We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing magical - highly reccommend!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort to your Saves list
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 kilometers past Santa Teresa, left hand side, Santa Teresa 1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Four - Pay Three
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing magical - highly reccommend!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Latitude 10 resort is an amazing small boutique resort. It was perfect for the start of our honeymoon providing privacy, relaxation and great customer service.

The open air rooms, outdoor shower and romantic setting were fantastic to wind down after a hectic week and long journey from London. The turn down service with candles is so romantic.

The staff was always on hand to help out and provide local services at very reasonable prices. They were attentive to our needs but in the background enough to make us feel at home

The food was lovely at the resort and they also provided great local recommendations.

I would highly recommend Latitude 10 (We got a great deal thought jetsetter.com)

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely - 2 near the water front are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latitude10, Manager at Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Dear salliepants,
Thank you for taking the time to review Latitude 10. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in Santa Teresa. Thanks for pointing out how romantic the setting is, we think that Latitude 10 works really well for honeymooners and couples looking for a unique and intimate romantic escape. The nice comments about our staff motivate us to work even harder to create great experiences. We hope you had a safe trip back to London and would love to have you back with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    10
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
111
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

We have just back from staying at Latitude 10 - what an amazing place!!!

The location, the staff, the open villa, outdoor shower with the howler monkeys on the trees above you whilst you're having your shower ... what an experience! I didn't want to leave and what a perfect way to end the honeymoon.

Make sure you try the Watermelon, Pineapple & Ginger smoothie - refreshing on a hot day!!!

THIS PLACE IS AMAZING - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR A ROMANTIC BREAK!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

All I can say is Thank you Thank you Thank you to Latitude 10. It has been the best hotel experience my partner and I ever had ( and we travel quite a bit ) . All the other reviews are spot on...It's simply paradise.

Although the drive was a bit scary, but super adventurous, it was soooo worth it. Waking up the howler monkeys, having a delicious and very fresh breakfast and relaxing or going on some adventure..........It was just amazing. This really is the perfect place to decompress, relax and be one with nature.

The staff is so friendly and really made us feel welcome. They took care of everything and really made our trip.
Just a tip, if you want to learn how to surf, this is the place. Request Richard, he's a surfing guru.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latitude10, Manager at Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Dear mlyboat,
Thank you for your great review on your stay at Latitude 10. Yes, the trip coming out to Santa Teresa is worth it and we are very happy that you had a good stay with us. You are right that this is the perfect place to decompress, relax and reconnect with nature and oneself. We have been seeing lots of howler monkeys recently and the waves have been great. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We loved our vacation at Latitude 10. It was the ultimate honeymoon spot. The service was EXCELLENT! Everyone was very friendly and had time to get to know all of the guests. This resort was very luxurious yet still allowed you to see the pure side of Costa Rica. I would highly recommend this resort! We are already planning to go back!

Room Tip: There are 5 bungalows--all are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

There is a sameness that creeps through tourism, one that I wish couldn't encroach on Costa Rica. Resorts of rocks or even trees made or concrete, 25 item menus that are 23 items the same as the last place. Cayuga's hotels, or the ones I've seen are the antidode. And Latitude 10 is the jewel in their crown. That it's sustainable is icing... You couldn't do better under any set of rules.

I've been coming to Costa Rica for 12 years. I can't bring my young family on the same tour of $5 night hotels, but Latitude 10 absolutely taught them the Pura Vida I remember. Nature isn't just beyond the concrete, it's what the place is made of.

(One of my favorite times at Arenas del Mar was fossil hunting in the pool stones with my son. We did that again at Latitude 10 which is entirely small fossilized invertebrates. It's a good picture of both hotels. Everything is close to life. I'm writing this from a hotel where the rocks are fake, some trees are concrete, and the wood is paint. There's so much stuff here, but nothing natural to share with my kids... There's no soul here. I'd go back to Latitude 10 in a second.)

Room Tip: I don't think there are gimmicks, just ask
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

Wow!! what can I say. Latitude 10 is a wonderful hotel. You feel like you are staying in the jungle but with luxurios amenities. The staff is fun and helpful. They will give you numerous options for dining out and for adventerous activities. The grounds are kept up beautifully as well as the villas. And the pool is the best in town; especially after a hot day of fun. They stay at the hotel was very romantic and relaxing. The owners have done a great job keeping the villas private. You can mingle with other guest in the common area/ dining room or seclude yourself and not encounter another guest. The meais were delicious and plentiful. We will definitely be back for more.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

Latitude 10 is a very unique resort and could possibly be the one hotel we will always remember among all the places we've stayed around the world.

First off, it is very hard to find, which may be necessary to keep it as remote and unspoiled as it is. We were warned about the roads in Costa Rica, but the ones from Cobano to Sta. Teresa are the worst--about a 10 mile stretch of missing pavement, potholes and sharp rocks. We were in a Toyota Rav/4 and were knocked around a lot. Add to that no signage whatsoever telling you how far you are from the resort and depending on good luck to catch the obscure number ten in a circle on the right hand side of a gate on the left hand side of the road really puts one in a foul mood upon arriving.

Yet, despite all that, the place is an oasis once you arrive. There are only 5 bungalows in total, and when we were there, only one other was ever used, so we often felt like we had the run of the place (as well as 4-5 staff members) all to ourselves. The pool is incredible, with an amazing view of the ocean through palm trees in the distance. Our best meals in Costa Rica were there--Yvette is a wonderful cook, and we felt she was our personal chef while we were there. She cooks the breakfasts (you have a choice of 5-6 entrees from french toast to yogurt and fresh fruit) and the dinners (a fixed menu of app, entree and dessert goes for $30 and changes each day based on what fresh ingredients are available to them. We had mahi mahi one night and then stuffed breast of chicken in a wine reduction sauce the second night. (The night in between we went to Papaya restaurant in the Moana hotel in Malpais, not as good food, but a killer view of the sunset from their deck if you arrive early for drinks.)

The staff is incredible, from Alejandro (the young intern mentioned in the prior review), Maricela, and Sylvia were all more than helpful when planning our day's activities and chatting about Costa Rican culture over drinks and dinner in the clubhouse.

People considering this place should realize that this is the jungle, and that means bugs and wildlife. Both our toilet and shower were out behind our bungalow, but enclosed by a wall and felt private. Heading out there in the middle of the night though is not for the faint of heart...I kept wondering if I'd encounter a monkey or raccoon sitting on top of our toilet. Also the rooms don't have A/C, so be sure to ask for a second fan (in addition to the one above your bed) if you think you'll be uncomfortable at night.

All in all, a very special place that we will long remember. Once you settle into life at Latitude 10, you won't want to come back to civilization!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latitude10, General Manager at Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2011
Dear NZtraveler_Boston,
Thank you very much for your great review. Yes, you are right, we are one of a kind! We are not for everybody – far from mainstream or your typical resort, but the Latitude 10 Experience is special. We are excited to connect with guests like you who know to value the different and unique experience. We will continue to get better every day and hopefully provide many more unforgettable experiences for our guests at Santa Teresa Beach. We hope to have you back at Latitude 10 soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Teresa
0.7 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
2.0 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#14 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 326 reviews
1.1 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#13 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
1.1 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#9 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort

Address: 4 kilometers past Santa Teresa, left hand side, Santa Teresa 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Teresa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Latitude 10 Resort was built as a private resort and is now available to the public. The resort consists of five spacious free standing, individually decorated and private casitas. Each casita has its own tropical decor, situated on over seven acres of private beachfront property located near the bustling beach town of Santa Teresa on the Southern tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica. Staying at Latitude 10 is like staying with good friends at their luxury beach house. You will experience personalized service and attention to detail in a relaxed yet classy atmosphere. Latitude 10 is part of the Cayuga Collection of Sustainable Luxury Hotels and Lodges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa Hotel Santa Teresa
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.