at that time. We were greeted with a juice and a tour of the grounds. There are only five, wide open, casitas. The great thing is you can't tell where they're at because of the gorgeous vegetation. We spent the next three days with the iguanas, monkeys, beach and a private chef.
We met some great people there and had a small community dinner with wine and skinny dipping ( okay clothes we're on).
The chef didn't speak English at all, but still managed to teach is to make tortillas and fried plantains. She was the BEST chef we experienced in our two weeks in Costa Rica.
This place was a dream.

A few things that were not perfect; we had to put all toilet paper in a trash can, the monkeys were super loud one night and made that hard to sleep. It was a ten to fifteen minute walk to a swimable beach. But if you ask me this was a true jungle luxury experience.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

If you want luxury on the beach this is your place. The staff is helpful but not intrusive. The casitas are beautiful and clean.And the beds are super compfy. They give the feeling of being in the jungle wtihout camping. Bathrooms within each casita are outdoors but very private. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are amazing there. Sitting by or in the pool watching nature go by is amazing and not to be missed. This is not our first time in Santa Teresa but each time I am reminded what a wonderful and specail place it is. You have to go there and experience Santa Teresa at Latitude 10. Amazing!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa

Address: 4 kilometers past Santa Teresa, left hand side, Santa Teresa 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Latitude 10 Resort was built as a private resort and is now available to the public. The resort consists of five spacious free standing, individually decorated and private casitas. Each casita has its own tropical decor, situated on over seven acres of private beachfront property located near the bustling beach town of Santa Teresa on the Southern tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica. Staying at Latitude 10 is like staying with good friends at their luxury beach house. You will experience personalized service and attention to detail in a relaxed, yet classy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa Hotel Santa Teresa
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.