We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My experience at Esencia exceeded my expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esencia Hotel & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Esencia Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
Esencia Hotel & Villas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Bali, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My experience at Esencia exceeded my expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

I chose this hotel because of its location and the price and was expecting a clean room that was close to the beach. My experience was overwhelmingly positive - not only was the hotel very beautifully kept but the service was exceptionally warm and friendly and the location extremely convenient.
The rooms are clean, simple and tastefully decorated - in a little hill surrounded by trees and flowers where one does not hear any noise from the street. The staff was attentive and very polite, going out of their way to assist us in our requests. The gardens around Esencia are well kept and the atmosphere is that of a quiet hotel where one can go either with family or friends/couple and have a pleasant stay.
The location is very good - just a 100m walk from a great part of St. Teresa beach and 5 minute walk to lots of little cafes and restaurants - my favorite Kika was practically across the street. We barely touched our car during our whole stay because it was so convenient to just walk everywhere.
I'm Costa Rican and have stayed at numerous beach hotels in this range of price accross the country and I have to say I was impressed and pleased by Esencia and would definitely recommend it to anyone spending some time in St. Teresa. Great value, great people, great location, beautiful place!
Not for you if you're looking for 5 star treatment with room service and TV, etc... If what you want is a simple, pretty, comfortable place close to the beach - go for it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    34
    11
    8
    7
See reviews for
18
48
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

This hotel disposes of a very great and clean arrangement.
In the rooms you feels very welcome, value is placed of small details.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
We were very contented with all and will come again certainly.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

...this place is a paradise! more than that, an oasis!! like no other place in Sta. Teresa

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

We had a great time @ the Esencia, very nice staff, clean and beautiful villa!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

If you stay at Esencia, request a villa away from the main street. If you do this you'll end up getting WiFi and you'll be away from the noise of the nightclub across the street. Otherwise, our stay in Santa Teresa, CR was awesome.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

This place was amazing. The rooms were clean and the service was impecable. Gerat place for people interested in surfing and lounging! Easy ride to Montezume for the excursion tours. The Manager Marco Romero is the most personable young man who helped us with every need. We felt completely safe and loved coming back to our villa at the end of the night. Monkeys hung in the trees. The pool and rooms were always clean and staff was extremely accomidating. This is the place to stay for a relaxing and one with the earth type of trip!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

I stayed here on 11/2009 and really enjoyed it. It was just for 1 night but the they made us feel very good. The reservation process was fluid and helpful,the check in fast ,friendly and very proffesional. The room was clean had some details eventough being discreet.The facilities were clean and well maintained.The place is somehow bohemian but the scenario of the beaches is great. The road not in very good condition but manageable.I would say it was one of those weekends to remember.

B. Hempel

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Esencia Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esencia Hotel & Villas

Address: Playa Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Esencia Hotel & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Santa Teresa-Mal Pais Beach, one of the most virgin and beautiful regions! Endless miles of soft, white sand beach perfect for swimming and surfing. The hotel offers ten marvelous, independent and private villas. All villas have their own terrace with garden view, bathroom, hot water and safety box. Other exquisite elements are the teak chairs, the furniture and the deck of the villa made out of precious woods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Esencia Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esencia Hotel And Villas
Esencia Hotel Santa Teresa
Esencia Hotel & Villas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esencia Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.