We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort to your Saves list
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 kilometers past Santa Teresa, left hand side, Santa Teresa 1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Four - Pay Three
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise Found!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

There are few words to explain Latitude 10! In a country with such diversity of physical beauty and levels of service, this tops the list! All anyone needs to really know is that with only five bungalows, you rarely encounter your fellow guests and relaxation is the activity! Sure you can surf here, there are the typical Costa Rican activities like guided jungle treks and zip lining nearby, but you really go to Latitude 10 to do nothing. This is where you unwind, receive a massage on the tree-top balcony, read a long book on the desolate beaches, and enjoy your meals virtually alone with your travel companion. If you ever dreamed of having a private chef this is a really great place to experience it. I was stunned that most meals were enjoyed in a fabulously decorated main house with no one around! During our stay the other bungalows were occupied, but very rarely did we see a soul. Each meal was delicious, however we did eat several off the property and there are very nice options throughout the town. Though we had a car which was beneficial, a couple that was staying at the hotel did not and had no trouble with taxis.

We were here during a heat wave however this never had a negative impact on our stay. The bungalow had a fan, which we did use at night, though we could have survived without it. the main house and beach were very comfortable at all times.

I would stress that this is not the hotel for everyone, just the location in Santa Theresa, many would find inconvenient. The bungalows, with no walls or screens and the outdoor bathroom is an adjustment - but all this makes the vacation so pleasantly memorable, so high on our travel "best list," and something we wish all our friends and family would try as this was a TRUE vacation!

Room Tip: I think all rooms are terrific! I can't imagine any one could disappoint!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    10
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
111
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

“Latitude 10 is a 10”

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and we were so excited. We picked Latitude 10 because we like the beach and are also an adventurous couple, but we love our private time as well. This was the best option for us. The manager Silvia was there to greet us upon arrival and remained a huge help throughout our trip. Her and the staff were exceptional and always readily available for us if need be. While here, we chose to do the horseback riding. It was Phenominal! The guide was very passionate about his work and was always excited to show us new animals and plants that we haven’t seen before. Our questions were answered fully and to the most point. We chose the tour in the morning because we still had time to get in other things to do that day, and we though the morning would be a little cooler. It turned out to be a great choice. Our favorite part was all the openness of Latitude 10. The open bathrooms to the open kitchen just really made you at one with nature. It was an experience I wouldn’t trade for the world. When we come back, we are staying here again and have already recommended this hotel to our friends and family.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile


This really is like living in the middle of the jungle with the beach at your doorstep. The rooms are completely open which may be a little disconcerting at first but actually is kind of cool. The sound of crashing waves lull you to sleep and gently waken you, if the howler monkeys or birds don't wake you first!  

The bathroom is large - it's enclosed with treetops for a roof. Don't expect piping hot water unless it's a very hot day- the water is heated by the sun, so it's refreshing and warm in the late afternoon/ evening. Special mention for the Gorgeous organic bath products made with mint and lavender essential oils - heavenly!  Latitude should definitely offer to sell them to guests.

There's a lovely chilled out common area for hanging out which overlooks the small pool and the ocean. There's a small bar serving snacks too but not much food on offer during the day. Beach is 30 seconds away, nice spot for sunset but you can't swim or surf there during the day as its too rocky.

Entire area is kept spotlessly clean and housekeeping pop in twice a day. That said, if like me you don't like creepycrawlies, pack some bug spray and watch out for the orange and purple crabs which come out at night!  One minor complaint about the room is the lack of light in the evening - the hotels use candles but half the room was still totally dark once night falls.

Latitude 10 is not full service by any stretch of the imagination. The nature experience comes with a hefty premium and I don't  think it was worth the $350 a night we paid.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralville, Iowa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

My husband and I came here for three nights after being in the country for 8 days. It was PERFECT! Just what we needed at that time. We were greeted with a juice and a tour of the grounds. There are only five, wide open, casitas. The great thing is you can't tell where they're at because of the gorgeous vegetation. We spent the next three days with the iguanas, monkeys, beach and a private chef.
We met some great people there and had a small community dinner with wine and skinny dipping ( okay clothes we're on).
The chef didn't speak English at all, but still managed to teach is to make tortillas and fried plantains. She was the BEST chef we experienced in our two weeks in Costa Rica.
This place was a dream.

A few things that were not perfect; we had to put all toilet paper in a trash can, the monkeys were super loud one night and made that hard to sleep. It was a ten to fifteen minute walk to a swimable beach. But if you ask me this was a true jungle luxury experience.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

If you want luxury on the beach this is your place. The staff is helpful but not intrusive. The casitas are beautiful and clean.And the beds are super compfy. They give the feeling of being in the jungle wtihout camping. Bathrooms within each casita are outdoors but very private. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are amazing there. Sitting by or in the pool watching nature go by is amazing and not to be missed. This is not our first time in Santa Teresa but each time I am reminded what a wonderful and specail place it is. You have to go there and experience Santa Teresa at Latitude 10. Amazing!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I spent a week in Santa Teresa in December and it was marvellous. As there are only 5 villas, you feel more in your private home than in a hotel. The villas are in between the jungle so you hardly see your neighbours and the hotel is right on the beach. At night time you hear the waves and the sound of the jungle, it's amazing!
The staff is so friendly and attended to all our needs, from renting an ATV for us brought directly in the hotel to organising all our activities and having us taste delicious food.
During our stay, we visited other places in Santa Teresa and Latitude 10 was definitly our favorite.
PS the pictures on the website do not reflect how beautiful the hotel is, it is truly amazing in "real life"!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latitude10, Manager at Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Stephanie,

Thank you for your great review of Latitude 10 Resort in Santa Teresa. Thanks especially for pointing out that Latitude 10 is NOT a hotel. With only 5 bungalows, we want to make you feel like you are staying with good friends at the beach and we are happy to help you out orienting you and of course cooking for you. If you like to be in a secluded and private place in nature, Latitude 10 is for you. We will do our best to capture the real beauty of the resort during our next photo shoot, but maybe you have some pictures that you might want to share with us. Thanks again,
Saludos,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayzata, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

From the moment we arrived until we left after our 4 day stay, everything at Latitude 10 was perfect. The staff was unbelievable and they were incredibly accomodating. The outdoor bungalow's/outdoor bathrooms intimidated us a bit at first, but we had done some reading prior to our stay so we went in with the appropriate expectations. Even though you're somewhat outdoors, the rooms were always immaculate and somewhat exotic. The smaller facility only has a handful of guests so you are always receiving whatever level of attention you desired. The walk into town is about 1 hour each way on the beach, but they have bikes for rent. We had rented a car so venturing out wasn't an issue for us. We even did some deep sea fishing in neighboring town Montezuma. (arrranged by Latitude at a much cheaper price than we could find on our own) Out of all the places my husband and I stayed in our extended visit to Costa Rica, Latitude 10 was #1 on our list and I would HIGHLY recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Teresa
0.7 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
2.0 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#4 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#14 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
1.1 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#13 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
1.1 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#9 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort

Address: 4 kilometers past Santa Teresa, left hand side, Santa Teresa 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Latitude 10 Resort was built as a private resort and is now available to the public. The resort consists of five spacious free standing, individually decorated and private casitas. Each casita has its own tropical decor, situated on over seven acres of private beachfront property located near the bustling beach town of Santa Teresa on the Southern tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica. Staying at Latitude 10 is like staying with good friends at their luxury beach house. You will experience personalized service and attention to detail in a relaxed yet classy atmosphere. Latitude 10 is part of the Cayuga Collection of Sustainable Luxury Hotels and Lodges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa Hotel Santa Teresa
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.