We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best trip at the best hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Break Surf Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beach Break Surf Hotel
Save
You added Beach Break Surf Hotel to your Saves list
Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
San José
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best trip at the best hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

I just came back from the most amazing trip at Beach Break Santa Teresa. I was there for a week with 20 friends, celebrating new year's eve. We had always wanted to go to Santa Teresa, and after doing some research and being almost scammed by a nearby hotel (read my other reviews), we landed on Beach Break, an incredibly convenient and welcoming place.

As we were a large group, we booked 6 rooms and the management located us in the cabinas away from the other rooms, so were as loud as we wanted and never bothered the neighbors. The staff was always helpful and willing to give the best advise on places to eat, shop and party. The cleaning ladies would even fold the towels in fun shapes, which is a nonessential, but a nice gesture nonetheless.

The rooms were fully equipped with hot water, AC, a fridge, a propane stove, basic cable tv, dvd player and even wifi. There was a little problem with our stove, so we contacted the staff and they replaced it with a new one within minutes. The cleaning crew came once a day and took care of our mess.

The beach itself exceeded my expectations, there was no trash in the sand and according to my friends that surf, the waves were great. The nightlife was incredible and the people were all friendly.

I strongly recommend Santa Teresa for people who enjoy a beautiful scenery, relaxation, meeting fun people and spending quality time with family and friends. I also recommend Beach Break for it's convenient location, comfortable and affordable rooms and for it's amazing service.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    6
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
2
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

My friend and I were only going to be in Santa Teresa for a couple of days so we wanted to stay somewhere that was convenient, affordable and above all else clean...and we found just that and more at Beach Break Hotel. A modest hotel, close to the beach, Beach Break was a great chill place to stay - clean room with a balcony, A/C, TV/DVD player (which we didn't actually need but was nice to have the option) and very friendly staff. I liked it so much in fact will be staying there again when I head to CR this winter.
So if you're looking for a place to stay when booking your next surfing trip I would for sure consider Beach Break...you really can't go wrong.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

Unfortunately, we were suppose to stay there for 7 nights, but we only ended up staying for one night as there were 15 locals partying in the room next to us. Apart from that, it was poorly laid out and we joked that we felt that we were in a jail cell. Inside and outside felt very "un-costa rican" like as we couldn't relax because of the vibe that was being let off at Beach Break. The location was good and the air conditioning was cold, but apart from that, I would never return. There is many other places in Santa Teresa that are easily better than this place, and a fraction of the cost. I would never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

We didn't have reservations at the hotel and we originally thought we would stay at the Funky Monkey because they do a better job of advertising than the other hotels in the area. After going to the Funky Monkey and being extremely disappointed at their overly priced 'ocean views' which were only tree canopies and unkempt atmosphere, we asked the Funky Monkey staff where else we could go. (The Funky Monkey was $100 per night and the host told us for an additional $20 he would think about turning on the A/C for us!) They referred us to the Beach Break hotel which is right down the road from Funky Monkey. The rooms here at the Beach Break are much better-hot water, A/C, TV, clean, balcony and right next to everything! The friendly staff was happy to show us a room at 8pm and was pleasant to deal with. $40 per night! If you are looking for a great clean room with easy access to beach/surfing, restaurants, nightlife and surf shop shopping, stay here instead of the other guys down the road.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

The nasty unhelpful 20 year old local desk employee at this dump laughed when I went to then the next morning after our 1st night, after finding we had been broken into with a KEY, while sleeping, during the night, and completely robbed of everything.
2 girls on our 1st night, only 2 rooms were booked in the hotel, no security guard on duty, and only the desk girl has the keys...hmmm. Being laughed at is not my idea of fun. To top it off, I dreamt all night of flashlights in my eyes, and people in the room. Later, local friends told me that they spray a sleeping aid in your face to keep you a sleep while robbing you. Lovely. This place is a dump. You get what you pay for....a dirt bag employee a owner who doesn't care, and a laugh in the face. I have stayed in 15 places in this town 3-6 time s a year...this was the worst in EVERY WAY.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

We found this place online and didn't know what to expect... pleasant surprise!

The place was very clean (maids come in daily to straighten up the rooms), had its own security guard, and everyone room had its own air conditioner, porch / blacony, bathroom, and tv with DVD PLAYER!? Yep, and it was only thirty bucks a night total for a two-bed room. That's pretty serious for a hotel in Santa Teresa area.

Surf was great, but paddle out was tough (as is the surf all along that part of the coastline). I don't think there's food there, but there are great restaurants and cool corner stores with snacks / sunscreen / etc. all over, so it's not a big deal. Oh yeah, and you get a mini-fridge in your room. Crazy.

If I go back to Santa Teresa, I'm deifnitely staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2008

My boyfriend and I are not surfers but stayed here two nights while travelling around Costa Rica. The owners were really welcoming and friendly, and the rooms clean, comfortable and good value.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Break Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Break Surf Hotel

Address: Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the main road in the heart of the village perfect for surfers and no surfers easy access to the beach and all other facilities. Surf, Relax, Repeat We have 14 double private rooms with A/c, cable tv, safe hot water, private bathroom, balcony and other 3 fully equipped studios with hammoks. we have also a communal clean fully furnished kitchen, freeWiFi, free parking, security guard, confortable rancho and a chill out zone. We can help you arrange all your activities, happy and always smiling, bi-lingual staff that has incredible and huge knowledge of the local area, tours, surf lessons ATV's and bike rentals, shuttles...will be pleased to help you. we feature a unique experience in accomodation with a relaxing and friendly atmosphere. surf relax & repeat for any question or doubt don't hesitate to contact us and we will be happy to ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beach Break Surf Hotel Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Break Surf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.