We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Clean rooms and helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Esencia Hotel & Villas

Save Saved
You added Esencia Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Esencia Hotel & Villas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
Plymouth, England
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Decent Clean rooms and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Just over the road to the surf, many nearby restaurants to choose from. Wifi works, small bar, good pool. Low key but pretty much just what we wanted. No problems.
Huge lizards on the roof, various other wildlife, all welcome

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    25
    8
    6
    6
See reviews for
15
40
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Two big draw backs for this hotel, one is the smell in the rooms due to the mattress and pillows being old and smelling bad. two, noise at night due to the discoteque across the road. Based on the above it is not worth the price which is a shame because the concept, design and location are good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

In 27 july 2012, at night, while I and my wife were outside the hotel (from 8 till 10 pm) thieves invaded our room through the bathroom window robbed the camera, lap top, sunglasses, backpack and GPS. Passports, credit cards and money were in the safe and were not stolen. Police were called, reported the occurrence. The hotel does not assume any responsibility !!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed in one of the rooms on top of the "hill", close to the good sized pool. Nice rooms with a/c /a safe and our own patio. The beach is just 2 minutes walk, surf/boggieboard rentals even closer. Santa Teresa beach is unspoilt next to the jungle and a surferparadise. Which makes something lovely with the people and culture.

Since the jungel were next door we weren't surprised to have some ants in the room, the friendly staff took care of the problem right away.

Eather you order breakfast the night before and get it delivered on your doorstep, our you go to the very good Ginger Cafe just next door, for a lovely breakfast!!

Good Santa Teresa location!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights, it's a step-up from a hostel, so it is worth about $50 or so a night, not $100+. Make sure you stay in a stand-alone cabin, not in the on the rooms that is in the big building at the end of the property. We were in the big building and I can attest that you can hear everything your neighbor does.

Random issues we had - broken AC, gigantic ants coming out of toilet into room, millipedes in the bed, and a breakfast service that came only half the time. Breakfast is terrible too - stale bread and cereal, bad coffee (in costa rica!)

Not good, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanoEsencia, Guest Relations Manager at Esencia Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Sir,
first of all, in name of all hotel’s staff I’d like to apologize for your unpleasant experience during your stay.
We feel horrible when guests don’t receive what they’re expecting or they complain for bad service .
I only permit to explain that we serve breakfast daily on a tray to the rooms and sometimes it can generate some misunderstanding because some guests order it the night before at specific time (serving time is 8-10 am), other guests prefer to decide at last moment so they inform us the same morning.
Maybe this is what it could be happened to you if you didn’t ask for your breakfast at the reception’s desk.
By the way, we are going to improve the quality of our breakfast with better coffee (all the other items we serve, like corn flakes, yogurt, butter and jam are in a single-use small box).

Broken AC: we know that it could happen and we have to solve this kind of problems offering a solution to our guests (fixing the AC or offering another room), but we need to be informed about the problem.

Ants and bugs in your room: we try to keep rooms cleaned but as you saw Santa Teresa is in the middle of the jungle and this is what makes it so beautiful, but it’s not always possible to keep ants away, even if we clean the rooms daily.

Once again, all our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed here for two nights from march 9 to the11th with a group of family members, we had two two bedroom casitas and they were very clean, the bathroom was large and the shower had good water pressure. Each bedroom has its own A/C unit and they give you the remotes when you check in. The A/C´s worked very well. There is a digital safe in one of the rooms thats big enough for your laptop and other valuables. The kitchen is basic but fine for simple meals and includes a smallish fridge, sink and gas stovetop with four burners. Plates, cuttlery and glasses were in good condition. The pool is nice and has shade for some of the lounge chairs but none for the pool itself.They only have one set of keys for each casita and that can be a problem with a group. The hotel is across the street from a disco and we were worried it would be very loud but it wasn´t. We did hear it on Saturday night but not loud enough to keep anyone awake. The Hotel itself is on a small hill with the hotel rooms at the top, then the pool and WiFi area and then the casitas going down to the entrance where the parking lot and reception are. Lodgings are a bit removed from the street which is great because it is soooo dusty. The dust is not an issue in the rooms. You have to walk across the road and down a path to the beach. You could take a car too since there is parking at the beach. Esencia is very simple but clean and well cared for. We were pleased with what we got for the price.

Room Tip: casita #7 is closer to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

This is a cute little place to stay, the walk up to our room was interesting, especially since I lost my flip flops on the first day we arrived. Room was adorable, local style and clean. No breakfast included, which was fine. No phones in the room, which only posed to be a problem when we found a scorpion in our bed! Fun times though, and when in Costa Rica, the wildlife truly does sit at your doorstep, and closer! I woke up on the first morning to find a huge Iguana on our balcony, and monkeys in the trees! Not bad!

Room Tip: Choose on of the stand alone bungalows closer to reception, they look so cute and have hammocks outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Esencia Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esencia Hotel & Villas

Address: Playa Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Esencia Hotel & Villas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Santa Teresa-Mal Pais Beach, one of the most virgin and beautiful regions! Endless miles of soft, white sand beach perfect for swimming and surfing. The hotel offers ten marvelous, independent and private villas. All villas have their own terrace with garden view, bathroom, hot water and safety box. Other exquisite elements are the teak chairs, the furniture and the deck of the villa made out of precious woods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Esencia Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esencia Hotel And Villas
Esencia Hotel Santa Teresa
Esencia Hotel & Villas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esencia Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.