We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Esencia Hotel & Villas

Save Saved
You added Esencia Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Esencia Hotel & Villas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I can usually find positives in a hotel, but I'm having trouble coming up with any for Escencia. We stayed in the larger building at the back of the property as opposed to one of the villas.

First off, it seemed like everything in the room needed to be updated. Our towels had stains, our blanket had stains and holes, and tiles were missing from the walls. Understandably, Santa Theresa is sandy and dusty, but the room never looked clean after the cleaning people serviced it. Beyond cleanliness, the bedding was odd. There was just a thin blanket on the bed and three (not four) extremely flat pillows. I was actually cold at night in the middle of a jungle.

The staff is disorganized at best and dishonest at worst. We decided not to order breakfast during our stay but had two breakfasts charged to our bill. We were able to get those removed fairly easily. Then, we were accused of taking items from the mini-bar. We did not. After a great deal of arguing, we had those charges removed as well.

Beyond the dishonesty, service was terrible. Every time we went to the front desk to ask a question, we were told to wait, usually for ten minutes. We had an iguana use our balcony as a bathroom and asked the front desk to call for a clean-up. It sat there for an entire day until housekeeping returned.

I think the only things we liked about the hotel were its proximity to the beach and the pool. Neither were good enough to convince me to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    25
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
14
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were there 4 nights, between december 1st 2012 and january 4th.
Hotel is well located, swimming pool is beautiful, but the hotel and the quality of the service is awfull.. Breakfast is served half the time, the room in the big building does not smell very good, and the worst thing is that they do not respect their commitments when we show them a card giving 15% discount. A shame and a great dishonesty. Many other places in santa teresa to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a lovely week in Esencia, rented an open space villa (nr 6). Beautiful and quiet surrounding, nice pool area and very helpful staff. The beach is just across the road and a few meters from the best restaurant "KIKA'S", which is an Argentinan restaurant with great food and staff. Overall the location of Esencia is really good and more quiet than living closer to the small town village of Santa Teresa. To visit more restaurants, the bank and nearby villages/beaches I would recommend you to rent a bicycle or an ATV.
Enjoy the white sand, perfect waves and the stunning sunset!

Room Tip: I can recommend the villas, and especially nr 6, which is located higher up at the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The bungalows are nice and seem relatively new. The grounds are well kept with a small but nice pool. The staff is extremely helpful and quite pleasant. It was not busy while we were there, so I don't know what it would be like during the high season (if there is one). The town is linear, along the only road in & out. The main draw back is the road. It is miserable & dusty (repeat dusty) in the dry season. It is not pleasant to walk around town, especially during the day when cars and trucks are flying by. The road definitely detracts from the charm of the place. At night it's a bit more tolerable because there are less cars. Good news; you can always walk along the beach! This is a fairly remote place...a gem for surfing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Just over the road to the surf, many nearby restaurants to choose from. Wifi works, small bar, good pool. Low key but pretty much just what we wanted. No problems.
Huge lizards on the roof, various other wildlife, all welcome

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Two big draw backs for this hotel, one is the smell in the rooms due to the mattress and pillows being old and smelling bad. two, noise at night due to the discoteque across the road. Based on the above it is not worth the price which is a shame because the concept, design and location are good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

In 27 july 2012, at night, while I and my wife were outside the hotel (from 8 till 10 pm) thieves invaded our room through the bathroom window robbed the camera, lap top, sunglasses, backpack and GPS. Passports, credit cards and money were in the safe and were not stolen. Police were called, reported the occurrence. The hotel does not assume any responsibility !!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Esencia Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esencia Hotel & Villas

Address: Playa Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Esencia Hotel & Villas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Santa Teresa-Mal Pais Beach, one of the most virgin and beautiful regions! Endless miles of soft, white sand beach perfect for swimming and surfing. The hotel offers ten marvelous, independent and private villas. All villas have their own terrace with garden view, bathroom, hot water and safety box. Other exquisite elements are the teak chairs, the furniture and the deck of the villa made out of precious woods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Esencia Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esencia Hotel And Villas
Esencia Hotel Santa Teresa
Esencia Hotel & Villas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esencia Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.